Official 3Dmark06 thread

misato

ragnarok95 said:
Erm....thats your thinking, not mine, if everyone follows the same thinking as you, thats it, end of singapore :s13:

Anyway, since there is a new agp card for me, why not, since crossing over to pci-e means i have to change everything, even tot, i do have plan to jump to pci-e if someone offer a considerable price for my board and card.

But now since 7800GS agp is here, i might as well stay agp. U never know what happen in the future, is AM2 the last socket? I dun think so....since i only use X800XTPE for surfing and watching DVD, a agp setup is just fine with me.
simi end of singapore! My suggestion is back by solid figures ok! Its call risk investment and optimise that $ of yours.

You can be very sure that 7800GT AGP will be much more expensive compared to the PCIe. I'm estimating at least 10% higher than the average pricing of normal 7800GT, so it will start at high 500 to mid 600, est $59x - $6xx

So you spend 100 more on the gfx. Assume everything smooth, you use for another year, then u upgrade to a PCIe board and you will have to buy another PCIe board, assume you buy something of the same price range as the current 7800GT.. that will be another 500+ and you might nt be able to let go of your 7800GT AGP @ a good price if someone will to buy. Say you heng, you let go @ $400 1yr down. You buy a new PCIe gfx @ 500+, you already wasted 200+ in total and back to step 1.

Thus the logic of advising for going PCIe now. No point saving 10cent only to waste a $1 to correct the issues caused from saving 10cent.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
misato said:
simi end of singapore! My suggestion is back by solid figures ok! Its call risk investment and optimise that $ of yours.

You can be very sure that 7800GT AGP will be much more expensive compared to the PCIe. I'm estimating at least 10% higher than the average pricing of normal 7800GT, so it will start at high 500 to mid 600, est $59x - $6xx

So you spend 100 more on the gfx. Assume everything smooth, you use for another year, then u upgrade to a PCIe board and you will have to buy another PCIe board, assume you buy something of the same price range as the current 7800GT.. that will be another 500+ and you might nt be able to let go of your 7800GT AGP @ a good price if someone will to buy. Say you heng, you let go @ $400 1yr down. You buy a new PCIe gfx @ 500+, you already wasted 200+ in total and back to step 1.

Thus the logic of advising for going PCIe now. No point saving 10cent only to waste a $1 to correct the issues caused from saving 10cent.

Erm, im not saving, if i can afford it, why not? like i say, not everyone has the same thinking as you. U can enjoy your pci-e setup as much as you like.

To me, either i stay AGP now, then jump to AM2 or i jump to pci-e, then see how is AM2.
2 path for me to choose, as simple as that, dun need you to teach me what to do.

Thanks for your comments anyway.

Shinji_U

ragnarok95 said:
Erm....thats your thinking, not mine, if everyone follows the same thinking as you, thats it, end of singapore :s13:

Anyway, since there is a new agp card for me, why not, since crossing over to pci-e means i have to change everything, even tot, i do have plan to jump to pci-e if someone offer a considerable price for my board and card.

But now since 7800GS agp is here, i might as well stay agp. U never know what happen in the future, is AM2 the last socket? I dun think so....since i only use X800XTPE for surfing and watching DVD, a agp setup is just fine with me.

Errmm... 7800Gs will be the LAST AGP card to be ever produce IIIRC... so.... why buy something that is at the last of the burning candle?

You are better off saving up and changing to the PCIE platform which ensures you to have more upgradability in the future.

And yes we do not know what will happen in the future, but why then do you still stay in the past? AGP is already at its breathing end, and you still wanna "upgrade" to a AGP counter part? Furthermore its already known that the AGP version of 7800GS will be more expensive than the PCIE.

It will be better off for you to save more to change to the PCIE platform, else you'll be penalizing yourself from any future graphic upgrades down this year and while everyone changes to PCIE you are gonna have a hard time selling off your 7800GS AGP when prices ranging from CPU to mainboard to GFX starts dropping this year.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Shinji_U said:
Errmm... 7800Gs will be the LAST AGP card to be ever produce IIIRC... so.... why buy something that is at the last of the burning candle?

You are better off saving up and changing to the PCIE platform which ensures you to have more upgradability in the future.

And yes we do not know what will happen in the future, but why then do you still stay in the past? AGP is already at its breathing end, and you still wanna "upgrade" to a AGP counter part? Furthermore its already known that the AGP version of 7800GS will be more expensive than the PCIE.

It will be better off for you to save more to change to the PCIE platform, else you'll be penalizing yourself from any future graphic upgrades down this year and while everyone changes to PCIE you are gonna have a hard time selling off your 7800GS AGP when prices ranging from CPU to mainboard to GFX starts dropping this year.

Thats not a problem for me. 7800GS price i have to see how that BL guy is pushing. I dun mind 7800GS is the last high end agp card, at least im buying something that i like and not base on what future techs is. Moreover, technologies move so fast.

Pci-e i will jump, waiting for a few bros to give me good news ;)
So either im getting 7800GS agp or jump to 7800GT pci-e, even tot im more keen on the 7800GS agp than the 7800GT :)

misato

ragnarok95 said:
Thats not a problem for me. 7800GS price i have to see how that BL guy is pushing. I dun mind 7800GS is the last high end agp card, at least im buying something that i like and not base on what future techs is. Moreover, technologies move so fast.

So either im getting 7800GS agp or jump to 7800GT pci-e, even tot im more keen on the 7800GS agp than the 7800GT :)
no hard feeling dude.
Its just an advice. How you or others spend their money is not for me to say.

Shinji_U

ragnarok95 said:

Waiting to jump on PCIE?.... ehh... PCIE out so long liaoz.. and already proven... why wait?

Well, in the end its up to you, but if you ask me.. going for an AGP part isn't cost effective now where money is concerned.

Cause 7800GS AGP will be one money sucker, why, cause the rest of the PCIE cards with performance in that range is far cheaper, and PCIE is already mainstream now, selling it off will be rather hard later down the road.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
First of all, happy CNY to both of you here and thanks for your comments.

But IMO, 7800GS is a good card to end my play in AGP world. Of cos, like what Shinji_U say, price wise also play a part and i have to see how that BL guy is pushing for the price of the 7800GS agp. If the price is around the range of 529 to 549 like what he told me, i dun mind getting this card. Or else, i will consider to make the switch to PCI-E.
Problem been AM2 is almost here, i change to pci-e and if AM2 is good, i jump again, time wasting to sell all the stuffs. So i rather stay AGP now, then when AM2 is here, see how it goes and then jump straight to AM2.
If AM2 is not nice, then i jump to PCI-E.

Shinji_U

Happy CNY to you too!

If that is the case then don't buy 7800GS lor... save up the money till AM2 comes then one shot overhaul.

At the meantime lun lun abit lor.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
cannot la....the urgh is there...must cure it...whahahahahahaha :sad: :s34:

misato

ragnarok95 said:
cannot la....the urgh is there...must cure it...whahahahahahaha :sad: :s34:
the more you should buy more!

Scratch the itch today, so it can be itchy again tomorrow! :s13:

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
misato said:
the more you should buy more!

Scratch the itch today, so it can be itchy again tomorrow! :s13:

after this will be 2x1GB high performance rams whahahahahahhahah

hotspur_77

ragnarok95 said:
after this will be 2x1GB high performance rams whahahahahahhahah
no need 2 think...juz jump 2 PCI-E...happy with the price i quoted u?? ;)

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
hotspur_77 said:
no need 2 think...juz jump 2 PCI-E...happy with the price i quoted u?? ;)

Sure jump liao...how much is the MSI neo4- F??????

hotspur_77

ragnarok95 said:
Sure jump liao...how much is the MSI neo4- F??????
haven't check wif the supplier...scared kenna screw later...i'll give her a call 2morrow...btw it's defintely cheaper than wat u got outside...

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Ok good...wahahhahahahahahhahahahahahah

u the man hotspur....wahhahahahahahahhahahahah

elmariachi

run_2.jpg

GPU @ 695/800.
Guess i'll be much better off with a dual core but not gonna plunge for another intel. Sick of it. But i reckon a pretty good score for Single Core CPU.

misato

looks like ragnarok95 have to give up the AGP dream.. hear that potterhouse usually competitive pricing set the 7800GS AGP @ a high $67x, that makes it roughly $150 more than the cheapest 7800GT, which is about where i predicted the pricing would be.

So i guess we all be welcoming ragnarok95 to the PCIe wagon anytime soon.
Not to mention that hotspur_77 has given him a sweet deal he cant refuse. tsk tsk tsk

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
:sad:

After what i reply to you, hotspur kor kor told me abt the price, and once i got hold of the price of the 7800GS agp, my heart broke :sad:

So might as well go for pci-e :sad:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.