NUS SCIENCE(STATISTICS)

xJrBlood

Good that you've got some backup plans. The newer QF syllabus for the incoming batches now have more mathematical content to it, which means that there's not much difference in the modules taken by QF and AM (Applied Mathematics) majors.

QF is more practical-oriented and multi-disciplinary. Which means, you'll be able to expose yourself to modules all over the faculties in NUS (and for cheap too, in both CORS points and real cash, since you pay only undergrad fees). Moreover, it is much easier revising for CFA/PRM/FRM professional exams because QF syllabus itself easily prepares you for it.

However, you would lose out on an in-depth theoretical mathematical knowledge, unless you overload that is.

AM is more theoretical, which could be beneficial to you if you're doing a Masters in QF (ironically!) or Financial Engineering. Doing such a Masters requires a good B. Sc in Math and you'll need to pass their qualifying entrance test. After all, you could easily pick up business modules everywhere in any business school, but as for math, you need a good Science school, and within Asia, NUS Math still offers value for money education.

Wow that's some great insight. Thank you very much. I do plan on pursuing masters in future but only after a few years of experience from work.

Hence career wise, do employers in the finance industry "stay away" from employing more theoretical majors?

Raichu29125

Wow that's some great insight. Thank you very much. I do plan on pursuing masters in future but only after a few years of experience from work.

Hence career wise, do employers in the finance industry "stay away" from employing more theoretical majors?

You're welcome :D! Well you could always get an honours in Applied Math, and do MBA at a reputable university later. Reputable because of the networks, not just the university content (as I said Biz skills are much easier to pick up than Math). If you can't find a reputable MBA, don't worry. CFA would just suffice cause it's challenging enough (and cheap!).

Employers in the finance industry very much like people with in-depth Math knowledge per se. They really want people to help solve complex problems for them, and understand why some stuffs are happening.

Which brings me to this point, the inherent problem in the NUS Science system lies in the fact that we don't make ourselves employable. We know too much about Math (well, relative to the outside world that is) that we couldn't market ourselves properly. The administration (finally) realises this, and now they're piloting programs like career planning to be made compulsory to all incoming students, so people like you could benefit.

(this part here is meant for all to read, how I feel about the current QF syllabus rant, read on) :s22:

Of course, I can't get away with some of the graduation rules in Science faculty. To me, one of them is the (antique) faculty requirements. Yes, it is meant to be a good idea, exposes you to the different branches of Science.

But in QF this is disadvantageous because in all other Science majors except QF, the faculty requirements are inbuilt into their major requirements. For example, in Chemistry, you have LSM1401 Fundamentals of Biochemistry and MA1421. In Applied Maths, you have CS1010/IT1006, in Physics MA1505, blah blah blah.

The quirky part of the QF major is that, if you manage to read the NUS bulletin carefully, we have 2 subject groups (ie. Computing Science and Math and Stats) precluded from us (so we can't take CS as our faculty requirements, sad).

facreq.png

So we need to source for our own 3 separate faculty requirement modules. If you're lucky enough you could grab freshmen seminar and CS/CU it. But for me, I need to choose a 3 of CM/PC/LSM/PR and take it on a graded basis (which is crap, really, and that also explains why I didn't use my S/U till now, in Year 3).

The bit trade-off is that our breadths are automatically filled (because we take modules from practically anywhere), unlike the rest of the majors in Science. But then again, breadths are meant to be S/U'ed :s13:.

Luminol

Chen Zehua... that bad? :(

He taught design and analysis of clinical trials.
Go see the lecture notes on his webpage.
Quite a number of overlaps with ST3232. Confounding, factorial designs etc.

Experiments and clinical trials are synonymous methinks.

Darkzi0n

He taught design and analysis of clinical trials.
Go see the lecture notes on his webpage.
Quite a number of overlaps with ST3232. Confounding, factorial designs etc.

Experiments and clinical trials are synonymous methinks.

how about his accent? izzit strong?

Rusty89

Tiong lecturer. :s13:

I read the review and it says is Tao Yu, also a Tiong lecturer who taught ST3131 last sem. Maybe this sem wasnt him but still may not be much difference.

Lecturer is rather important for the module so i will try to avoid if can lol.

Rusty89

Hmm this time St3239 really popular. last time barely 100 ppl. it seems like all bid points keep rising. Eh is the student population increasing ar? :s11:

Darkzi0n

not much ppl taking ST3131 also.. hopefully all the zai kia already took it last sem :vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

Rusty89

not much ppl taking ST3131 also.. hopefully all the zai kia already took it last sem :vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

Coz last sem rly a lot ppl took liao. aiya u dont have to worry la. u are alr a zai kia. More ppl take just means more ppl let u slaughter :s13:

Tatami

I read the review and it says is Tao Yu, also a Tiong lecturer who taught ST3131 last sem. Maybe this sem wasnt him but still may not be much difference.

Lecturer is rather important for the module so i will try to avoid if can lol.
This coming sem chan yiu man, hk man?

Rusty89

We seem to have alot UE to clear. i shld be taking gem2901 and pl1101e.

pl1101e
I read mod review.. A lot of memory work involved sia...
Looks heavy
Mi still deciding what to take though... Any recommendation?
Haha

Ok la. it's quite interesting also de. plus mcq for exam. Er, u taken ec1301/ec2101? both quite manageable with econs background. or bsp1005?

if not u can try to take up a language which is quite useful. which one have u taken le? haha maybe we can do an exchange or sth.

Wa St3239 really popular now.lol overshot quota liao. think not just our cohort. Maybe yr 3 also taking them.

Rusty89

I taken ec1301 & bsp1005 liao
Yeah ST3239 is popular :)
y ST3241 no ppl wan take ah?

Eh BSP1005 easy not ar?

Since u alr taken those ec mods u can try for ec2101, it's not that difficult and its mostly math stuff which is quite an adv for us. last sem darky and me took that.

Haha coz St3241 is confirm every sem 2 have de. So i think ppl rather chiong for St3239 first ba, even though st3241 is a core mod. ok la,st3232 and st3242 even more pathetic.

Fierce man. dont know if everyone showhand on st3239, duno 1101 pt enough not.

Darkzi0n

Eh BSP1005 easy not ar?

Since u alr taken those ec mods u can try for ec2101, it's not that difficult and its mostly math stuff which is quite an adv for us. last sem darky and me took that.

Haha coz St3241 is confirm every sem 2 have de. So i think ppl rather chiong for St3239 first ba, even though st3241 is a core mod. ok la,st3232 and st3242 even more pathetic.

Fierce man. dont know if everyone showhand on st3239, duno 1101 pt enough not.

i think st3241 no longer core liao leh... think they changed it... i used to think st3241 is core also.. then recently go see the programme structure, st3241 no longer is a essential mod liao

Rusty89

i think st3241 no longer core liao leh... think they changed it... i used to think st3241 is core also.. then recently go see the programme structure, st3241 no longer is a essential mod liao

Eh? you are right man!

Lol they rly keep changing this and that. very confusing :s11:

Well, at least there's a bit of flexibility in one mod to choose from.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.