[Official] EDMW Cycling Thread

pew

so sian,SG got no lbs that offers DEMO.aiya sian la.

and the fella who used the word POISON,i suppose you must be from smbf hor!

even ang mor country u also got to pay to demo the bike.

nutZkcas

Guys, my budget for my new bike droped from $2600 to $2000 ...

So I can no longer afford a XTC Alliance, but I would still like to get something that is of similar spec to the XTC Alliance ... Is there something like that ? I was thinking of VooDoo based bikes ...

Can anyone help out ?

Ore0_Cheescake V2.0

well i test rode the santa cruz heckler today for free. cant wait for december man, wohoo.. haha :D

nutZkcas, i think it will be better if u took the frame that u like and slowly build up. so ask urself, which would u like to be seen riding in, the xtc or voodoo. just my humble opnion. :D

nutZkcas

VooDoo looks underdog and funky ... XTC reeks professionalism all over ...

Well my budget dropped and so ... I had to give up the XTC Alliance ...
The VooDoo Sobo just looks so good ... but the XTC is just plain beautiful ...

HMM ... I think I'll head for a Sobo ... But who brings it in ? The frame ?

pew

VooDoo looks underdog and funky ... XTC reeks professionalism all over ...

Well my budget dropped and so ... I had to give up the XTC Alliance ...
The VooDoo Sobo just looks so good ... but the XTC is just plain beautiful ...

HMM ... I think I'll head for a Sobo ... But who brings it in ? The frame ?

gee hin chan distributes voodoo, but u can go to ur favourite lbs to get. sobo frame is not cheap. And they feel like coke can to me, it's those buang 1 time dent 1 time kind of frame. so unless u are going weight weenie, otherwise no point.

Maybe can build up the same specs as the alliance but using XTC team frame. (in fact XTC also flimsy, but better than scandium frame)Check with tay if they have such option for full bike (no point building cuz they will cost alot more)

WuSangui

price is 400.i was quoted in sep 2007,where i was told it's the 2008 model.erm...forget where is the bike shop.lemme recall,then tell you

Never mind liao. Now change my target.. Do u know which sg shop sells DT swiss 240 hub? Swiss valley shall have right? :D But besides that? Want to compare the price ma..

pew

Never mind liao. Now change my target.. Do u know which sg shop sells DT swiss 240 hub? Swiss valley shall have right? :D But besides that? Want to compare the price ma..

Ah boon lor, they are the disti for DT swiss.

pew

Shop Address : 482, Changi Rd S(419895) / 93, Lavender Street S(338720)
Telephone : 6445-4755 / 6392-2488 (Lavander)
Fax : 6445-4749 / 6294-2175 (Lavander)
Email : soonwatt@pacific.net.sg
Webpage : http://www.boonbike.com/
Opening Hours : Mondays to Saturdays: 11am - 7pm
Sundays: Closed

WuSangui

Shop Address : 482, Changi Rd S(419895) / 93, Lavender Street S(338720)
Telephone : 6445-4755 / 6392-2488 (Lavander)
Fax : 6445-4749 / 6294-2175 (Lavander)
Email : soonwatt@pacific.net.sg
Webpage : http://www.boonbike.com/
Opening Hours : Mondays to Saturdays: 11am - 7pm
Sundays: Closed

Wah.. The hub damm ex.. Just hub alone is $630. I was quote $900 plus for full wheelset..

Looks like I need to stick with Xero element XSM-1 liao.. :D I was quote $345, consider reasonable price??

pew

Wah.. The hub damm ex.. Just hub alone is $630. I was quote $900 plus for full wheelset..

Looks like I need to stick with Xero element XSM-1 liao.. :D I was quote $345, consider reasonable price??

Xero heavy lah.

XTR hubs are 300+ only, IIRC lighter than 240 and very smooth. Pair it with mavic 717 or Syncros DS23 with DT Comp Spokes. If u want very light, can pair with Sun equilizer, with DT revo spokes. If not can use XT hubs 100 over dollar only.

For ultimate smoothness, can try White industries, $500+ for hub

WuSangui

Xero heavy lah.

XTR hubs are 300+ only, IIRC lighter than 240 and very smooth. Pair it with mavic 717 or Syncros DS23 with DT Comp Spokes. If u want very light, can pair with Sun equilizer, with DT revo spokes. If not can use XT hubs 100 over dollar only.

For ultimate smoothness, can try White industries, $500+ for hub
DT swiss 240 hub is famous for its engagement, rapid acceleration plus very smooth too. Use liao, I think i can pedal faster.. but ho, the price!!

XTR hub got somebody say no good le.

Actually wanted to buy crossride cos alot say value for money but performance wise alot say so so...

WuSangui

hmm, how come nobody mention CK hubs ? pretty good ma, also in the 600 dolllars range. (rear only)

The review abt DT swiss 240 hub is so far very positive and many claim better than CK. Since same price, might as well i go for DT swiss 240...

Btw, where got sell white industries hub in sg?

pew

DT swiss 240 hub is famous for its engagement, rapid acceleration plus very smooth too. Use liao, I think i can pedal faster.. but ho, the price!!

XTR hub got somebody say no good le.

Actually wanted to buy crossride cos alot say value for money but performance wise alot say so so...

240 engagement lose out to XTR.

I 'downgraded' from hadley to XTR, lighter, smoother and easier to maintain.

Chris Kings are draggy, and I think the pair cost more than 600+

White industry is distributed by TR bikes, but u can get them at ur favourite bike shops

WuSangui

240 engagement lose out to XTR.

I 'downgraded' from hadley to XTR, lighter, smoother and easier to maintain.

Chris Kings are draggy, and I think the pair cost more than 600+

White industry is distributed by TR bikes, but u can get them at ur favourite bike shops

Like that.. hmmm... must review review again. Thks for yr info! :D

speedknight

just want to ask who ish going for the runway cycling? feel like going but if go alone very sianz.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.