*Official* Challenger Technologies

jacklynchq

anyone can enlighten me on the difference between Challenger SGX and Challenger ASX? How come the price is so much difference?

SGX Challenger (573.SI) is $0.53
ASX Challenger (CGF.AX) is $8.37

livingcharsiew

anyone can enlighten me on the difference between Challenger SGX and Challenger ASX? How come the price is so much difference?

SGX Challenger (573.SI) is $0.53
ASX Challenger (CGF.AX) is $8.37

1 simple google can tell you the answer
even pepesaur knows

Challenger Limited is an investment management firm established in 1985 and listed on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX:CGF) in 1987. Challenger is focused on providing Australians with financial security for retirement.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Challenger posts 32% rise in FY2020 net profit to S$23m

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/co...er-posts-32-rise-in-fy2020-net-profit-to-s23m

CONSUMER electronics retailer Challenger Technologies posted a net profit of S$23.2 million for its financial year ended Dec 31, 2020, in results announced Monday. This indicates a 32 per cent increase from the year-ago period.

Meanwhile, its revenue fell 18 per cent year on year to S$270.8 million, on the back of a decline in IT products and services business segment.

The mainboard-listed firm said this was mainly attributable to the absence of a trade show, a weaker performance from corporate sales and retail operations due to the lockdown imposed during the circuit-breaker period, as well as the existing government restrictions and safety-management measures put in place amid the pandemic.

Its IT products and services business segment fell 17.5 per cent to S$267.4 million in FY2020, compared with S$324 million in FY2019.

Revenue from its electronic signage services business segment fell S$0.4 million, mainly due to the absence of audio and lightings retail contribution, compared to FY2019. Further, as data management and marketing projects were put on hold amid the pandemic, revenue from its telephonic call centre and data management services declined 36.7 per cent.

Nonetheless, Challenger's fall in revenue was offset by its higher profit after taxation. This was mainly due to the fall in premises expenses, thanks to rental waiver and rebates. The decrease in other expenses, such as for employee benefits, selling and distribution expenses, as well as depreciation expenses and inventories provision, also contributed to the higher profits.

Earnings per share stood at 6.73 Singapore cents for the full year, an increase from 5.11 Singapore cents in the year-ago period.

The board has recommended a final dividend of 2.70 Singapore cents for the period, an increase from 1.5 Singapore cents the previous year. The dividends will be paid on May 20, after books close on May 11.

"In view of the current evolving Covid-19 situation, the group will continue to exercise caution in managing overall business given various uncertainties at the macro level," said Challenger.

It added: "We will continue to improve on operational efficiencies and drive a greater e-commerce presence to mitigate any downside impact caused by the pandemic."

Shares of Challenger closed flat at S$0.48 on Monday, prior to the results announcement.

Shion

Senior Mentor

Dymon Asia to raise stake in Challenger to 14.9% for S$32.8m​

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/co...to-raise-stake-in-challenger-to-149-for-s328m
CHALLENGER Technologies' shares jumped on Wednesday (Oct 13) after it said Dymon Asia will spend S$32.8 million to raise its stake in the electronics retailer to 14.9 per cent from 1 per cent.

The move comes two years after a failed privatisation bid by Digileap Capital, a vehicle set up by Dymon and Challenger's controlling shareholders. In the new share deal, Digileap will subscribe for 56.6 million new shares at S$0.58 apiece.

The issue price represents a premium of 14 per cent to Challenger's volume-weighted average price of S$0.50 for trades done on Oct 12, the last full market day before the share subscription agreement was signed.

Shortly after the counter resumed trading on Wednesday afternoon, Challenger's shares advanced 12.9 per cent or S$0.065 to S$0.57 as at 1.33pm - just 1 cent shy of the share subscription price. Challenger's shares were trading 10.9 per cent or S$0.055 higher at S$0.56 as at 2.50pm.

The company had called for a trading halt on Wednesday morning before the market opened.

Challenger said it will use half of the net proceeds for strategic investments as well as mergers and acquisitions. The other half will be used for product and business development and business expansion.

Other than injecting funds into the company, Dymon, a Singapore-based fund manager, will work with Challenger on its growth strategies, the latter added.

In June 2019, some 11.36 per cent of Challenger's minority shareholders blocked an attempt by Digileap to take the company private at S$0.56 apiece, valuing the company at S$183 million at the time.

More than 10 per cent of shareholders had rejected the delisting and the exit offer eventually lapsed. As the delisting did not proceed, the controlling shareholders sold their stake in Digileap to Dymon Asia.

Digileap is 70 per cent owned by the Loo family, and 30 per cent by Dymon Asia Private Equity. Four members of the Loo family - including Challenger chief executive officer Loo Leong Thye - and Ng Leong Hai, together held 78.64 per cent of the total shares at the time. Ng is Challenger's second-largest shareholder, according to the company's 2020 annual report.

Earlier this year, a Dymon Asia fund, together with Penguin International's chairman and managing director, made a S$0.65 per share offer to take the builder and operator of aluminium high-speed craft private.

The consortium had intended to delist Penguin if it acquired a stake of over 90 per cent, but it held only 80.05 per cent together with its concert parties when the offer closed.

sohguanh

Today do stock take of my penny stock in CDP. Bought Challenger many many years ago at 20 cents. Now it is at 50+ cents. So do you think if I sell I make good profits? Not really as capital invested in this stock is stucked for so many years so divide even if I sell I not earning much.

Ppl always say a multi-bagger is 2x price but come on how about the years you hold them? Those are opportunity cost must count in correct?

ctan84

Today do stock take of my penny stock in CDP. Bought Challenger many many years ago at 20 cents. Now it is at 50+ cents. So do you think if I sell I make good profits? Not really as capital invested in this stock is stucked for so many years so divide even if I sell I not earning much.

Ppl always say a multi-bagger is 2x price but come on how about the years you hold them? Those are opportunity cost must count in correct?
What talking you uncle. If you bought it at 20 cents, your annual dividend yield alone is > 10% liao leh.

sohguanh

What talking you uncle. If you bought it at 20 cents, your annual dividend yield alone is > 10% liao leh.
Reason becuz this one earn but other stocks lose so if count all other stock overall still lose. I count put X dollars into say Y stocks and then I count the losers with winners and the maths come out still lose lor.

But if just this stock of cuz is win.

reddevil0728

Reason becuz this one earn but other stocks lose so if count all other stock overall still lose. I count put X dollars into say Y stocks and then I count the losers with winners and the maths come out still lose lor.

????

you were taking about this stock only Ma..

ctan84

Wah rao uncle, cannot like tat calculate one. At a 10% yield, the dividends you accumulated over more than a decade (since you bought at 20 cents) + the dividends you collected from both your losers and winners should have more than covered your total losses and still let you be profitable liao. Unless you sway sway most of your stocks give little to no dividends lah.

Shion

Senior Mentor

Challenger Technologies H2 net profit falls 40% despite higher revenue​

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/co...h2-net-profit-falls-40-despite-higher-revenue
MAINBOARD-LISTED Challenger Technologies reported on Friday (Feb 17) a 40 per cent decline in net profit for the second half, despite higher revenue.

The company said in a bourse filing that net profit for the six months ended Dec 31, 2022 fell to S$5.1 million, down from S$8.4 milliion in the year-ago period. On a per share basis, earnings fell to S$0.0126 in H2 FY22, down from S$0.0238 in H2 FY21.

A final cash dividend of S$0.0125 per share was proposed, down from the final dividend of S$0.028 per share in the year-ago period. The dividend is payable May 18, 2023.

For H2 2022, Challenger’s revenue rose 9 per cent to S$160.4 million, with information technology products and services revenue contributing to the increase.

Revenue for the full year was also up 3 per cent to S$291.4 million. Challenger noted that both retail and corporate sales rose during the year, and this increase came in line with the reopening of borders leading to tourism spending, as well as better spending sentiment among local consumers and small businesses.

However, net profit for the full year was down 44 per cent to S$9.9 million.

“The lower profit achieved was largely due to the fair value loss on investment, reduced Covid-related government wage supports and higher operating expenses incurred.,” Challenger said.

In terms of outlook, Challenger said both local consumer and tourist spending in Singapore are expected to continue rising as the world emerges from Covid-19.

However, it added “the group is cautiously optimistic” as inflationary pressure and the goods and services tax hike could potentially dampen consumer retail expenditure.

“The group will continue to focus on its core retail business, as well as ramping up e-commerce engagement by collaborating with e-commerce platforms, and enhancing its overall product range,” Challenger said.

“We will also continue to look for business opportunities, drive operational efficiencies and further strengthen our balance sheet.”

As at Dec 31, 2022, net asset value per share stood at S$0.40, unchanged from the previous year.

Challenger shares closed unchanged at S$0.52 on Friday, before the earnings announcement.

Shion

Senior Mentor

Challenger majority stakeholders make S$0.56 per share cash offer to privatise company​

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/co...-make-s056-share-cash-offer-privatise-company
MAJORITY shareholders of consumer electronics retailer Challenger Technologies : 573 0% have made a voluntary unconditional cash offer of S$0.56 per share to take the company private.

The offer is being made with a view to delist the company from the Singapore Exchange (SGX), as indicated by a bourse filing on Tuesday (May 30) afternoon.

The offeror, DigiTech Holding, is the bid vehicle of a consortium formed by Challenger’s majority shareholders that collectively hold around 54.4 per cent of the company’s shares. The consortium comprises Asia Consumer Electronics, a special purpose vehicle (SPV) linked to Dymon Asia Private Equity, and Fortuna Capital, an SPV wholly owned by Challenger chief executive Loo Leong Thye.

The rest of the Loo family holds a 10.4 per cent stake in the company.

At S$0.56 a share, the offer price represents a premium of 3.1 per cent over the volume weighted average price (VWAP) for the shares traded in Challenger over the past one month. It also represents a 4.5 per cent, 6.7 per cent and 5.9 per cent premium over VWAP per share for the three-month, six-month and 12-month periods, respectively.

The filing indicated that the trading volume of Challenger’s shares has remained low, with an average of about 94,335 shares being traded over the one-month period. This represents less than 0.03 per cent of the total number of issued shares for the same period.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Aiya sad

Dont have any share for them to buy back 😂

Challenger Technologies' chairman improves privatisation offer to 60 cents per share​

https://www.theedgesingapore.com/ne...n-improves-privatisation-offer-60-cents-share
Challenger Technologies' chairman Loo Leong Thye has improved the privatisation offer he made on May 30; minority shareholders are now being offered 60 cents to sell their Challenger shares to a vehicle named DigiTech Holding, according to a bourse filing on June 6.

The offer document, issued by United Overseas Bank (UOB) on behalf of DigiTech Holding, says the offeror does not intend to revise the final offer consideration.

The board of directors of the offeror comprises Loo and Tan Keng Soon (Keith), identified as the founding and managing partner of Dymon Asia Private Equity (Singapore).

Challenger's shares last traded at 55 cents on May 29, before trading was halted ahead of the offer announcement. Trading resumed on May 31.

As at June 6, persons acting or deemed to be acting in concert with the offeror collectively owned or controlled an aggregate of 260,178,374 shares, or 64.76% of the total number of shares. Apart from Loo, these shareholders include his spouse, Ong Sock Hwee; his daughter, Loo Pei Fen; his son, Loo Wei Kiat; and Digileap.

The highest closing price of the shares in the five-year period, prior to and including May 29, was 61 cents.

Out of the 928 market days when the shares were traded, the closing prices of the shares had not exceeded the final offer consideration on 920 market days.

Loo and Dymon made an offer back in 2019 at 56 cents, which was rejected by minority shareholders at an EGM. Currently, Dymon Asia already holds an indirect stake of 17.44% in Challenger. Loo and his family collectively hold another 47.32%.

Shares in Challenger closed flat at 58 cents on June 6.

sohguanh

Receive cdp letter anyone selling to offeror? This stock give quite good dividends over the years so I will not be selling despite my average buy in price is 20+ cents

sohguanh

Receive cdp letter anyone selling to offeror? This stock give quite good dividends over the years so I will not be selling despite my average buy in price is 20+ cents
Once again big players force us small-timer to sell and by compulsory acquisition. It is good dividends years while it last and although acquire price is way higher by my bought in price many years ago. Same as Amtek Engineering stock.

SGX stock really no protection for super small investors. We are subject to take over even if we do not agree. But that is life in SGX stock investment. I hope it does not happen to ETF which I started to accumulate this month.

Btw the Challenger acquisition monies haven't come in yet.

reddevil0728

Once again big players force us small-timer to sell and by compulsory acquisition. It is good dividends years while it last and although acquire price is way higher by my bought in price many years ago. Same as Amtek Engineering stock.

SGX stock really no protection for super small investors. We are subject to take over even if we do not agree. But that is life in SGX stock investment. I hope it does not happen to ETF which I started to accumulate this month.

Btw the Challenger acquisition monies haven't come in yet.
https://singaporelegaladvice.com/law-articles/oppression-of-minority-shareholders

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.