I got a conditional probability of

P(C|A^B) = 0.7
P(C|A^~B) =0.3
P(C|~A^B) = 0.1
P(C|~A^~B) = 0.1

I am asked to find P(C)

Bayes formula put
P(C^A^B) = P(C|A^B) P(A^B)
(i.e. P(A^B) = P(A|B) P(B), let B = (A^B) in this case)

P(A^B^C) = P(C|A^B) P(A^B)
P(A^B^C) = P(C|A^B) P(A|B) P(B) <- cant break C to be alone

the only way to break P(C) alone ish like that
P(A^B^C) = P(A^B|C) = P(A^B) P(C) <- but i dun have P(A^B|C)

so there ish no way i can get P(C) right cos there is always this unknown

yoshi_fanboy

I lazy to type out the quantities here, but I will just give you the sketch of the solution in my mind.

Firstly, you know that A and B are independent, so certainly you know that A and ~B, ~A and B, and ~A and ~B are independent. So you can calculate P(A^~B), P(~A^B) and P(~A^~B) given that you know what are P(A) and P(B).

Also, since you know the quantities P(C|A^B), P(C|A^~B), P(C|~A^B) and P(C|~A^~B), by Bayes Rule you can certainly compute P(C^A^B), P(C^A^~B), P(C^~A^B) and P(C^~A^~B) respectively.

Now we know that P(C)=P(C^A^B)+P(C^A^~B)+P(C^~A^B)+P(C^~A^~B), so just use the quantities that you have computed earlier and sum it up to get the desired answer.

mgx-alander

Given P(A), P(B) P(C) and P(E) (They are all independent)

I am also given
P(F|D^E), P(F|D^~E), P(F|~D^E), P(F|~D^~E)

I know P(F^D^E) = P(F|D^E) P(D^E) = P(F|D^E) P(D) P(E)

But I have a missing P(D) and i duno P(F^D^E)

I need to find P(D|A^B^C).. hows? :sad:

I also need to find P(D|F) :sad:

mgx-alander

yes this is a standalone qn..

its one of the topic in ai involving bayes theorem.. but they like to give ranjiao qn like this knn :mad:

and st2334 isnt a pre req

this paper is old tho.. 2008 s2 nt sure if ppl are taught a technique call variable reduction which i google can solve this qn but im nt taught that 1 so i saw the notes i :s22:

but other pyp has bery little qn bout this sub topic so..

mgx-alander

Given P(a) = 0.2, P(b) = 0.3, P(c)= 0.2, P(e) = 0.01, all independent

P(d) is dependent on P(a), P(b) and P(c)

P(f) depends on P(d) and P(e)
the probabilities of P(f|d^e) is 0.95 P(f|d^~e) = 0.8,
P(f| ~d^e) = 0.9, P(f|~d^~e)=0.01 respectively

the only missing piece of information is the conditional probabilities is P(d) for all possible combinations of a, b, and c
i.e P(d|a^b^c), P(d| a^b^~c)... etc

Derive a reasonable estimate for the conditional probabilities of P(d) include ur workings

mgx-alander

duno wtf the paper huan me to do.. i use bayes theorem convert and convert oso got smth missing seeking sexperts reply :sad:

flame_copper

Given P(A), P(B) P(C) and P(E) (They are all independent)

I am also given
P(F|D^E), P(F|D^~E), P(F|~D^E), P(F|~D^~E)

I know P(F^D^E) = P(F|D^E) P(D^E) = P(F|D^E) P(D) P(E)

But I have a missing P(D) and i duno P(F^D^E)

I need to find P(D|A^B^C).. hows? :sad:

I also need to find P(D|F) :sad:

I also did something like this in NTU comp sci also,
they taught how to classify iris flower using naive bayes therom,

mgx-alander

simi iris flower? i nv learn before leh.. :s22: think the paper is obselete cos its 5years ago :(

awesomeblue

Hi guys,
I am a year 1 gg year 2 stats sporean. Anyone here as well?

Notice this thread got a lot nice seniors around like raichu,darkzion and few other.

It is so cool! Since lecture classes are usually filled with ah tiongs i hardly had any friends in stats.

Darkzi0n

Haha r u the one that emailed me?
Paiseh havnt reply. Jus out pro from ict

Tatami

Hello blue! maybe because you are still taking a lot of math mod in year 1, you will be able to make more friends in year 2 :)

Bidding will starts tmr. I'm split between ST4241 (Design and analysis of clinical trials) and ST3246 (statistic model for actuarial science) as my last core mod. I'm not sure if i should take ST4241 as it will be my first year 4 mods and i might be competing with a lot of honour students but i'm more interested in biostatistics. Oh and I haven't take ST3232 Design and Analysis of Experiments... not sure if there is any advantage from taking ST3232 first. Any advice?

Thank you in advance!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.