Nursing Home Options for Terminal Ill

Silencer

If doctor certified TS having less than 6 mths to live and TS may have difficulty taking care of himself (need someone to help u pang sai, pang jio, shower etc),
Most likely they will recommend TS to hospice care
There are various new hospice care near hospital
For example TTSH Integrated Care Hub near TTSH
Fee is around S$16 - $18/day

Can stay there for 6 mths or whenever TS up lorry.
Got 5 meals daily + nurses to take care of u.
Can order kopi, milo, tea to drink but won't taste good cos hospital food never taste good
Got free haircut, free activity event, ward is also aircon
Each bed got it's own 42' TV can watch MediaCorp shows

If TS manage to live more than 6 mths, most likely they will try to find another hospice/nursing home for you
There are social workers there so just let them find for you

mummynew

Have you considered JB or some other cities or town in Malaysia? I understand they are not cheap either.

No. If only 12 months left, I have more than enough to fund this.

*can go nursing home but must minimise the probable 'guilty feelings' of kids. Need to balance the sentiments of both parties.

mummynew

My late mum's time when hospital asking us to transfer her to hospice or to bring her home for self-care, my brother visited a hospice (I was busy working then and so left hospice visit to him).

He called me over the phone, sobbing as he said the hospice stinks and he couldn't bring himself to send my mum there.

I told him we would bring our mum home for self care (then I started to look for nurses for temp care at $200/hour).

Every time I recall my brother's sobbing voice, my heart breaks. So, I wouldn't want to put my kids in that situation.

To edit: $200/12-hour

mummynew

Actually if you are the one who went through with it alone all the way, what can the authorities here do?

I have 2 kids and so can't do it 'alone' in a way else may put them in lifelong 遗憾.

If no surviving parents and no kids, then can explore to get a 'one way ticket' for self.

virtualape

Terminally ill still stay nursing home? I'll be out in a wheelchair assuming I can't walk. Jiak whatever I want etc.

Then wheel me east or west coast to see sunrise or sunset and fade away

mummynew

If doctor certified TS having less than 6 mths to live and TS may have difficulty taking care of himself (need someone to help u pang sai, pang jio, shower etc),
Most likely they will recommend TS to hospice care
There are various new hospice care near hospital
For example TTSH Integrated Care Hub near TTSH
Fee is around S$16 - $18/day

Can stay there for 6 mths or whenever TS up lorry.
Got 5 meals daily + nurses to take care of u.
Can order kopi, milo, tea to drink but won't taste good cos hospital food never taste good
Got free haircut, free activity event, ward is also aircon
Each bed got it's own 42' TV can watch MediaCorp shows

If TS manage to live more than 6 mths, most likely they will try to find another hospice/nursing home for you
There are social workers there so just let them find for you

This one subjects to mean-testing that I don't think I will qualify.

Calis_Yoda

mummynew

@mummynew
Don't forget you will also need Medical Escort and Transport Services (MET).
Cost: Between $40 and $150 per round trip. You'll also need to set aside some budget for this.

Sources:
1. https://www.touch.org.sg/get-assistance/seniors/medical-escort-and-transport.html
2. https://www.aic.sg/care-services/medical-escort-and-transport/

If 12 months only I have enough for those 'extras' like diapers, etc.

*my very old life insurance policies can claim for about half a million to fund this.

ninja99

My late mum's time when hospital asking us to transfer her to hospice or to bring her home for self-care, my brother visited a hospice (I was busy working then and so left hospice visit to him).

He called me over the phone, sobbing as he said the hospice stinks and he couldn't bring himself to send my mum there.

I told him we would bring our mum home for self care (then I started to look for nurses for temp care at $200/hour).

Every time I recall my brother's sobbing voice, my heart breaks. So, I wouldn't want to put my kids in that situation.
200/hour? What specialized skill they have to demand such high price ?

Calis_Yoda

If 12 months only I have enough for those 'extras' like diapers, etc.

*my very old life insurance policies can claim for about half a million to fund this.
Better to prepare for non-TI conditions such as dementia + osteoporosis + weak legs till you can't stand & walk or bedridden for many years. Particularly dementia, because dementia condition is gradual and stays over a long term.

ninja99

I've always thought about if I'm down with terminal illness, what will I do.

If I have less than 12 months to live and your finances, the only thing I want to do is to spend more time with my family and leave as much money to them as possible, instead of letting the nursing home earn.
Ehhhh… TI mostly need specific support to maintain good quality of life. Please be realistic.

socratesg

how can be sure is <12mths
if dr quote 12mths, then live to 12yrs how
Hmm...actually doctors are quite zhun one.

2 yrs back the doc told my cousins that my uncle has abt 2 mths left after admitted to TTSH for cancer and asked them to bring him home for hospice care. Then zhun zhun 2 mths later my uncle passed away at home.

mummynew

200/hour? What specialist skill they have to demand such high price ?

Oh sorry, it's $200/12 hours for certified nurses (about 10 years ago rate).

So 2 nurses each on 12-hour shift = $400 / day x 30 days = about $12,000 / month

*it was a 'desperate' situation when SGH kept chasing to discharge and we had no helper at home. My mum was staying with my BBFA brother then and it was unfair to let him shoulder the full care of her.

Joseph12

I exploring nursing homes in the event that doctor announces me with TI cum immobility.

TI = less than 12 months of life expectancy with one can be mobile or bed-ridden.

Will visit the facilities one day when they are free to tell them what I want if that day really comes (I never believe in burdening kids who should have their own lives).

https://www.alliumhealthcare.com/

https://lentorresidence.com/

*if I got TI, I will have quite a lot of insurance money (incl Eldershield/Careshield) + can liquidate CPF etc. More than enough to fund my max 12 months on earth. Allium will be in my 'bucket list' and hope they have vacancy if need to apply.

What terminal illness you think you have
Anyway I believe the hospital will tell you or family what's your options before releasing you from hospital

mummynew

What terminal illness you think you have
Anyway I believe the hospital will tell you or family what's your options before releasing you from hospital

Me dont have TI 'yet'.

Just some 'forward planning' in case of needs.

意外和明天不知道哪个会先到。

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.