NUS prof: "Each household would have to spend $80,000 to cover the S$800 cdc voucher due to GST increase. How many households spend S$80,000 a year?"

kimsix

i always say some people study until brain spoil.
$1.10 , $1.20... i bet he never went to hawker. lol

Fishball noodle $3.50
8% gst $4 (15% increase)
9% gst $4.50 (12.5% increase)

we don't spent 80k per year, then does $800 alone able to cope with the high inflation 4ever?

if prices are high, what make chiu think foreginers and tourists will keep coming.

that day got 1 on the ground expert... he mention... before covid luncheon meat is $2.40.... till today, luncheon meat is $3.70. this is the real expert.

Nobody asking how much shrinkflation is justifiable… can’t always blame covid or russia

companies and reits and even gahment recording big profits.

got amdk studies that greedy businesses are profiteering on this narratives

i see recently nvidia rtx50, how easy it is for business to manipulate supply and fomo demand!

so if experts dont look at the root causes, don’t it mean they are in cahoots driving the mybfd, just pay more brainwashing?? Cdc vouchers is helping to cement this messaging!

targetting prata will help lower shrinkflation??? Stupid professor is not?

wongminmin

wow... he really think this helps the low income household. lol
$800 can't do :poop:

Hq8miDG.png

iLWedWO.png

The_Davis

this professor really twist until his back not pain meh? His PhD is buy from where one.

He choose to see it as 1% over the last year when the hike was 2% over 2 years. But in the same comparison he chose to bring up the ukraine war which was 3 years ago.

How he count one? When he feels like it, he compares to last year. When he doesnt he compares to 3years ago.
Hdb 3 years increase how much again?

SBC

This argument is just playing into white party’s favour.

They are giving you more money than is necessary to cover the GST increment.

The man on the street cares more about short term gains than long term inflation risks.
Think long term.
Next year how. Next next year how?

dry_county

He should just stick to CS and not give this kind of comments. only stir people's emotion.

He's no economist. just a coder.

orhneeorh

what kind of idiot prof is that?

oh Ben Leong.. please dont use prof. he is never a full prof

jericho75

Today went out to buy medical stuffs for my dad $4100 before gst.. 2% is like $82 liao.. not difficult to finish the $800 offset la.. lol

If u renovate one hdb. Ur life time gst rebates also cannot cover the gst

zhiguzai

My family food and grocery cost increase by $500 per month after the GST increase. So the $800 vouchers can not even last for 2 months. This NUS Prof never do marketing or he PHD?

alpha29

Simi prof. His point of view so myopic and missing the point.
Everyone, even govt already agreed that inflation is affecting pple's life.

The $800 cdc is supposed to help battle inflation, nothing to do with gst hike. But to pple on the ground, $800 cannot help much. Koptitiam coffee now already $1.2 to $1.80 liao, some places $2.

Govt should try to see how to control prices..

Cowbellc

ok lah. They still got the mandate
Rem we got a professor saying no need mask, cos govt say so
then u-turn saying better 2 layer mask cos govt say muz put on mask🤣
we can say till cows come home, they still got the mandate

kopiOkid

kumgong professor living in lalaland ah? Also never cite any data, only provide hypothetical scenarios,no understanding of how supply chain work

hahahahahaha
Each supplier in the chain increases by 1% each. You think so linear end price also increase by 1 cent?
His story is like lying to kids

Medicated Oil

The best part keep saying it's a generous budget🤣🤣makes me keep wondering where's d generosity
For a admin that are take and take and take, giving a few hundred more to the residents is a lot.
It is not a lot when they are spending money to buy $2k bike and $500 office chair for themselves.

All the increases that they imposed for the past years are still around till the end of time.
This giveaway is ONLY ONE TIME.
Which is why some residents are complaining on why we must be treated like beggars once every 5 years.

keqing

Wah lao eh, this type also can be Prof ah?

He thinks people increase price at 1% only ah?

Each supplier each chain increase amount will be rounded up, so instead of 1% GST, the final increase amount could be 50%.

Shanmugan also shared his post and praised it. I'm afraid this confirms our top leaders could not understand what is happening on the ground and is very very very ignorant about math, supply chain etc., while thinking they are smarter than everyone else and hence deserves a much higher ownself pay ownself. This confirms that we have a substandard incumbent.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.