[Official cycling thread]

tremor

hi!

i just bought a Giant Iguana Disc today from Tay Cycle.... :(

very excited to start cycling! changed the pedals to clipless too.

hmm. but one question, i spend quite a lot on this bike....

but how to keep it safe? do i nid to buy like 2 U-locks when I go out?

sigh. i really dun wanna lose this bike... looking forward to joining you guys in cycling trips too!

also. any recommendation to any good and cheap locks ?

last but not least, i also nid ot look for tail lights.... hehe. any recommendations as well?
never ever ever park outside your house. Die die must store inside the house. At most go buy a hook and install it over our bed.

tremor

mtbkers. U guys joining the mtb carnival at tampines trail? Here!
Sounds fun man, who wants to go, dunno if I want to join the race, cos I am pretty new to trail riding.

My all mountain bike is not yet even complete, smelly smelly still need a secent wheelset.

ludacris10

haha tremor dunnid be good. Its just to see the mtb circle and have fun. I myself not that good :p.

tremor

haha tremor dunnid be good. Its just to see the mtb circle and have fun. I myself not that good :p.
but today i just fell twice at Bt Timah, i go too fast on downhill without adjusting my fork to full 140mm.

Now bleeding one both knees and elbow. Sigh, place too much faith on my fox talas without checking, I adjust travel to 120mm to travel to bt timah, then never fully turn to 140mm then start to chiong.

Outward_bounce

i dun think the travel of the fork travel make you fall.. but i would say most likely would be your body position too forward... i used to have that problem as well falling on the decent.. but until the guys in togoparts.com give me the advise needed and it improved my riding skills..

tremor

ya cos i used to the travel, then suddenly its different, then i never lean back enough.

Aligner

Anyone knows if any bicycle shop in Tampinese/Hougang/AMK area has reopened today? Thanks!

Ah_keong

Hi all, i have an old mtb, and was thinking of getting a new on-road bike so as to tour around singapore with a budget of $500..

I stay in woodlands and was adviced by my friend's brother on a non-suspension mtb.

in addition, i was recommended by my friend's brother this bike.

is it good? anyone has other recommendations for me?

gt-avalanche-3-v-08.jpg

Nordicstic

Hi all, i have an old mtb, and was thinking of getting a new on-road bike so as to tour around singapore with a budget of $500..

I stay in woodlands and was adviced by my friend's brother on a non-suspension mtb.

in addition, i was recommended by my friend's brother this bike.

is it good? anyone has other recommendations for me?

gt-avalanche-3-v-08.jpg

okay bike la. very common. not very light also. maybe if u have budget for GT, look at jamis?

vandajo

Hey

Went to a bike shop in bt timah, was quoted $450 for this bike with the following spec. Is it a gd buy? First time buying MTB. Thanks for advising.

9038.png

FRAME
Felt 26" Wheel MTB Design, 6061 PG Aluminum, Round Tapered Top Tube, 2D Dropout, A-Style Seatstay Design, Semi-Integrated Head Tube, Replaceable Derailleur Hanger, Rack & Fender Mounts, Basta-Lock V-Brake & Disc Brake Compatible.

FORK
Suntour XCF M2025 63mm travel, Pre-load Adj, Internal Spring, Alloy Crown, STKM Stanchions, Steel Lowers, Mini Boots

HEADSET
Semi-Integrated 1-1/8" Aheadset Steel Cups

STEM
One-Piece Melt-Forged Design, 1-1/8" Threadless Aluminum, 4-Bolt, 15 Degree Rise. Extensions: 13.5/15.5/17.5=90mm; 19.5/21.5=110mm

HANDLEBAR
MTB Design, Steel 30mm Rise, 25.4mm x 6 Degree Sweep Widths: 13.5-17.5=580mm; 19.5=600mm; 21.5=620mm

SHIFTERS
Shimano Altus ST-EF50 EZ-Fire Plus, 21 Speed

FRONT DERAILLEUR
Shimano C050 Dual Pull

REAR DERAILLEUR
Shimano Altus, Smart Cage 7/8 Speed, Direct Attachment

CRANKSET
SR/Suntour 3-Piece Crank, Melt-Forged Aluminum Arms, 48/38/28T Steel Rings. W/Chainguard, Lengths: 13.5-15.5=170mm; 17.5-21.5=175mm

BB SET
TH Cartridge Type, Cr-Mo Axle & Cup

FREEWHEEL
Sunrace Spin-On Freewheel, 7-Speed. 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 24, 34T

CHAIN:
KMC Z51 1/2 x 3/32 7-Speed Chain

BRAKE LEVERS
Included with Shifter

BRAKES:
Tektro 855-AL, V-Type Brake, Aluminum Melt-Forged Arms, Linear Spring, Dual Spring Adjust, 110mm Arm (Fender Compatible) with Custom (CEN) 60mm Pads and All-Black Hardware

SADDLE:
Felt "RXC" Comfort, Double-Density Base, 7mm Satin Steel Rails

SEAT POST
Alloy Micro-Adjust, 100% Black, 2014 Low-Profile Head & Extruded Rall Clamps, 27.2mm x 350mm

SEAT POST CLAMP
Felt Bolt-Type, Cold Forged + CNC, 6061 Aluminum, with Steel Barrel Nut Design, 31.8mm

F/HUB
Forged Aluminum, 3/8" Nutted Axle, 32H

R/HUB
Forged Aluminum, Spin-On Freewheel Type (7-Speed), Nutted Axle

RIMS
Doublewall Aluminum, 26 x 1.5 x 32H, Ground Sidewalls, Schraeder Valve, Black Anodized

TIRE
Kenda K-816, MTB Design, Rubber Sidewalls, without Hotpatch 26 x 2.1

SPOKES
Sandblast Black Stainless 14G, Brass Nipples

PEDALS
MTB Design Steel Cage / PP Body

tremor

u went bikehaus?

Bikehaus stuffs are not cheap. They do mostly ang mo business. Go elsewhere bu other bike better.

iam1e5

can consider 2nd hand bikes oso
some quite worth it if u dun mind its 2nd hand
:o

Alpha_Hippo

Hey

Went to a bike shop in bt timah, was quoted $450 for this bike with the following spec. Is it a gd buy? First time buying MTB. Thanks for advising.

9038.png

FRAME
Felt 26" Wheel MTB Design, 6061 PG Aluminum, Round Tapered Top Tube, 2D Dropout, A-Style Seatstay Design, Semi-Integrated Head Tube, Replaceable Derailleur Hanger, Rack & Fender Mounts, Basta-Lock V-Brake & Disc Brake Compatible.

FORK
Suntour XCF M2025 63mm travel, Pre-load Adj, Internal Spring, Alloy Crown, STKM Stanchions, Steel Lowers, Mini Boots

HEADSET
Semi-Integrated 1-1/8" Aheadset Steel Cups

STEM
One-Piece Melt-Forged Design, 1-1/8" Threadless Aluminum, 4-Bolt, 15 Degree Rise. Extensions: 13.5/15.5/17.5=90mm; 19.5/21.5=110mm

HANDLEBAR
MTB Design, Steel 30mm Rise, 25.4mm x 6 Degree Sweep Widths: 13.5-17.5=580mm; 19.5=600mm; 21.5=620mm

SHIFTERS
Shimano Altus ST-EF50 EZ-Fire Plus, 21 Speed

FRONT DERAILLEUR
Shimano C050 Dual Pull

REAR DERAILLEUR
Shimano Altus, Smart Cage 7/8 Speed, Direct Attachment

CRANKSET
SR/Suntour 3-Piece Crank, Melt-Forged Aluminum Arms, 48/38/28T Steel Rings. W/Chainguard, Lengths: 13.5-15.5=170mm; 17.5-21.5=175mm

BB SET
TH Cartridge Type, Cr-Mo Axle & Cup

FREEWHEEL
Sunrace Spin-On Freewheel, 7-Speed. 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 24, 34T

CHAIN:
KMC Z51 1/2 x 3/32 7-Speed Chain

BRAKE LEVERS
Included with Shifter

BRAKES:
Tektro 855-AL, V-Type Brake, Aluminum Melt-Forged Arms, Linear Spring, Dual Spring Adjust, 110mm Arm (Fender Compatible) with Custom (CEN) 60mm Pads and All-Black Hardware

SADDLE:
Felt "RXC" Comfort, Double-Density Base, 7mm Satin Steel Rails

SEAT POST
Alloy Micro-Adjust, 100% Black, 2014 Low-Profile Head & Extruded Rall Clamps, 27.2mm x 350mm

SEAT POST CLAMP
Felt Bolt-Type, Cold Forged + CNC, 6061 Aluminum, with Steel Barrel Nut Design, 31.8mm

F/HUB
Forged Aluminum, 3/8" Nutted Axle, 32H

R/HUB
Forged Aluminum, Spin-On Freewheel Type (7-Speed), Nutted Axle

RIMS
Doublewall Aluminum, 26 x 1.5 x 32H, Ground Sidewalls, Schraeder Valve, Black Anodized

TIRE
Kenda K-816, MTB Design, Rubber Sidewalls, without Hotpatch 26 x 2.1

SPOKES
Sandblast Black Stainless 14G, Brass Nipples

PEDALS
MTB Design Steel Cage / PP Body

specs are lousy. But then that what u get for the budget for a brand new bike.

Bodyslam

I am also looking for a new MTB(prefer hardtail), budget bwtn 300-450..have narrowed a few choices that fall within/slighty exceed my budget.

1. Polygon Astroz ($340)
2. Polygon Xtrada ($410)
3. Jamis Xtrail 2.0 ($410/2008, $458/2009)
4. Giant Boulder (estimate $480)

Currently, Astroz seems like the best choice as its cheapest, so the remainder of my budget can be used for installing front/back lights and stuff..

Anyone hv any opinion on the above-mentioned choices? Just not sure which would be the most value for money. Hope u guys can input yr knowledge so I can make the right choice :look:

Dounut

I am looking around at bikes with a tight budget. Not looking for some high end staff, just something basic & decent. I saw this bike, although this Raleigh M20 exceed my budget, it looks decent to me.

Please give me some advice if this is a good choice & if is worth the price of $300. Also where can I get it cheaper than $300?

RaleighM20.jpg

Bodyslam

Heard from bike shop staff mention the M20 has a common problem with its crank.. Think it will drop out or break easily..:o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.