Noob Question

coutuser

When stop at traffic light junction, put ''neutral' and handbrake' OR put' 'park' and handbrake 'better?

Any handsfree set to recommend to listen phone?

winningeleven

When stop at traffic light junction, put ''neutral' and handbrake' OR put' 'park' and handbrake 'better?

Stop at traffic light. Better to step on the brake. I rather change brake pad. keep on engaging hardbrake and switching of gear from D to P are much worst.

hwmook

Stop at traffic light. Better to step on the brake. I rather change brake pad. keep on engaging hardbrake and switching of gear from D to P are much worst.

Stepping on brake when stationary will not wear off brake pad, there is no reason not to step on brake unless you are lazy.

BuGGi3

Neutral & handbrake is fine. Stepping on brake is also fine.

Why park & handbrake? You're just gonna wear off the gear shift bush more and give the car behind a scare for 0.1s as the driver thought that you're gonna reverse (P - R - N - D - assuming that you're gonna run through R to get to D)

hawthorne

Just step on brake with gear in D. Alot of discussion on why u shld not switch to P or N. Only time I change to N at stationary was becos the engine mount cui and causing alot of vibration.

For bluetooth, my old ride radio no bluetooth. So I used the Jabra Freeway. Many many years ago liao.

Gear difference. Try it yourself, put to Park & Neutral on a slight slope. Will the car still roll?
I suggest u dun put Park on a slope without handbrake. Not good for your parking pawl.

Dusky01

Step on brake on levelled group for me

Btw tot car theses day come with auto start and stop 🤔

viperx

Using N and handbrake if traffic lights are long, else keep foot on brakes. Partly also car vibrates occasionally.

hawthorne

Exactly, the only time I was on P was when my handbrake cable is faulty.
Last time my car the handbrake cable never adjust properly, so when I pull the handbrake, the brake never applied at full force. When I shift from P to D (while handbrake is on), will hear a loud "tok" sounds. Very heart pain. Luckily the parking pawl never brake after so many times

BuGGi3

Last time my car the handbrake cable never adjust properly, so when I pull the handbrake, the brake never applied at full force. When I shift from P to D (while handbrake is on), will hear a loud "tok" sounds. Very heart pain. Luckily the parking pawl never brake after so many times

I was also experiencing this for a period of time when the handbrake cable jammed up. Release handbrake but then there's this Tok sound as well.

:s13: anyway cars these days come with electronic parking brake, not too sure if there will still be such issue, or a bigger problem altogether when there's an electronic failure.

winningeleven

Stepping on brake when stationary will not wear off brake pad, there is no reason not to step on brake unless you are lazy.

Have seen some drivers really like to put to "P" during traffic light stopped . Coz from P to D, Could see a slight reverse light blink on. As R is usually in between. P and D.

EJB

Why don't just play with gear when bored? Shift from D to P then back to D then to P until traffic light goes green?

coutuser

I was also experiencing this for a period of time when the handbrake cable jammed up. Release handbrake but then there's this Tok sound as well.

:s13: anyway cars these days come with electronic parking brake, not too sure if there will still be such issue, or a bigger problem altogether when there's an electronic failure.

Paiseh. Electronic brake and handbrake what difference?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.