NTU - Electrical & Electronic Engineering (Part Time)

g3n3tic_twig

Hello!!!

Just thought i'd start a thread on this course because there isn't one. Hope you guys can contribute to it.

I've gotten an offer from NTU but am thinking if I should invest 5 year into this.

Thank you so much!

Kyoji83

NTU BEng (EEE) Full time is 4 years while part time is 5 years course.

Regardless of full or part time, they both awarded the same cert with same name.

It is recognized by PEB Sg for Prof Exam to become a Prof Engineer.

g3n3tic_twig

Yeah I'm 26 this year and if everything is 'swee swee', i'll be 31 when i finish it.

Poly students with relevant Diploma can complete in 3 (or < 3) years.

rollbread

Yeah I'm 26 this year and if everything is 'swee swee', i'll be 31 when i finish it.

Poly students with relevant Diploma can complete in 3 (or < 3) years.

3 years so short meh? But I think not many ppl taking part time here...mostly full time one...

g3n3tic_twig

Yes, you can complete in 3 or less than 3 year (if you are garang) loh. for Diploma Holders. I know because I withdrew from FullTime EEE back in '08. :o

tckrto

NTU BEng (EEE) Full time is 4 years while part time is 5 years course.

Regardless of full or part time, they both awarded the same cert with same name.

It is recognized by PEB Sg for Prof Exam to become a Prof Engineer.

By the time TS become Electrical PE he already mid 30s liao :o

tckrto

Guys I'm 26 this year... :)

Ya study part time 5 yrs. And after award B.Eng Elect in order to take PE exam you need 3yrs experience upon your first degree by the time chiu already mid 30s liao lor.

g3n3tic_twig

Ya study part time 5 yrs. And after award B.Eng Elect in order to take PE exam you need 3yrs experience upon your first degree by the time chiu already mid 30s liao lor.

Oh PE hah, wah aim too far already eh. Now I'm just thinking if I should spend five years or not.

Here in HWZ no PartTimers is it? :)

eppy0807

Oh PE hah, wah aim too far already eh. Now I'm just thinking if I should spend five years or not.

Here in HWZ no PartTimers is it? :)

I took this course few years back and managed to graduate. With this degree, it definitely opens alot of opportunites for me. Back then, this is the only affordable way for me to get a well recognised engineering degree and I had no regrets taking it.
But the course is really tough and takes alot of effort and time and if you are taking part time, I doubt you can clear all modules in 3 years. For my intake, more than half of the people dropped out within the first 2 years and the rest who endured to 3rd year will most probably managed to graduate.
In the end, the decision will lies with you as you need to be really determine to finish this course.

g3n3tic_twig

I took this course few years back and managed to graduate. With this degree, it definitely opens alot of opportunites for me. Back then, this is the only affordable way for me to get a well recognised engineering degree and I had no regrets taking it.
But the course is really tough and takes alot of effort and time and if you are taking part time, I doubt you can clear all modules in 3 years. For my intake, more than half of the people dropped out within the first 2 years and the rest who endured to 3rd year will most probably managed to graduate.
In the end, the decision will lies with you as you need to be really determine to finish this course.

Hi eppy0807,

Thanks!

Yeah I've accepted the course but can still withdraw before matriculation i guess.

PartTime is 5 years, not 3 years haha... :)

eppy0807

Hi eppy0807,

Thanks!

Yeah I've accepted the course but can still withdraw before matriculation i guess.

PartTime is 5 years, not 3 years haha... :)

Yes, i did it part time in 5 years around the same age you are going to start. The fastest I seen people complete it in 4 years (which means taking additional modules every semester) but this is very rare as it is very difficult to juggle all the commitments you had and need to go to classes almost every night of the week (not to mention coping with all the assignments, tests and exams).
Even after matriculation, you can still dropped out anytime. But if you do not want to pay anything, you can still withdraw in the first few weeks after class started but you need to do it before they billed you the school fees. Going for the first few classes will give you a chance to see if you can really cope and let you conclude if you should carry on for the next few years.

rollbread

If u are doing it in 5 years and not taking additional modules, then how is the lesson frequency? Every week 3 lessons or more?

eppy0807

If u are doing it in 5 years and not taking additional modules, then how is the lesson frequency? Every week 3 lessons or more?

Following the standard period of 5 years, most of the semesters will have 3 modules (which equates to 3 nights of classes per week). There are a couple of semesters which has 4 modules but one of the module is lab work and there is no exam.

g3n3tic_twig

Industrial Management? Didn't know NTU offers this course.

Anyway, I just seen the timetable for EEE (PartTime); it's 4-5 days every week.

Now torn between Kaplan and this. Didn't consider PSB because its timetable is hectic too.

eppy0807

Industrial Management? Didn't know NTU offers this course.

Anyway, I just seen the timetable for EEE (PartTime); it's 4-5 days every week.

Now torn between Kaplan and this. Didn't consider PSB because its timetable is hectic too.

I think there is a B.Tech in Industrial Management in NUS.

As to choose between NTU and Kaplan, I had already choosen NTU :) as it is much recognised in S'pore and the better quality and structure of the curriculum.
For me, I don't mind putting in efforts but in the end, I do not want to give any chance for people questioned the validity of my degree (esp if it is an engineering degree). Therefore, I also appreciate that the part-time course at NTU offers the exact degree as the full-timers. This arrangement also gives the chance to switch to full-time (after doing 2 years part time) which some of my classmates did.
The drawbacks of NTU course, is that it is much tougher (I have many classmates dropping out), modules are difficult, longer duration and you are competing with the full-timers (you will have same modules, same lecturers, and even sit the same exams, etc.).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.