NTUC calls for review of CPF wage ceiling

ArcticCheetah

Means Singapore is operating with retirement funds?
I don't believe for a moment they really care about retirement of sinkies
GG already

focus1974

Behind NTUC is Zeus party
260779946_455264389293071_6201872789347250065_n.jpg

UptheToon

When you stop allowing people to use cpf to pay for housing everything will be settled.

This is the first thing that must be done.

Shalomp

They can't even fix their weighing scales and still wanna talk about cpf?

testerjp

When people tell me that cpf is risk free I always :o

Every few years small tweaks, 2 decades big overhaul. Unstable like fug. :(

MoyoCase

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...gn=stfb&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook
SINGAPORE - The National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) is calling for Central Provident Fund (CPF) contribution salary ceilings to be reviewed to ensure middle-income workers have enough retirement funds in their accounts.

This will allow CPF savings to keep pace with wage growth, and it is one way the labour movement is looking to improve retirement adequacy for workers here, said NTUC deputy secretary-general Heng Chee How on Tuesday (Feb 15).

CPF salary ceilings were last raised six years ago, when the Ordinary Wage ceiling went up from $5,000 a month to $6,000 a month
Basterds talk only. No action

Ambergris

What he's saying is many people wages had increased to above $6k, but he never consider many people's wage freezed since 2015

wulu1_69

This is really dangerous and shows this government has lost its mind already

The reason we need income ceiling is so that we don't overbenefit the superrich. These people with lots of money to throw, will willingly throw money into 2.5% or 4%.

If CPF is supposed to be a retirement fund, it should be a social responsibility that ensures everyone is cared for equally. The fact that a social system's retirement amount even depends on your salary is already stupid, but that is where the income ceiling helps to equalize.

So by increasing the current limit which over half of Singaporeans won't reach anyway, we all know what is the reason behind. And the ones suffering would be those who paid now but will not get the benefits later. There is a word to describe this that starts with "p".
Still have CPF annual contribution cap right, which the majority cannot hit anyway?

wulu1_69

When you stop allowing people to use cpf to pay for housing everything will be settled.

This is the first thing that must be done.
Alot people using cpf to finance loan will most probably get into trouble liao...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.