NUS IS Math Preparations

10e5x@1610

Hi all,

I just accepted my NUS IS offer. I am a poly grad. Its been years since I have last touch mathematics. And my math is not that great at all. I have heard that Math will be one of the toughest subject.

May seniors please teach me how to prepare myself. What are the topics that i should revise? Thanks alot.

mistersatki_

zhun bo o lvl maths for uni level ?

IS no learn engineering maths wan meh ?

purely abt programming n shiat?

mgx-alander

IS Maximal maths is MA1312 and ST2334, the worst kind of calculus u can see is only in this 2 mods..

so no, IS dont do MA1505 or MA1506... CS ppl oso doesnt do them

and u need the O lvl math, for the base foundation for MA1301 which is H2 math..

10e5x@1610

IS Maximal maths is MA1312 and ST2334, the worst kind of calculus u can see is only in this 2 mods..

and u need the O lvl math, for the base foundation for MA1301 which is H2 math..

So other than calculus what are the topics should i look out for? Are u from NUS IS? Year? I feel like buying notes from seniors

10e5x@1610

If u have any friends who graduated from JC, their H2 Maths lecture notes would be helpful to you.

Thanks. U from NUS IS? Erm i will ask around... H2 Maths lecture notes. All topics or? Do u have a list of topics i should study on to prep myself for math in IS? I really need alot of prep, cuz quite weak in Math

Darkzi0n

step 1. google ur module requirement. look for the modules u going to take.
step 2. google CORS nus (this will also be the place where u bid ur modules), look for that module. click in. read the description, it will usually mention the topics that will be covered. NOTE: u might not always find the module u r looking for depending if it was available for the sem.
step 3. explore ard using google, find more information through module-review, other ppl's blog, etc. see wat is the recommended textbook, n if u r lucky, u will be able to find free ebook version.

10e5x@1610

step 1. google ur module requirement. look for the modules u going to take.
step 2. google CORS nus (this will also be the place where u bid ur modules), look for that module. click in. read the description, it will usually mention the topics that will be covered. NOTE: u might not always find the module u r looking for depending if it was available for the sem.
step 3. explore ard using google, find more information through module-review, other ppl's blog, etc. see wat is the recommended textbook, n if u r lucky, u will be able to find free ebook version.

Thanks i did that and omg... the topics are very alien to me.

Jiaw3i

Thanks. U from NUS IS? Erm i will ask around... H2 Maths lecture notes. All topics or? Do u have a list of topics i should study on to prep myself for math in IS? I really need alot of prep, cuz quite weak in Math

I am Year 4, from NUS IS. Just graduated in this semester. I am afraid I do not know the specific topics that u can look at in JC H2 Maths, but everything should be important. :):)

Death4ngel

zhun bo o lvl maths for uni level ?

IS no learn engineering maths wan meh ?

purely abt programming n shiat?

No need 1505 and 1506.

Programming and shiat also need math leh. although the requirements of math is always not explicitly stated as a pre-req. :s13:

mgx-alander

IS only take Calculus and stats, and discrete..

CS still need 1101R, CS3230 :sad:

Buaya_Hunter

My batch got brave heros doing ma1521 cos they can't wait for/miss the boat for ma1312. (My time MA1312 only taught in sem 2)

Buaya_Hunter

Hi all,

I just accepted my NUS IS offer. I am a poly grad. Its been years since I have last touch mathematics. And my math is not that great at all. I have heard that Math will be one of the toughest subject.

May seniors please teach me how to prepare myself. What are the topics that i should revise? Thanks alot.

I would say if u are not so good (It's ok. We don't have scenarios where 80% of ppl score A in term of raw scores) , practice more questions and don't be afraid to ask questions.

Buaya_Hunter

IS most of the time never touch maths one unless you backside is itchy enough to take those business quantitative/security/CS type of modules

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.