NYT| How the humble 'cai fan' is now all the rage in epicurean Hong Kong

BlackWing1977

test balloon lai liao 5.50 for basic meal akan datang.
At least we got the option of buying rice + 1 vegetable and hope the curry zhup got bits of potatoes or chicken meat or skin that drop off.. :sick:

whitecabbage

I feel attacked:(
“It was seen as food for commoners, people with low incomes,” said Siu Yan Ho, a lecturer who studies the city’s food culture at Hong Kong Baptist University.

Zinna

Can we claimed that cai peng originated from sinkieland?

testart

Last time HK no cai png?

Then what they eat last time?

ctan84

Lazy article.

They didn't explore:
How social stratification is reflected in the selection of dishes (Fish/Seafood vs vegetables, meat)

The extent some of the lower wage workers relying on caifan and hacks to make their meals more filling (Add rice, ask to add gravy that has minced meat/egg drop, ask for curry and one chunk of potato to get free potato)

How vendors are inconsistent in pricing (Egg/Tofu = Meat, long bean with minced meat = Vegetables)
You obviously not familiar with HK. What u described is the crap in SG. There the price u pay is fixed for any 2 dishes. Even if u choose 2 fish / seafood etc, its still the same price.

Wwiiii

You obviously not familiar with HK. What u described is the crap in SG. There the price u pay is fixed for any 2 dishes. Even if u choose 2 fish / seafood etc, its still the same price.
how to be familiar with hk cai png culture considering its a recent fad and travelling was almost impossible during covid

danguard

nw hk turn to experience economic downturn..... :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

for low ses sinkies... every yr also is economic downturn.... tts why low ses sinkies staple makan is cai png...

dont knw why journalist try to spin like is the next big thing.. lmaooo... cai png is food for poor ppl... plz you lah honkies....

:cry: :cry:

Cecamaster

Lazy article.

They didn't explore:
How social stratification is reflected in the selection of dishes (Fish/Seafood vs vegetables, meat)

The extent some of the lower wage workers relying on caifan and hacks to make their meals more filling (Add rice, ask to add gravy that has minced meat/egg drop, ask for curry and one chunk of potato to get free potato)

How vendors are inconsistent in pricing (Egg/Tofu = Meat, long bean with minced meat = Vegetables)
None is more satki than self service and hiding meat under Vege, typhoon shelter style

ctan84

how to be familiar with hk cai png culture considering its a recent fad and travelling was almost impossible during covid
Its not a recent fad lah. During my last trip to HK over 10 yrs ago already got sell.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.