Note 1 cannot charge. Is it worth to fix?

sirpoot

Hi everyone,

I damaged my note a while ago, and now it cannot charge. For a few days my note still can detect my usb connection and I still can transfer files out of it, but totally cannot charge at all. Right now, the usb connection is totally gone, cannot even detect it at all.

I think that happened because for a while I was plugging the note into the 2.1A slot of a powerbank. Does that mean that the charging port is fried?

Right now I bought a note battery charger so that I still can turn it on. But I really want to fix the charging port. Is it worth it to fix? My warranty is over, how much would Samsung service center charge to fix it? How much would an Ah Beng shop charge to fix? Should I even bother to fix?

Hinata76

dude its usd$10 to buy this.

only problem...hopefully ur seller got it correct..
i got 2 units..one is usb works/no mic
another
usb cannot work/got mic.

then again..they are (keep sending) me the replacement part so i cant complain.

damn easy to DIY urself on the fixing. no risk involved.

tXcS6SH.jpg

Hinata76

think its a common problem for existing notes. friend of mine also same thing.

anyway getting a S4 active soon..hopefully can tahan till i get it.

sirpoot

I don't mind getting hands dirty and replacing the port by myself, but I've a few doubts...

First, that board in the picture looks larger than the note itself :eek: if it's not too much trouble may I have another picture with something like a coin beside it? Just to see how large it is.

Then, sorry for being a noob, but when you say it's USD$10, are you referring to Ebay? May I have the link?

Finally, I'm kinda hopeless with a soldering iron....soldering required?

Myu~sun

No soldering required . Just need u to unscrew all screw . Tk cover out . Unscrew afew more screw to remove speaker and thats it .

Hinata76

indeed.....

just make sure the usb circuit and the mic works...

google at ebay for
N7000 charging usb port..u get result..

destinyfree

anyone knows where to buy this part in sg without tio chop carrot head?

Ebay taking too long to ship, like 14 to 20 days and my hp not charging:(

kyleongwl

its not a battery issue?
A friend of mine had this issue...and after a new battery, life into Note 1 again

sirpoot

USB port fixed, 3G spoil

After a long wait that part finally arrived, I replaced it and my note can now start to charge normally!

All was happy and joyous until I notice my 3G signal strength fluctuating from full to zero to full to zero and back again.

At times I can load web pages, but I totally cannot watch any videos on this note now that it has been repaired. Did I broke a wire or something?

EDIT: Verified. I broke a ribbon cable and dislodged its pins. No more 3G on my note forever.

EDIT2: In verifying that I broke a ribbon cable I broke the phone even further. Now it keeps restarting itself whenever it reaches my lock screen. I can't even reach recovery mode now. The entire phone's trashed.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.