[Noob]Need Help On New Rig

Bedsheets

Ive depended on laptops for way too long and lost touch on the tech and diy-ing(pent 3 computer). Intend to build a new rig specifically for gaming as laptop not meant to game:( and dunno what parts to buy..too many thing to absorb at one go dunno simi atx casing mini atx mb sizes all.

Budget: $1.2k - $1.5k(Might push to $1.8k if needed)

Shop: PC Themes(iirc can ask them fix right?been too long i diy so not confident)

Games:WoW,DOTA2,BF4. @ max setting

GPU preference : nVidia

No need mouse/keyboard.Using a 29 Inch TV as monitor(advisable to change to porper monitor?). OS wise can use my lappy Win7 home?.Need internal wifi card.OC-ing wise..dun think so..nowadays oc-ing to do what?

Anyway heard asrock mbs are good?is that so?also adviseable to use aftermarket coolers with those "better" thermal paste i.e arctic silver?

p.s sry WOT & thx in advance=:p=:p=:p

Jian19

VdJMHOl.png

If u need monitor go SLS buy dell u2312hm @ $250 ~

royfrosty

Things to take note.

1. You will need a OS. The laptop cannot be transferable to the Desktop. Cause it will be damn obvious to the Microsoft CSO. lol from a laptop mobo to a desktop mobo.

2. Monitor is still better than a tv. The pixels are densely packed. It is designed for nearer view. TV pixels are not densely packed as they are meant to view it from a distance. So yes a monitor is still better.

3. A aftermarket cooler is not needed if no OC has been done.

So my recommendations for a 1.7k-ish rig with everything in including monitor.

MSI B85M G43 + i5-4570 ~ $356
Crucial 8gb 1600mhz Value Ram ~ $89
WD Blue 1tb ~ $77
Plextor m5s 128gb ~ $135
MSI R9 280x 3gb twin frozr ~ $440
Superflower HX600 600w 80+ Gold ~ $109
Fractal Design Arc Midi ~ $129
Samsung ODD ~ $21
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit OEM ~ $115
Dell u2312hm 23inch ips panel ~ $248
TPLink N300 pcie wireless adapter ~ $45

Total $1764 buy at tradepac. DIY.

heidtb

Tested on an i7-4770k with 7970ghz 6GB version. Ultra with 4xaa could not constant 60fps so it much depends what ts feels is a playable fps.

royfrosty

On xfire r9 280x Min 67fps, average 93fps, max 116fps. 67fps is when play operation locker in bf4 and tio bombard till no tomorrow till the room all so smoky. Lol

Bedsheets

Guys if i plan to overclock/sli in the near future with the msi gtx770 twin frozr 4gb id need to get the msi z87-g45+4670K instead? PcThemes can ask discount? Cooler wise is corsair h75 enuff?got i means wat?

shadow84

'i' means link to mobo, let u monitor pump speed, etc.

If want to sli, need z87 g45, not g43. If want to OC, den go for 4670k. If nt, go for 4570 will do.

Your psu must up to 750-850w.

And ur 2nd gpu must be 770 tf 4gb, cant do with 2gb...

Bedsheets

Which one should i get msi gtx 770 4gb twin frozr or msi gtx 780 3gb gaming..diff abt $180

I might be going for a single gpu way.is seasonic s12g 650w enuff?

Is a corsair h80i sufficient for oc-ing

Reignxy

Which one should i get msi gtx 770 4gb twin frozr or msi gtx 780 3gb gaming..diff abt $180

I might be going for a single gpu way.is seasonic s12g 650w enuff?

Is a corsair h80i sufficient for oc-ing

Why dont like AMD ah? lol r9 280x more value for money leh

Bedsheets

Why dont like AMD ah? lol r9 280x more value for money leh

Rastime always gt prob with amd..so i prefer nvidia lol..or shud i just try 280x and pray no prob..then buy 1 more in future to xfire?waiting for the pros to advice

heidtb

Rastime always gt prob with amd..so i prefer nvidia lol..or shud i just try 280x and pray no prob..then buy 1 more in future to xfire?waiting for the pros to advice

no need to pray as the 280x is a real value for money card. The only thing is with the clocks on uvd that may raise the temps of the card. If you don't like that then nvidia would be better

considering the price of 770 4gb, you can get a r9-290 which if you are lucky in the silicon gamble you can reach 780ti level with ocing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.