OCBC have implemented a security feature on OCBC Digital app to further safeguard their customers from malware

Visor9999

To be fair, SPF also doing nothing to prevent malware based scams from happening.
The only thing SPF has been pushing is security theatre, and that is dangerous.

Spf should work with govtech to create a upgraded singpass app which can stop malicious apps and scammers. This way will work much better

white_prince

They are using Threat Matrix to safeguard same as DBS.
it depends on what services they bought from TMX.
SPF and 3 local banks + reputable foreign banks often get together to discuss this initiative.
They might be the first and the rest to follow later?

white_prince

any banks got more permissions than them?

Q1nnVVP.jpg

Can call OCBC to guide you out from jungle when you are lost. lol….

DigDub

you can physically go and take your money. no lock.
If I have to go to the bank to resolve their sh1tty online issue, it will be to take out all my money and close my account with this crap bank.

rathalos

Actually any app that has permission for storage will scan your app library. More common than you think
That's why sometimes I prefer west Taiwan rom over global rom.. at least west Taiwan rom has much stricter and more granular permission controls and the ability to cut any app from the internet or even starting up.. global rom is just less secure n less controls.. google should really adopt the permission controllers of west Taiwan rom..

eAtNeAt

Btw which bank are you guys using for salary crediting?

lousydk

lol all thanks to a small group of ppl without common sense, everyone kanna affected
luckily my whole family already dumped android phones years ago, i insisted my parents to change as they dont have a need to have too much customisations

DigDub

this crap bank happens to be the Santa Claus who gave back all the monies to those who kena scammed during X'mas period

And in what ways have the vast majority of the smarter customers have benefitted from it? We are supposed to go to the lowest denominator? That's not the way to do business if they care about customers. And if they want to go to this extent, does it mean that for any future scams, they will pay out even if it's the customer's stupidity? What if next time they want to listen in on your phone calls, see what you take with your camera in the name of preventing scams, is that ok also? Ocbc has gone full retard.

Emperor_Hippo

To be fair, SPF also doing nothing to prevent malware based scams from happening.
The only thing SPF has been pushing is security theatre, and that is dangerous.
And here we are, being constantly mocked by other nations as a "moddly codded nanny state".

people should just take their own lives in their own hands and be responsible for their own failings.

get scammed? Dun give excuses. Suck it up.

RedEyesFan

You guys do realise OCBC can whitelist those apps once if enough complaints are sent.
And here we are, being constantly mocked by other nations as a "moddly codded nanny state".

people should just take their own lives in their own hands and be responsible for their own failings.

get scammed? Dun give excuses. Suck it up.
Where you learn how to read? Which part of "security theatre" that you do not understand?
You need your parents or SPF to hold your hand while you relearn how to read, is it?

AuraKUPO

Remember people, you need the app as a 2FA to log into your phone bank account on a computer. So if you don't uninstall those dubious apps, you can't do any iBanking. For eg, you will not be able to pay your credit card bill and will incur late payment fee.

Songboh sinkies tio pwn by ocbc IT team (I hope they are sinkies too).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.