[Official cycling thread]

toRRez

hi. i got an offer of $450 for a merida matts sub 5. is it ok to buy it? or is it too ex?

rockdhop

i ride a mtb,and doesnt wants to turn slick.what tire should i look into for long on-road riding?

CubeFX

semi-slicks lo.:D

imo, it's not a good idea to get semi-slicks as it wears out pretty fast.

later go off-road ... not as good as knobbies

go road riding... not as good as full slicks

chinese saying called "两头不到岸"

stick to knobbies or full slicks better..

ludacris10

imo, it's not a good idea to get semi-slicks as it wears out pretty fast.

later go off-road ... not as good as knobbies

go road riding... not as good as full slicks

chinese saying called "两头不到岸"

stick to knobbies or full slicks better..

Lol i know but he say he dont want slicks and on-road riding. So i dunno what to give him =:p. TS maybe just use your current tires la?

bigbadber

Uncker is not familiar with bikes, just know simple stuff only, so have to ask u experts here.

when pple selling bikes, they state the size 24". i understand that its referring to the size of the wheel/rims/tyres.

but some other pple oso state the sizes like M, L. how to measure this M/L size?
they oso put the size as 19" or 20" or dunno wat...... this size of 19", where isit referring to? where is the measurement taken? can someone enlighten me pls?

Also, anybody know wats the selling price of a 2008 GT avalanche 2.0, disc brake mtb?

many thanks.

pew

Uncker is not familiar with bikes, just know simple stuff only, so have to ask u experts here.

when pple selling bikes, they state the size 24". i understand that its referring to the size of the wheel/rims/tyres.

but some other pple oso state the sizes like M, L. how to measure this M/L size?
they oso put the size as 19" or 20" or dunno wat...... this size of 19", where isit referring to? where is the measurement taken? can someone enlighten me pls?

Also, anybody know wats the selling price of a 2008 GT avalanche 2.0, disc brake mtb?

many thanks.
different manufacturer got different sizing, so for some, so if brand A M can fit you, brand B may not fit.

When they put size 19 or 20" they are referring to the C to T, which is the centre of the BB to the top of the Seat Tube. IMO not a good gauge of size (I also dun understand y they take that as a standard) look at the effective top tube length instead.

toRRez

toRRez: paste the specs and how old the bike is.

im not exactly sure how old the bike is. but the specs are as follow:

SPEEDS 21
FRAME Kalahari Matts DT
COLOR 1. orange /// 2. blue
FORK M2000S-6, 50 mm
DERAILLEURS-F/R Shimano TZ30 42, 31.8 / Sram ESP
DERAILLEUR(FRONT) Shimano TZ30 42, 31.8 mm
DERAILLEUR(REAR) Sram ESP
SHIFTERS-F/R Sram ESP 3.0 -3s / -7s
BRAKE LEVERS Alloy
BRAKES-F/R V-Brake Linear
CHAINWHEEL SR Suntour T102/PBG, 42/34/24T
HUBS-F/R Alloy QR
SPOKES Steel CP
RIMS Double Wall CNC, black
FREEWHEEL Shimano TZ07, 14-28T
TIRE-F/R CST C1348 2.1
H-B STEM A-head Forge, 17°
SADDLE Comfort
SEAT POST Steel, Ø27.2 mm
PEDALS PP

WuSangui

SPEEDS 21
FRAME Kalahari Matts DT
FORK M2000S-6, 50 mm
BRAKE LEVERS Alloy
HUBS-F/R Alloy QR
SPOKES Steel CP
TIRE-F/R CST C1348 2.1
SADDLE Comfort
PEDALS PP

not good enough for $450

pew

SPEEDS 21
FRAME Kalahari Matts DT
FORK M2000S-6, 50 mm
BRAKE LEVERS Alloy
HUBS-F/R Alloy QR
SPOKES Steel CP
TIRE-F/R CST C1348 2.1
SADDLE Comfort
PEDALS PP

sexpensive

qwerty_hippo

erm ask chiu all ar,

currently, my mtb the handling veri sensitive leh. as in like, when u attempt to jump over a hump or other kill of jump, the handlebar will nt be stable , then sumtimes when landin tt time, the front wheel will slant .

izzit due to the handlebar prob or stem prob?

tt time i try my frenz cannondale , i jump n land no prob leh. the handlebar wont becum unstable.

any idea which part i hav to change to make it less sensitive.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.