[Official cycling thread]

tecnica

Oooo haha ok will try, thanks! :D Any idea how good the Panaracer Fire XC Pros are?
Panaracer Fire XC Pros sibei noisy on road... but ish quite grippy... :s22:

oh yah.. the ride is pretty bump too.. :s22:

nutZkcas

http://www.taycycle.com.sg/2008/bike_giant_anthem_2.shtml

http://www.taycycle.com.sg/2008/bike_giant_xtc_a0_d.shtml

Comparing between these 2 with a similar price bracket, the HT comes with LX, XT components and FOX F100 Fork and the bling bling of carbon seatstay for greater stiffness.
HT will offer greater peddling efficiency without the bob of the rear shock. And of cuz, the HT is alot lighter.

For the FS, it offers greater traction offroad (can afford to bash through more things without flying off ur bike) RP2 even with pro pedal on, it will still bob especially when meshing, so onroad will be slower especially climbing.

Hmm ... so back pain is not related to the choice of HT or FS frames itself, but the positioning of the rider ... A beginner like me could work on my skills better using the HT then ?

pew

Hmm ... so back pain is not related to the choice of HT or FS frames itself, but the positioning of the rider ... A beginner like me could work on my skills better using the HT then ?

yesh.........

lifesgood

Don't know if this will interest you guys..

There is a Mass Cycling cum Circuit Racing Event on the 8th June at Brickland Road.

More information is available on this webby www.yewteecc.org.sg

rockdhop

Maint for FS will probably be the rear shock and checking of the pivot points. Might require changing of the pivot bearings/bushings after a few years depending on your riding style.

thanks theo.how about pew and tecnica?any feedbacks regarding maintenance issue?

tecnica

thanks theo.how about pew and tecnica?any feedbacks regarding maintenance issue?
i not sure abt maintenance issue.. normally i will wipe my bike when i am back from a ride.. still learning also..

rockdhop

wud other feedback u want?

i heard many riders say its necessary to service your bike once every year or two.but then what to service exactly?

then can tell me what are the necessary to service and what are those that can bo chap one......

can share for full-sus as well as HT

rockdhop

Anybody where can get American classic MTB wheelset in sg? And the price??

price is 400.i was quoted in sep 2007,where i was told it's the 2008 model.erm...forget where is the bike shop.lemme recall,then tell you

Redpillbluepill

maintenance issue covers a lot of areas. Shocks, fd, rd, chain, cranks, brakes, pedals, and pretty much everything you can think of for a bike.
Generally, if you are out for a round or half island ride, it would be ideal to do a thorough check on the whole bike.
I usually take out the chain, degrease it and regrease. prepare a bucket of warm water and a piece of cloth for the wipe down. pressure air...either from a can or compressor. Car polish and buffer cloth for the shine, toothbrush, paintbrush, allen keys and tire shine for the basic clean up after a long ride.

Those that are serious about biking should always learn how to build a bike from scratch, I did 5 to 6 years ago and now I can even true a wheel...albeit a little slow...hehe.
Its like building a rig from scratch...its pretty fun and you'll get "poisoned" in the process...all the expensive stuff start draining your bank. Like those obermayer wheels...drool...

Anyway, its always good to have a few LBS that you visit on a regular basis, build a good relationship and learn a lot of stuff by camping there and watch how stuff are being done. And when you need some stuff, they will give you discounts and you always get pioritize ahead of the rest of the customers when the latest stuff arrives.

pew

so friggin ex...

rent it, take it for a round @ BT, very most 3 hours. $60 to really test the bike, ok mah. Better than buy liao, dun like, sell off lose even more money

rockdhop

so sian,SG got no lbs that offers DEMO.aiya sian la.

and the fella who used the word POISON,i suppose you must be from smbf hor!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.