Nothing wrong with Kenneth Tiong

syohyunkyi

Singapore politicians are afraid of what others think of them and CHT is being lame and whiny by asking for an apology. The speaker is pretty useless too by demanding him to stand up and apologise. You think this is primary school?

Below is what I call real parliamentary debate with the the highest and wittiest decorum. Singapore adopts similar system but fails so terribly because we care too much about optics and are ball-less. Consequently, it lacks authenticity and all hypocrisy ... 😔

syohyunkyi

Now contrast with this, CHT asking him to retract and apologise. Kenneth has retracted but he didn't apologise. Yet, CHT and the speaker demands he do so ... this is so laughable if other countries see this type of kindergarten standard in our parliament. I feel so malu being a singaporean.

ShinnAsuka

Sinkies like to vote for ministers with fragile hearts, at the same time kbkp young gen strawberries

Globe

the very fact that our parliament "debate" is simply reading scripts, shows how joke it is

debate nowadays is a farce .... pap just merry go rounding without answering anything to the point it feels like they are scare to get COI or something ...

krikering

If you are having insomnia...just watch the parliament debate and you'll sleep like a log within seconds...

debate nowadays is a farce .... pap just merry go rounding without answering anything to the point it feels like they are scare to get COI or something ...
Here no "debates" one lol, ask questions can answer back with another rhetorical question. In the end, back-and-forth still no concrete answers, skirt around the issue and merry-go-round with different PAP MPs/Ministers take turns regurgitating same narrative.

Here the "MPs" are judged on how well you are an estate manager/social workers is telling liao. A full-time estate manager or social workers costs much lesser than $16k per month also.

Can Or Not

Singapore politicians are afraid of what others think of them and CHT is being lame and whiny by asking for an apology. The speaker is pretty useless too by demanding him to stand up and apologise. You think this is primary school?

Below is what I call real parliamentary debate with the the highest and wittiest decorum. Singapore adopts similar system but fails so terribly because we care too much about optics and are ball-less. Consequently, it lacks authenticity and all hypocrisy ... 😔

Don’t think everything Ang mo do is correct lah…

you think UK… keep changing of their PM is correct?

krikering

Of course I'm referring to our parliament debate...UK one is damn sexciting to watch...
Don't say UK, Japanese one also very fierce in debating one. Last time you can see the flurry of questions that Shinzo Abe deals with, really no joke.

That is why alot of the PMs there damn stressed out, the speaker is neutral and the questioning is very fierce. Then the media and news there will whack you on a daily basis one.

Here is like kindergarten, show-and-tell one. The MIWs MPs and Ministers here really is super-protected, like 温室里的花朵。They cannot survive the grilling and intense debates in a proper democracy one.

People like Kenneth Tiong, Tan Soon Khoon, Low Thia Khiang and Tan Cheng Bock, etc. which cuts out the fluffy pleasantries and go straight to the point, raise all the important pertinent bread-and-butter concerns of average folks is what alot of proper democracies are seeking.

Not like the kid of snakeoil-salesmen, MLM kind of fluffy speeches with no substance you see alot for the MIWs talk. David Neo, etc. this kind of paper generals machiam like regurgitating National Day Rally speech when talk inside parliament.

syohyunkyi

Don’t think everything Ang mo do is correct lah…

you think UK… keep changing of their PM is correct?
I didn't think what ang mo do is correct. Don't put words into my mouth. I request you retract that statement but you need not apologise :)

syohyunkyi

they just wanna win the argument
actually in debate is about winning the argument, otherwise what for debate? our level of politics in singapore is so very 'no conviction' and 'conformist' with no imagination and originality.

in other words, no character or 没性格

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.