NTU Electives Thread

topazgem

Hi, I'm interested in taking Hg8011 Detecting Meaning with Sherlock Holmes next sem as it seems quite interesting, but there is barely any info online
Anyone knows if this mod is manageable, and how its like?
Thanks a lot!

9V-GZH

Hi, just sharing a UE hack, I took ES8001 Natural Hazards & Society & ES8005 Environmental Earth Systems Science in the same semester. The content for 90% of the lectures are almost exactly the same. 40% CA, 60% Finals. CA involves class participation & clicker questions (on Turningpoint). Study for 1 mod, take 2 pure MCQ exam papers, damn worth it. But disclaimer, it is content heavy like Astronomy, but the MCQ makes it manageable. :s12:

MrMuscles

hi friends, any easy UE to take to boost gpa? I chanced upon hp8003, looks sibei cool ah.
i prefer those mcq midterms n finals.

to others in similar state: i taken astronomy and intro to energy.
astronomy quite interesting for first few chapters but behind is quite content heavy as it is about wavelength / physics **** already. bellcurve is very very steep.

intro to energy: mcq mid terms n finals, super easy wif no bellcurve. moi got A+ ez. take this if u want free boost in gpa. content is very very light, i only study 1day before test. test for my cohort was 13 questions? only 1 is on calculation. the rest is testing your memories.
I just took intro to energy this sem but scored a cumulative of 82% (2 wrong each quiz) while the average mark is 85%.. not sure if there'll be a bell curve or if I still can get an A tbh

mpcdude

Has anyone taken HU1001? Care to share whats the assessment like and if there is any recorded lecture?

MrSinkie95

if waitlist smaller than vacancy, confirm will get the program hor? whats the max AU we can take per sem to not considered as overloading? 21?

happi3friend

Astro and foreigstic

Hey, MrSinkie, thanks for the sic

Did you score A for those modules yourself or were they recommended by seniors?

I heard mixed opinions about Astro.. Is it true the bell curve is steep for those mod?

firezero10

Is it possible to take extra UE? I hit my UE requirements liao (due to my minor program) but I want to take a language mod before I graduate...

lalanana

NTU Unrestricted Electives

Hello Juniors!
If you guys are looking for non-examinable courses to take, you can take NIE electives! you dont have to study for any finals and can help to pull up your GPA too! Some of the modules I took like the art ones can just finish assignments during lesson time, in that sense theres no hw to bring back home to complete too. the lecturers are nice and supportive :) I saw that they have an insta page which sometimes feature our work, you can have a look there and see what it looks like! @friendsofvpa

XwinnerX

Anyone who's good at and interested in Maths and wants to score in an elective should consider MH1812: Discrete Mathematics (3AU), assuming you're not from SCSE. It is a Core module for Computer Science and Computer Engineering students, and is offered every single semester. In Semester 1, Computer Science students take it as a Core module and the cohort is very large (500+ students). In Semester 2, Computer Engineering students take it as a Core module so the cohort is much smaller (150-170 students). (Correct me if I'm wrong) Plenty of past year exam papers available online for practice, and to see if you like the module. Best thing is that lectures AND tutorials are optional, attendance is not taken. Essentially, just study well for 2 Midterms and the Final Examination; super flexible in terms of commitment.

On a side note, I'm looking for Unrestricted Electives that are either Mathematically/Business/Quantitatively/Statistically related, does anyone have any recommendations? (Besides BU8201/BU8401 and Economics modules)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.