Nvidia Shield Gaming Tablet

kennyboy

My shield is Lollipoped :) loved it...performance is even zippier now :) have been using it for slightly more than a month, so far loving it much more than my ex-Samsung Tab S. I am on the wi-fi ver, personally for my usage habit, I just tethered from my phone when I needed to surf, the savings compared to the LTE ver is worth using tethering even though I have a spare data sim card.
Ya....I'm passing the POS that is the Tab S to my wife. It's not laggy to her, but it runs like crap to me.

xonix

Ya....I'm passing the POS that is the Tab S to my wife. It's not laggy to her, but it runs like crap to me.

I have read some initial Shield L reviews that it has the same stutters and lags as seen on Nexus 9 especially during rotation :s27:

kennyboy

I have read some initial Shield L reviews that it has the same stutters and lags as seen on Nexus 9 especially during rotation :s27:
I'm not expecting it to have no lags - it's still Android. Rotation has always been slightly laggy, even on my Nexus 5. Seen it on N6 as well so.... :(

But confirm plus chop is better than the Exynos piece of crap the Tab S LTE is. Make me wanna vomit blood.

bundy

shipping from UK amzaon

Order Summary for 32GB LTE, yet to order

Items: £249.98
Postage & Packing: £15.29
Total before VAT: £265.27
VAT: £0.00
Import Fees Deposit £18.57
Order Total: £283.84

But must wait for 2 weeks to 5 weeks for the item before its ship out

di3cbl

Thinking abt buying, but worried abt cracked edges and lousy WiFi reception sia. And also the accessories v limited and v ex leh

bonkeng

I updated to lollipop. But now i encountered a problem. I cant play baldurs gate enhance edition. No error message, just go straight to home screen after opening app.

Anybody got any ussues after updating?

kennyboy

You received your LTE yet?

How was it? Im waiting for your reviews :s13:
Ok. Got it liao.

Back to familiar stock Android.....so dunno where to start.

Bad stuff - the power button is as bad as they say. Mushy and irritating. This tablet badly needs double tap to wake. I would say having one of those cases that wake/sleep the tablet is essential. Volume buttons are slightly better, but they're not that irritating since there are onscreen ways to adjust.

Wi-fi is significantly better for 5ghz after the pre-lollipop update (but I have a serious wifi setup all around the house so ymmv). There was one Kitkat update before the lollipop update, both 700+mb so be patient. Battery was totally flat out of the box as well.

Screen is decent, nothing too special compared to the flagships out there. LTE works, not exactly sure how well regarding the bands since I've not run around town with it yet.

Device wise I've seen no cracks or separation ootb but who knows what'll happen later on. Screen rotation after upgrading to lollipop is pretty fast, but there's still that split second of delay as the device decides whether to rotate or not - that's Android's default design imho. Pretty fast and snappy, I'm satisfied with the speed.

But this is all before I've loaded it with all the crap that I usually use and some of the Nvidia exclusive games.

Box comes with one usb adapter, 2 plugs, one usb cable and one tablet. Nothing else. Strangely, UK LTE version doesn't come with the so called green box bundle of games, I'll see what Nvidia says but worst case scenario if they don't give me what they promised I just find it elsewhere. :)

GRID isn't available in Asia yet, so nothing on that front.

Anything else I've missed? Long story short it isn't that amazing, especially if you're used to stock Android. Gaming wise I've not done much in that area, so that will come later. Any questions can shoot, I see what I can do.

Rooting is pretty simple, but it's not those one click towelroot solution. And it requires a PC with working fastboot drivers at least.

kennyboy

I updated to lollipop. But now i encountered a problem. I cant play baldurs gate enhance edition. No error message, just go straight to home screen after opening app.

Maybe not updated to run on Lollipop yet?

xonix

Need to wait for non compatible apps to update to support Lollipop. MX Player also not working on my brother's Nexus 4 after OS upgrade.

xonix

Ok. Got it liao.

Back to familiar stock Android.....so dunno where to start.

Bad stuff - the power button is as bad as they say. Mushy and irritating. This tablet badly needs double tap to wake. I would say having one of those cases that wake/sleep the tablet is essential. Volume buttons are slightly better, but they're not that irritating since there are onscreen ways to adjust.

Wi-fi is significantly better for 5ghz after the pre-lollipop update (but I have a serious wifi setup all around the house so ymmv). There was one Kitkat update before the lollipop update, both 700+mb so be patient. Battery was totally flat out of the box as well.

Screen is decent, nothing too special compared to the flagships out there. LTE works, not exactly sure how well regarding the bands since I've not run around town with it yet.

Device wise I've seen no cracks or separation ootb but who knows what'll happen later on. Screen rotation after upgrading to lollipop is pretty fast, but there's still that split second of delay as the device decides whether to rotate or not - that's Android's default design imho. Pretty fast and snappy, I'm satisfied with the speed.

But this is all before I've loaded it with all the crap that I usually use and some of the Nvidia exclusive games.

Box comes with one usb adapter, 2 plugs, one usb cable and one tablet. Nothing else. Strangely, UK LTE version doesn't come with the so called green box bundle of games, I'll see what Nvidia says but worst case scenario if they don't give me what they promised I just find it elsewhere. :)

GRID isn't available in Asia yet, so nothing on that front.

Anything else I've missed? Long story short it isn't that amazing, especially if you're used to stock Android. Gaming wise I've not done much in that area, so that will come later. Any questions can shoot, I see what I can do.

Rooting is pretty simple, but it's not those one click towelroot solution. And it requires a PC with working fastboot drivers at least.

Long story short, would this be the best 8 inch Android tablet to get right now ?
And is it worth the price ?

bonkeng

Long story short, would this be the best 8 inch Android tablet to get right now ?

It's safe to say that it's one of the best. Although most people are torn between this and the Nexus 9.

In short, it's either the best or 2nd best.

kennyboy

It isn't that simple of a question.

It's the best 8" tablet for now, but that's because other models out there are crappy. N9 is decent, but it turns me off personally in other ways.

Shield, it irks me in the power button area. and as long as my case is not here, everyday it will. And if you go the Shield Tablet forums to read, it's so bad in many ways as well. :D

Price wise, I paid $63x for it for speedy shipping. It's certainly chunkier and heavier than the other tablets I've used, but it's also more versatile. If you like the 8" screen size (and don't want it bigger), it's the best (imho, because of my own bias because I BOUGHT IT, and because there's no decent competition out there).

I like it, but I don't LOVE it in terms of hardware. Software runs snappy which I'm particular about and so far it's okay. So would that count as a yay or nay? :D

kennyboy

Just talked to an Amazon.co.uk rep about the missing codes, it's either I missed out on the promo (2 days after the announcement, imho unlikely), or Nvidia and Amazon.co.uk got some communication issues.

Or I got old stock that didn't have the codes bundled (battery was dead ootb), in that case Amazon.co.uk is going to face my wrath. :)

Ok time to go pirate the games that I'm supposed to have received. :)

xonix

It isn't that simple of a question.

It's the best 8" tablet for now, but that's because other models out there are crappy. N9 is decent, but it turns me off personally in other ways.

Shield, it irks me in the power button area. and as long as my case is not here, everyday it will. And if you go the Shield Tablet forums to read, it's so bad in many ways as well. :D

Price wise, I paid $63x for it for speedy shipping. It's certainly chunkier and heavier than the other tablets I've used, but it's also more versatile. If you like the 8" screen size (and don't want it bigger), it's the best (imho, because of my own bias because I BOUGHT IT, and because there's no decent competition out there).

I like it, but I don't LOVE it in terms of hardware. Software runs snappy which I'm particular about and so far it's okay. So would that count as a yay or nay? :D

Agree with you on all points. Based on users review online, the main points bugging me would be the power/volume buttons, corner cracking and battery life.

Probably can live with the button issue if Nvidia turns on the ambient display feature for the tablet. It's currently disabled for Nexus 4 and 5.

I had the Tab 7.7 and it had everything except the hardware became too slow even with custom Rom. Currently using N7 2013 but too small for comfortable reading of comics. Nvidia ST seems to be the best of the lot with stock os, speedy updates, front speakers, expandable storage and powerful internals.

kennyboy

Agree with you on all points. Based on users review online, the main points bugging me would be the power/volume buttons, corner cracking and battery life.

Probably can live with the button issue if Nvidia turns on the ambient display feature for the tablet. It's currently disabled for Nexus 4 and 5.

I had the Tab 7.7 and it had everything except the hardware became too slow even with custom Rom. Currently using N7 2013 but too small for comfortable reading of comics. Nvidia ST seems to be the best of the lot with stock os, speedy updates, front speakers, expandable storage and powerful internals.
Pretty sure we're not getting the ambient display feature. While it's not mostly hardware dependent (sensitive low drain motion sensors are needed) , it also exists because of the Nexus 6's amoled screen. Nexus 9 doesn't have it, and even on N4/N5 it's hacked in by custom roms but doesn't work as it does on N6.

Seriously, I tried reading comics on the Shield, it doesn't really feel that much better than my old N7 2012, and it's much heavier, so I don't supposed you will find it better than your N7 2013. It's not that comfortable for one handed usage.

So it does seem that you might not be that pleased with a Shield? :)

isumi22

snes emulation with 2 shield controllers

Just wanted to ask if anyone here has tried using 2 shield controllers in a snes emulator(superGnes)? I tried configuring it but it always ends up both controllers controlling the same player :(

cruzzy

Pretty sure we're not getting the ambient display feature. While it's not mostly hardware dependent (sensitive low drain motion sensors are needed) , it also exists because of the Nexus 6's amoled screen. Nexus 9 doesn't have it, and even on N4/N5 it's hacked in by custom roms but doesn't work as it does on N6.

Seriously, I tried reading comics on the Shield, it doesn't really feel that much better than my old N7 2012, and it's much heavier, so I don't supposed you will find it better than your N7 2013. It's not that comfortable for one handed usage.

So it does seem that you might not be that pleased with a Shield? :)

Why not consider sony xperia z3 tablet compact? It's also 8" screen, very light weight and slim, and comes with SD 800 2.5GHz and 3GB RAM. The build quality and battery life are also better. Any drawback that I may have overlooked, compared to Nvidia shield tablet?

xonix

Why not consider sony xperia z3 tablet compact? It's also 8" screen, very light weight and slim, and comes with SD 800 2.5GHz and 3GB RAM. The build quality and battery life are also better. Any drawback that I may have overlooked, compared to Nvidia shield tablet?

Yes, one very BIG drawback ... $$$ that thing is expensive.
Not to mention, Sony skin = Slower updates

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.