[Official] EDMW Cycling Thread

Alpha_Hippo

I am also looking for a new MTB(prefer hardtail), budget bwtn 300-450..have narrowed a few choices that fall within/slighty exceed my budget.

1. Polygon Astroz ($340)
2. Polygon Xtrada ($410)
3. Jamis Xtrail 2.0 ($410/2008, $458/2009)
4. Giant Boulder (estimate $480)

Currently, Astroz seems like the best choice as its cheapest, so the remainder of my budget can be used for installing front/back lights and stuff..

Anyone hv any opinion on the above-mentioned choices? Just not sure which would be the most value for money. Hope u guys can input yr knowledge so I can make the right choice :look:

if u must, go for the jamis or giant. Polygon Astroz frame i dun know :o

Dounut

Heard from bike shop staff mention the M20 has a common problem with its crank.. Think it will drop out or break easily..:o

Can I change the crank easily & how much will it cost me? Any suggest of what other model options I can have in this range of bikes?

Mister Bart Sachs

The Polygon Astroz using a biaxial alloy frame.

Dounut: I am not sure too abt costs for crank replacement. As for other options, I am afraid might be only Aleoca bikes from Carrefour/Giant. How about Polygon Astroz ? Seems not bad..maybe I can get it below $300.

http://www.polygoncycle.com/detailbike.php?kode=26

simi si biaxial?

think better to get 8 speed, easier to find replacement parts and upgrades

also, the astroz has a horrendous paintjob. its hard to love a bike like that

SuperDecker

I am also looking for a new MTB(prefer hardtail), budget bwtn 300-450..have narrowed a few choices that fall within/slighty exceed my budget.

1. Polygon Astroz ($340)
2. Polygon Xtrada ($410)
3. Jamis Xtrail 2.0 ($410/2008, $458/2009)
4. Giant Boulder (estimate $480)

Currently, Astroz seems like the best choice as its cheapest, so the remainder of my budget can be used for installing front/back lights and stuff..

Anyone hv any opinion on the above-mentioned choices? Just not sure which would be the most value for money. Hope u guys can input yr knowledge so I can make the right choice :look:
Are you going offroad often? The Jamis Xtrail 2.0 2009 version the fork travel is only 60mm, gonna be a rough ride offroad. Otherwise, if going road riding often, i will opt for Jamis 2009 version since its already disc brake ready. I went for vbrakes initially and end up upgrading to disc brake and gotta change a new wheelset as its not compatible with disc brake.

Polygon i'm not sure hows the frame quality as i can't get any feedback from local biking community. It seems very few Polygon riders but there's alot of Polygon rental bikes at East Coast :D

Bodyslam

simi si biaxial?

think better to get 8 speed, easier to find replacement parts and upgrades

also, the astroz has a horrendous paintjob. its hard to love a bike like that

huh so bad ah ? Seems like quite ok in the pic. Haven't seen it face-to face..

Are you going offroad often? The Jamis Xtrail 2.0 2009 version the fork travel is only 60mm, gonna be a rough ride offroad. Otherwise, if going road riding often, i will opt for Jamis 2009 version since its already disc brake ready. I went for vbrakes initially and end up upgrading to disc brake and gotta change a new wheelset as its not compatible with disc brake.

Polygon i'm not sure hows the frame quality as i can't get any feedback from local biking community. It seems very few Polygon riders but there's alot of Polygon rental bikes at East Coast :D

Ya I will only do road/pavement/park riding like 2-3 times a week.. Off road not my cuppa tea. The lady at Hup Leong ask me to take the 08 Jamis Xtrail 3.0, which seems to exceed my budget and my riding ability. I am only tempted because of the matt black paintwork. The colors they bring in for 09 Jamis 2.0/3.0 is not appealing :o

Btw, Hup Leong is seems too far from my home. If need tuning/repair for the bike, means I hv to cycle all the way there ?? U guys purchase bikes from areas near yr place one right ?

Polygon is unappealing to local riders probably because its a Indonesian brand. IMO, I feel their bikes seem durable and quite value-for-money.

Alpha_Hippo

Ya I will only do road/pavement/park riding like 2-3 times a week.. Off road not my cuppa tea. The lady at Hup Leong ask me to take the 08 Jamis Xtrail 3.0, which seems to exceed my budget and my riding ability. I am only tempted because of the matt black paintwork. The colors they bring in for 09 Jamis 2.0/3.0 is not appealing :o

Btw, Hup Leong is seems too far from my home. If need tuning/repair for the bike, means I hv to cycle all the way there ?? U guys purchase bikes from areas near yr place one right ?

Polygon is unappealing to local riders probably because its a Indonesian brand. IMO, I feel their bikes seem durable and quite value-for-money.

u happy can liao.:o

Dounut

The Polygon Astroz using a biaxial alloy frame.

Dounut: I am not sure too abt costs for crank replacement. As for other options, I am afraid might be only Aleoca bikes from Carrefour/Giant. How about Polygon Astroz ? Seems not bad..maybe I can get it below $300.

http://www.polygoncycle.com/detailbike.php?kode=26

I saw the Aleoca bike AB2621 HA for $268 at Carrefour. I was thinking of getting that bike. After checking with the staff there, it seems like this bike can't really go off road, unless I change the tyres.

Anyway, this Aleoca AB 2621 HA bike has 21 Speed while Raleigh M20 only have 7 or 9 Speed, does it means Aleoca is a better version bike than Raleigh, cos it has more speeds? :s11:

Alpha_Hippo

I saw the Aleoca bike AB2621 HA for $268 at Carrefour. I was thinking of getting that bike. After checking with the staff there, it seems like this bike can't really go off road, unless I change the tyres.

Anyway, this Aleoca AB 2621 HA bike has 21 Speed while Raleigh M20 only have 7 or 9 Speed, does it means Aleoca is a better version bike than Raleigh, cos it has more speeds? :s11:

when ppl talk about 7 speed it means 21 gear aka speed in your term.

8 speed is 24 gear

9 speed is 27 gear

Front 3 gear, and the rear cassette is 7, 8 , 9. Lower end bike even come with 12 speed.

Dun go for 7 speed. Next time very hard for you to get spare parts and upgrade means changing the entire rear hub and involve rebuilding the spokes.

SuperDecker

Where u live bro? I bought my bike from one lbs, but upgrading n servicing in another lbs. Personally, i would prefer to get the correct bike first lor, servicing etc any lbs can do it for you for a fee but since u are mainly riding on road, there wouldn't be much and often servicing to do.

tremor

Thanks! I live around cck, any bike shops to recommend?
For your budget, go togoparts to find 2nd hand is the best. More value for money, then next time u ride a while liao wanna upgrade also can sell and dun lose so much money.

SuperDecker

Try Merida bikes if you wanna, i remember the 08 Matts 40-v was around $450. Visit chapter2cycle at AMK to check out their Merida bikes. 24spd with gd parts

Bodyslam

Where u live bro? I bought my bike from one lbs, but upgrading n servicing in another lbs. Personally, i would prefer to get the correct bike first lor, servicing etc any lbs can do it for you for a fee but since u are mainly riding on road, there wouldn't be much and often servicing to do.

I live AMK. Will prefer to buy from C2C too as its near my plc and their staff are friendly. Been there twice to look at their bikes liao but like only the Polygon Xtrada closer to my budget. Nvr really see the other bikes. Hmm i think i saw that Merida but didn't enquire abt the price. Is it blue/white/red type of paintwork ?

SuperDecker

I live AMK. Will prefer to buy from C2C too as its near my plc and their staff are friendly. Been there twice to look at their bikes liao but like only the Polygon Xtrada closer to my budget. Nvr really see the other bikes. Hmm i think i saw that Merida but didn't enquire abt the price. Is it blue/white/red type of paintwork ?
Yeah C2C is a good lbs. Check out the Merida model, specs and price before deciding lor

Dounut

when ppl talk about 7 speed it means 21 gear aka speed in your term.

8 speed is 24 gear

9 speed is 27 gear

Front 3 gear, and the rear cassette is 7, 8 , 9. Lower end bike even come with 12 speed.

Dun go for 7 speed. Next time very hard for you to get spare parts and upgrade means changing the entire rear hub and involve rebuilding the spokes.

Thanks for your information. It should be spending mostly on onroad, with maybe occassion offroad. Although I am not a beginner in cycling, I am just getting a bike to ride for fun with a budget of below $300, not sure if I will be serious with this sport. So, do you advice that I should go for at least a 8 speed bike? :s11:

I saw on TogoParts, these few bikes that is within my budget & look decent to me, what are your comments about them? And where can I find these bikes as I prefer to check them out physically:

Merida Merida Hardtail SUB 40-V, Jamis Ranger SX 2005, Raleigh M20, Hasa Comp 6.0, KHS alite 2000, Wheeler Proride08 & Wheeler 910 ZX. :s11:

Thanks

Alpha_Hippo

Thanks for your information. It should be spending mostly on onroad, with maybe occassion offroad. Although I am not a beginner in cycling, I am just getting a bike to ride for fun with a budget of below $300, not sure if I will be serious with this sport. So, do you advice that I should go for at least a 8 speed bike? :s11:

I saw on TogoParts, these few bikes that is within my budget & look decent to me, what are your comments about them? And where can I find these bikes as I prefer to check them out physically:

Merida Merida Hardtail SUB 40-V, Jamis Ranger SX 2005, Raleigh M20, Hasa Comp 6.0, KHS alite 2000, Wheeler Proride08 & Wheeler 910 ZX. :s11:

Thanks

if u can, go for 9 speed. save u the trouble of upgrading next time.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.