NSW on a Campervan

touchme

I tot as usual it's all for the kid. Good and true, the movie/dream/sea worlds all half past six.like out USS. Mind as well do a good original one in Anaheim, which I bought my kid to in 2011. I deem 4yo then, still too early for him.

Let me dig out my old memories from Brisbane to Melbourne/Tassie back in 2000, but before that the camper answers.

touchme

wow thanks for the detailed list. i will take time to read through.

nah, not a chef like your wife la, but was looking for 1 pot recipes, easy to cook, tasty to eat that type. googled but found mostly western food. if everyday eat western also 'jelak'.. and cant always rely on instant noodles.

p.s. your nude pix means your little boy's swimming pic is it? censored one. haha. still waiting for other pix...
A lot of ready to cook lunch/dinner/porridge packs in the supermarkets. But to savor their wines, make western steaks to with, every few days.

Note there is any 7-11 type franchises there. Mostly small provision ships in gas stations and small towns.
But selling angmoh foodstuffs, little asian stuffs inland country.

touchme

btw park at power-site mean nothing much we can do at nite?
stay in campervan ?
i read drivin charged 12 hr , second battery can last for 1 nite without goin power-site? so mean we can just go camping site and koon?
In power sites, can watch tv in their living, chat with other campers, play table games, (boardgames can bring yourself) swimming if there's pool. Do laundry. (Thou can do in paid self service laundry shops in bigger country towns) Enjoy more brightness and space at night once a while.

Dunno if I've mentioned, in tourist parks, cannot be too noisy/rowdy or turn on engine for heater night. Sts parking in close proximity. No open camp fires. Lights off by midnight. Very no fun. Last night best to go park, to dump things/pack/clean/tidy up van and luggage, if morning flight.

At night, you only need battery for charging phones/iPads and batteries and interior lights are low power.Rear battery will NOT consume into engine battery, so you won't have a flat the morning. For heat, on running engine.

Can park anywhere to sleep, near toilets best.

kiss01

I've been contacting a few of the campervan agencies but as I reach Perth at 4.30pm and by the time i check out and clear immigration, it should be after 5pm.

Most of the agencies quoted me for pick-up on next day as latest time to pick up campervan is at 3.30pm. :( I was planning to head straight to Fremantle from airport. Now it looks like i'll have to waste 1 night. Did you face this problem previously?

I'm planning to be in the Perth city area the last 2 days of the trip, what's your advise, should i return the campervan, rent a normal car & stay in hostel? or is it still feasible to hang on to the campervan during the days i'm in the city? Thanks!

touchme

I've been contacting a few of the campervan agencies but as I reach Perth at 4.30pm and by the time i check out and clear immigration, it should be after 5pm.

Most of the agencies quoted me for pick-up on next day as latest time to pick up campervan is at 3.30pm. :( I was planning to head straight to Fremantle from airport. Now it looks like i'll have to waste 1 night. Did you face this problem previously?

I'm planning to be in the Perth city area the last 2 days of the trip, what's your advise, should i return the campervan, rent a normal car & stay in hostel? or is it still feasible to hang on to the campervan during the days i'm in the city? Thanks!

If I not wrong. There is a min of 7-10 days for the rent, dep on which agency. Was it 9 days you have there?

.You can check in to a budget Formulae 1, interesting auto, unmanned motel concept. It's 1km morning walk to either likely apollo or Britz depot in either direction, also other inns in between.(check Google map for latest).
http://www.accorhotels.com/gb/hotel-5676-ibis-budget-perth-airport/index.shtml

Perth city centre is small and roads easy with little traffic. You can navigate easily. On return if night/dawn flight, can hangout in Perth hotel casino,

There's a McDonald's drive in 300m away from motel, else is 3km bus ride to red rooster. For mcd after 9pm, drive in only. The last time we there, they din allow us to buy from drivein without car. Then we saw some skate punksters bought in person, , could be their neighborhood friend. Questioned and quarrel with them about racism. They made us sit in a passerby car to make our orders. How stupid.

The next day at the Britz depot, became sensitive on this, and also had aberrations there, with some discriminatory treatment, Ended quite disturbed, fine after driving off. That was in 2008, prolly at a time when mass immigration from Asia were unwelcomed.. I hope they improve by now..

KieranC3

Being surfing and chatting with the customer services of camper companies. It seems the cheapest I can find is Apollo Hitop for $60/day on limited time-offer on their website but have to start on 8 Dec. Somehow, starting from 9 Dec will change the rate to the $80s range.

Apollo Hitop
Brisbane to Sydney from 8 to 17/12
10 days rental @ 60/day
10 days Value Pack @ 65/day (includes the one-way fee of $260)
Total is 1250.

Jucy's customer service didn't want to offer me any discount despite my pleadings and sending her all my quotes from Apollo and Britz. Later, found out that like their FB give a 10% discount. So Jucy Condo becomes $99/day.

If I do 8 days with them (10 to 17 Dec)
8 days rental @ $99/day
8 days no stress insurance at $25/day
One way fee = $150
Total is $1,142.

I am more inclined to go with Jucy after reading the problems faced by customers of Apollo in Tripadvisor. Jucy Condo is a 4-berth and probably a better/newer vehicle and so justify the higher cost.

kevin301

Being surfing and chatting with the customer services of camper companies. It seems the cheapest I can find is Apollo Hitop for $60/day on limited time-offer on their website but have to start on 8 Dec. Somehow, starting from 9 Dec will change the rate to the $80s range.

Apollo Hitop
Brisbane to Sydney from 8 to 17/12
10 days rental @ 60/day
10 days Value Pack @ 65/day (includes the one-way fee of $260)
Total is 1250.

Jucy's customer service didn't want to offer me any discount despite my pleadings and sending her all my quotes from Apollo and Britz. Later, found out that like their FB give a 10% discount. So Jucy Condo becomes $99/day.

If I do 8 days with them (10 to 17 Dec)
8 days rental @ $99/day
8 days no stress insurance at $25/day
One way fee = $150
Total is $1,142.

I am more inclined to go with Jucy after reading the problems faced by customers of Apollo in Tripadvisor. Jucy Condo is a 4-berth and probably a better/newer vehicle and so justify the higher cost.

From your post, Apollo is $1250 and Jucy is $1142, so Apollo is actually more expensive.
But you added 10 days rental + 10 days Value Pack, which seems to be quite expensive. Sure that's correct? If Apollo is $650 (10 days Value Pack), difference is quite significant. Can pay for all your fuel costs with the price difference.

touchme

At that price and if you taking cdw, jucy definitely the choice. It's a new franchise with new vans and config, which I feel more logical bee washing/cooking behind. $25/day for zero excess would be no brainer, since with TV/DVD, thou I doubt good antenna reception. But must see what ccard deposit (more on this later). Check other hidden costs, eg. Linens, propane top up, 2% credit card surcharge, one time cleaning costs (whatever they call it) etc.

Only thing is apollo value pack includes free camp chair/table rentals.$3/day each pc, which is better off buying from some stores. I bought a pair OZ-trail chairs back the last time in NSW.

The hi-tops be it Britz/Maui /apollo sits three in front. Not the condo...When he's bored and strapped up behind likely, tactically secure and sit him between you 2 on a stool. More fun, with some word/hand games together in front.

KieranC3

From your post, Apollo is $1250 and Jucy is $1142, so Apollo is actually more expensive.
But you added 10 days rental + 10 days Value Pack, which seems to be quite expensive. Sure that's correct? If Apollo is $650 (10 days Value Pack), difference is quite significant. Can pay for all your fuel costs with the price difference.

Apollo is for 10 days rental while Jucy is for 8 days. The 10 days Value Pack is zero excess insurance + other freebies. Some people will risk it but after reading the complaints on Apollo from customers on Tripadvisor, I think I better buy it. Even if I don't buy it, I still have to pay the $260 one way fee (which will be absorbed if Value Pack is purchased).

kiss01

Hi touchme, any advice on how hot/stuffy it gets inside the campervan during autumn? Do you leave windows open slightly or leave AC switched on (meaning engine switched on as well)? I have narrowed down my selection to hi-top from Britz or Mighty, and these models does not have a separate air-conditioning for the back area.

touchme

Apollo is for 10 days rental while Jucy is for 8 days. The 10 days Value Pack is zero excess insurance + other freebies. Some people will risk it but after reading the complaints on Apollo from customers on Tripadvisor, I think I better buy it. Even if I don't buy it, I still have to pay the $260 one way fee (which will be absorbed if Value Pack is purchased).

I encourage you to take on Jucy, though 50% more, still worth the better xp on their new-mod vans. If first time, then go for $25/day zero excess. With $150 one-way, both are reasonable. Or wait a while more, brisbane-sydney may have special one-way waivers. Don't go for apollo if u r already uncomfortable.

I dun buy cdw, at most small knocks visit workshop repair for tens dollars, their repair cost there not as high as ours. Last time, in melbourne, I had a chipped screen from oncoming semi, went to conceal for only $30, good job. And since Condos are also the common Toyota Hi-Ace, parts are readily and cheaply available. Either way, you will still be cautious and slow. Life is slow there too.

Coming down to Deposits, apparently the deposit is a loan from ccard, not a charge and refund. So during your rent, you are incurring interest and subject to currency fluctuation. Rented a 7-berth, $5000 deposit 1 week, the 'refund' took another 2 weeks. + Suay suay AUD appreciated against S$, ended up losing S$800 over the deposit.

So in a way, if the cdw also means $0 deposit, there is also some savings. You might wanna clarify again with jucy, cos the practice is such in Britz and Apollo. Check other hidden costs too. Again dun rent their GPS, chairs/tables or linen, cheaper to buy there.

KieranC3

At that price and if you taking cdw, jucy definitely the choice. It's a new franchise with new vans and config, which I feel more logical bee washing/cooking behind. $25/day for zero excess would be no brainer, since with TV/DVD, thou I doubt good antenna reception. But must see what ccard deposit (more on this later). Check other hidden costs, eg. Linens, propane top up, 2% credit card surcharge, one time cleaning costs (whatever they call it) etc.

Only thing is apollo value pack includes free camp chair/table rentals.$3/day each pc, which is better off buying from some stores. I bought a pair OZ-trail chairs back the last time in NSW.

The hi-tops be it Britz/Maui /apollo sits three in front. Not the condo...When he's bored and strapped up behind likely, tactically secure and sit him between you 2 on a stool. More fun, with some word/hand games together in front.

Thanks for the confirmation of choice for an experienced campervaner. Yes, Jucy has those 2% credit card charges, picnic table is chargeable but chairs are free. Linens should be free too. Will have to go through the terms and conditions before booking. There are some exclusions even on their 0 excess stress free insurance. Read through some parts and think that it should be reasonable like wilful damage, breaking traffic laws, under alcohol etc.

I look at the plan of the Condo, yes, it is definitely better lay out. Vehicle is new too which is important. It also states 5 seat belts and show a smaller middle seat in front with seat belt. So I guess my son can sit in front legally.

touchme

Thanks for the confirmation of choice for an experienced campervaner. Yes, Jucy has those 2% credit card charges, picnic table is chargeable but chairs are free. Linens should be free too. Will have to go through the terms and conditions before booking. There are some exclusions even on their 0 excess stress free insurance. Read through some parts and think that it should be reasonable like wilful damage, breaking traffic laws, under alcohol etc.

I look at the plan of the Condo, yes, it is definitely better lay out. Vehicle is new too which is important. It also states 5 seat belts and show a smaller middle seat in front with seat belt. So I guess my son can sit in front legally.

Good to hear those goodies from Jucy, and the premium I feel reasonable, thou I havent got the chance to try them. Not that experienced and rich myself, so most of the advices here are more budget, hack, appreciation tips.

And yes, better to bring a booster seat if worried, than to rent.
btw, ot but a nice simple game to play with him while driving, as opposed to throwing him the ipad, or forcing him to see this/that, is go roundrobin pointing out words from any roadsigns/billboards with a letter starting with '...'.

Managed to entertain my 2 boys and ourselves greatly the last time, on those afternoon or long drives. And yes, bring his books/drawing boards and small boardgames/checkers there too.

touchme

Hi touchme, any advice on how hot/stuffy it gets inside the campervan during autumn? Do you leave windows open slightly or leave AC switched on (meaning engine switched on as well)? I have narrowed down my selection to hi-top from Britz or Mighty, and these models does not have a separate air-conditioning for the back area.

maybe, we wait for KieranC3 feedback on Jucy first, then decide..lol
Mighty hitops carries only 30litres of clean water + burdens iteself with 30 litres waste water tanks. Too little and not petrol efficient respectively. Small vans have no back A/C. The front A/C sufficient to circulate.

I dunno why you keep worrying about heat. 2008 CNY in Perth and south, was cool, breezy and quite cold at times. (Defintely not for Darwin, bad perma back burn mark on me).

Just need to open windows 2-3 inches on each side, for the breeze to blow thru is fine, no need for a/c heat or cold. My mention of turning on a/c heat with engine running, is for this MSW May 2013 cold 5-10C, but nice, autumn trip inland.

KieranC3

In my opinion, Apollo's $65/day Value Pack is really a rip-off. Yes, Jucy's $25/day for zero excess/zero bond and $150 one-way fee is more reasonable. Even if you don't buy their CDW, their $3,000 excess is still lower and comparable to that of rental cars. It has been a long time since I handle a van, so I better don't risk it.

I remembered getting into an accident 5 minutes out of the car rental depot in Christchurch. It was my honeymoon and we just landed. Got hit by a police car in the next street. The traffic light was in my favour, his siren was on, but I was wondering what is that sound and where it is coming from. He ran the red light and insisted that I should have stopped for him. I pleaded ignorance. Actually, I was quite in a daze after the long flight and didn't know how a police car in NZ looks like yet. Fortunately no injury but back of car dented and bumper came off. Rental people came and fixed it but I drove with a big dent for more than a week. Received a letter from the NZ traffic police months later to apologize and say they did not take action against the police officer because it was a minor accident. Haha. I think I was on zero excess then too, so I didn't bother with all the claims issues. I vaguely remember the letter also states the amount they paid to the rental company for the repair costs.

Touchme, wow....must be heart pain to lose $800 over currency fluctuation. Aussie appreciated 15% in that few weeks!

Yes, I won't rent anything extra from them that is on a per day basis. Couldn't find their charges for booster seat, so I will bring one along. For GPS, I am thinking of using Australian SIM card on my Android phone and using Google Maps. Google has turn-by-turn navigation for Australia. I should be fine as long as there is a data connection. Google map also has function to save portion of the map so that it can work also in areas where there is no connection. I also just downloaded the NavFree app from Play Store. I think it should work fine. Free is good.

Thanks also for the game to keep my son entertained on the road. Actually, I was a bit worried about heat too since Brisbane is hotter than Perth in summer. Just checked the weather... aiyah, don't need to worry. At night, it is a cool 20 deg C.

touchme

In my opinion, Apollo's $65/day Value Pack is really a rip-off. Yes, Jucy's $25/day for zero excess/zero bond and $150 one-way fee is more reasonable. Even if you don't buy their CDW, their $3,000 excess is still lower and comparable to that of rental cars. It has been a long time since I handle a van, so I better don't risk it.

I remembered getting into an accident 5 minutes out of the car rental depot in Christchurch. It was my honeymoon and we just landed. Got hit by a police car in the next street. The traffic light was in my favour, his siren was on, but I was wondering what is that sound and where it is coming from. He ran the red light and insisted that I should have stopped for him. I pleaded ignorance. Actually, I was quite in a daze after the long flight and didn't know how a police car in NZ looks like yet. Fortunately no injury but back of car dented and bumper came off. Rental people came and fixed it but I drove with a big dent for more than a week. Received a letter from the NZ traffic police months later to apologize and say they did not take action against the police officer because it was a minor accident. Haha. I think I was on zero excess then too, so I didn't bother with all the claims issues. I vaguely remember the letter also states the amount they paid to the rental company for the repair costs.

Touchme, wow....must be heart pain to lose $800 over currency fluctuation. Aussie appreciated 15% in that few weeks!

Yes, I won't rent anything extra from them that is on a per day basis. Couldn't find their charges for booster seat, so I will bring one along. For GPS, I am thinking of using Australian SIM card on my Android phone and using Google Maps. Google has turn-by-turn navigation for Australia. I should be fine as long as there is a data connection. Google map also has function to save portion of the map so that it can work also in areas where there is no connection. I also just downloaded the NavFree app from Play Store. I think it should work fine. Free is good.

Thanks also for the game to keep my son entertained on the road. Actually, I was a bit worried about heat too since Brisbane is hotter than Perth in summer. Just checked the weather... aiyah, don't need to worry. At night, it is a cool 20 deg C.

Jucy, that's it. Waiting for your review. May do Sydney-melbourne again in CNY 2014.

Your first Christchurch xp must have made you phobic. I was fortunate to be thrown a car and house to myself for 7 weeks while in NY state, job training. Then extended a 2 weeks tour solo-driving a Pontiac Grand Am in CA, NV, AZ, which gave me much courage. Also great my SO is kampung era, so are more daring. Trust your SO not princessy?

images
images
images
images
(post for memory sake..lol. US$172 corporate rate rent for 2 weeks, rmbr clearly)

Yup google maps on vodafone data is great. (AUD30 iirc, you see many queuing at airport for it).

Like i said, GPS is a no-no. Very disturbing when you decided to take a turnoff, and it keeps nagging you get back on track, and while sightouring. The road atlas they provide, and road signs are great. Just note the hw numbers along the route before u drive, fine. In time to come, you would like to drive off and go lost. Use GPS only in cities and when getting back on track after lost, if yr sense of direction fails u. Note nearly every sideroad is always a loop out.

The $800 lost on $5000 deposit is half due to fx, half accuring to interest for card loan, not a 'charge-and-refund'. The renter will explain/persuade this savings to you, when you pretend not sign waiver.

With chairs, grab a square plank/cardboard as 'tabletop' placed top on provided pail, if you are pinicking on wild scenic grass patch. Many sites have benches and tables thou. I strongly rcmd a campfire dinner in one of the falls campsites. Dig out a online discounted OZ campstore (freepickup) along your way, if you need buy hardcore camp/hike gears.

Theres a list of simple car-camping essential items, you may wanna grab beforehand, or as I offered kiss01, freeloan from me.

kevin301

hmmm ok I get it now :)

touchme

Just booked a Sydney 2-way flight in Jun 2014 holidays, S$800 for 3pax-all-in. Doing 2-weeks round trip Sydney-Melbourne.

Just nvr get enough of OZ. Standing by for Jucy's reviews.

touchme

hi touchme,

possible for you to share your camping experience on western australia ? :s12: and pics too if any. thanks !

Pending title change to 'Austraiia on a Campervan'.

Dig old tour from 2008 CNY:-

Week 1: Perth-Joonalup-Cervantes(Pinnacles NP)_Geraldton-Kalburri
Family of 3 on 2-berth Hi-Top, armed with a AIO stroller+boosterseat+backpack for 1yo. mostly on coastal roads.

Week 2: Perth-Fermantle-Dunburry-Busselton-Margaret River-Augusta-Pembleton-Albany
Joined by in-laws of 4, swap for a 7-berth truck ensuite, both from Britz, on almost std route for all tourists.

cutaway.png

day-night.png

....back to BF shopping, continue tmr.

KieranC3

Just booked a Sydney 2-way flight in Jun 2014 holidays, S$800 for 3pax-all-in. Doing 2-weeks round trip Sydney-Melbourne.

Just nvr get enough of OZ. Standing by for Jucy's reviews.

So sorry bro, there will be no review of Jucy from me. The idea did not fly with my wife. I even enlisted my son to petition. But to no avail. I also need to consider her discomfort especially when she is under a lot of work stress lately. So, no campervan this time.

Btw, I tried skyscanner and various combinations. It is impossible to get Sydney 2-way flight in Jun 2014 for 3 pax for $800. You got a terrific deal!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.