No one is talking abt PRISM

cancer81

Just cos the media here did not do much coverage does not mean you people can avoid discussion.

Especially some with the "freedom" train of thought. :s13:

There is even a petition to pardon Snowden for his whistle blowing...

OH btw he is holing up in Hong Kong cos the land where "free speech" is supposed to be a given is not safe for him...

Hong Kong, where PRC can send an agent to grab him and gift wrap him back to the US of A....

koxinga

Nothing to talk about leh. :s22:

Is it any surprise that the US government is vaccumming up data from everywhere? Is it surprise that the Chinese are hacking everyone and so are the Amercians/Russians/Israelis?

Officially, everyone got to sound shock and indignant, but reality, no one is stupid.

The only thing I was surprised was this guy was working for Booz Allen but he barely passed high school! Damm.

cancer81

u mean it is no surprise that US of A is snooping all phone calls, emails, chat messages, forum posts and phone messages of their citizens?

global free my internet campaign NOW!!

hardwarebob

It comes to my mind immediately that if the 'land of the free & home of the brave' does this kind of snooping, what about the other 'less free & less brave places'?
Just imagine, that 'dirty talk' with the office **** over the office phone might have been recorded! Or if 2 civil servants were ranting about their department heads on their mobile! The mind boggles from all these revelations!

Jarlaxle

Nothing to talk about leh. :s22:

Is it any surprise that the US government is vaccumming up data from everywhere? Is it surprise that the Chinese are hacking everyone and so are the Amercians/Russians/Israelis?

Officially, everyone got to sound shock and indignant, but reality, no one is stupid.

The only thing I was surprised was this guy was working for Booz Allen but he barely passed high school! Damm.

yah
i completely agree that its no surprise tat govt is monitoring everyone as much as possible LOL.

hahaha. in US, its not like singapore mah.
so paper driven.

Jarlaxle

It comes to my mind immediately that if the 'land of the free & home of the brave' does this kind of snooping, what about the other 'less free & less brave places'?
Just imagine, that 'dirty talk' with the office **** over the office phone might have been recorded! Or if 2 civil servants were ranting about their department heads on their mobile! The mind boggles from all these revelations!

yes most likely recorded or traceable.
the only diff is
"ARE YOU WORTH THE TIME FOR ME TO DIG UP THE RECORDS OR NOT?"

mgsten

the only diff is

only when one is a nuisance to the powers lah.

btw, the monitoring methods vary with all gahmens and chenghus in the world. yup, they r all doing it. nothing new. juz big a spent more than anyone else.

more here > http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/edward-snowden-whistleblower-behind-nsa-surveillance-revelations%7E-4245959.html

mgsten

btw, wat's prism? apple, google, facebook all said there's no such thing because there's no such agency. :D

koxinga

the only diff is

They prob have some super duper semantic engine in recongize phrases and words. Going by the 80/20 rule, I think most of the stuff will be ignored, phone sex included :s13:

edit:
their talk about using PRISM to target foreign nationals sounds like BS to me. In the internet world, how can you tell the nationality from IP packets?

cscs3

the only diff is

That's right.
Unless one has something to hide, if not why worry?

chopra

nothing new. wont be surprised if there's a spore version.
just make sure u dun save password in cloud storage...or even ur own computer microsoft office...

koxinga

Ok lah, on hindsight, got something to talk about.

The people unhappy about this come from the perspective of principles and the slippery-slope argument.

1) Government has no right to snoop around, even if I have absolutely nothing of interest to the Government
2) If they can do this without tell us, imagine what they will do next.

stemcell

Even our gahment really did this to us, there comes no surprise.

We cant even do ANYTHING TO our MRT, what can us achieve?

tequila_powered

Prism, Echelon etc. Nothing new. If you have anything critical/important, minimize storing or sharing on the Net. Because even if the governments are doing it for right purpose (eg terrorism) with proper accountability, there're still the bad guys ie the bad hackers.

mgsten

here's an article on the four powerpoint slides out of 41.

What Is PRISM? 4 Leaked Top-Secret Slides Explain the Latest Obama Scandal

here's the fifth.

NSA's Prism surveillance program: how it works and what it can do | World news | guardian.co.uk

a graphic designer's hilarious offer to redesign those hideous powerpoint slides.

A Graphic Designer Remade The Shoddy PRISM Slideshow - Business Insider

so r the tech giants lying or the slides r juz powerpoint slides? :s22:

apple only joined the program one year after jobs' death. took five years compared to the rest.

will the rest of the 36 slides ever get published? probably not. :s22:

honestly, those five 'top secret' slides not exactly info to die for. snowden and journalists will live for now.

mgsten

here's a funny article abt the whole saga.

How NSA spooks spaffed my DAD'S DATA ALL OVER THE WEB ? The Register

too bad for edward snow den. y? his greatest fear of nothing will change over these revelations kinda materialised. depends on which polls u read, amerikans r a ok with their gahmen spying on them. :s22::s13:

latest revelation or leak if u like to call it - u.s. hv been hacking china and hong kong civilian infrastructures, personals and gawd noe wat since 2009. u.s. hv been bashing countries like china, north korea and iran for hacking amerikan civilian infrastructures in recent years and the amerikans r doing the same thing to others. :s22:

anyhow, non-news too. none of the revelations so far r earth shattering. not even a minor tremor.

as expected, character assassination of snowden has begun.

mgsten

washington too many scandals to contain liao. so, war it comes. :eek:

GreatKen

I believe all government would have secretive surveillance program to watch over lives of their citizens - to what certain, we wouldn't know.

cscs3

I believe all government would have secretive surveillance program to watch over lives of their citizens - to what certain, we wouldn't know.

If you have nothing to hide. Then there is o concern.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.