*Official* General Market Chit Chat Thread - Part 2

Peasant999

This thread got circuit breaker one, mai siao siao hor :s22:

Sent from Sony D5833 using GAGT

I hereby apologize that I was the main cause for the thread to be closed. I need to go for some anger management class.

Having said that, I lose my cool when someone starts mocking at Singaporeans who served NS by happily saying that NS is a benefit yada yada and flipped prata when I asked him whether he wants to serve NS anot.

Franzz

My blog? It is dead. Buried.

Suffered significant losses in Sembcorp and silverlake.

I am done with investing. Not touching stocks ever again.

Focus on other things in life.
Last time I in NS keep read your blog de, hope to replicate your returns.

Now I start investing you say you quitting

:(:(:(:(

Want to debate SG citizen vs PR someone create a thread in edmw then post link here ba. Otherwise the post here keep getting deleted also no point. It's a good topic tbh.

guiltysky

Last time I in NS keep read your blog de, hope to replicate your returns.

Now I start investing you say you quitting

:(:(:(:(

i second that.. i mainly started investing last year after reading through dividend warrior blog.

shock to hear that he is quitting for good... :eek:

limster

Lesson to learn is that individual stock picking cannot beat ETF in the long run. Eventually non-systemic risk can cause a stock pickers portfolio to blow up.

Another lesson to learn is the DWs last portfolio of only 6 stocks is way too concentrated and exposed to non-systemic risk. DW's previous portoflio where he overconcentrated on REITs was also risky but fortunately did not blow up and he exited profitably.

At best, individual stocks should be part of your 'satellite' portfolio while the core is ETFs. I also need to learn this lesson as I also like to buy individual stocks in addition to ETF.

bobbytkc

How to know whether this is normal cycle? The world leaders seldom announce the real bad news until it is impossible to contain, in the meantime they try all sorts of ways to avert them. If there is prolonged global earnings deterioration, most of the shares will plunge fast (like now as the people in the know get out) and then enter into a slow slide for years.

first of all, this downturn is not preceded by a economic recession. This is a financial downturn, primarily due to china's stock bubble burst middle of last year, and secondarily because the dramatic fall in oil prices caused oil companies and oil sovereigns to have a write down on the value of their assets. You don't need world leaders to tell you to see what is happening. Financial crises are not difficult to explain. Predicting when it will happen is the hard part.

thosai

Lesson to learn is that individual stock picking cannot beat ETF in the long run. Eventually non-systemic risk can cause a stock pickers portfolio to blow up.

Another lesson to learn is the DWs last portfolio of only 6 stocks is way too concentrated and exposed to non-systemic risk. DW's previous portoflio where he overconcentrated on REITs was also risky but fortunately did not blow up and he exited profitably.

At best, individual stocks should be part of your 'satellite' portfolio while the core is ETFs. I also need to learn this lesson as I also like to buy individual stocks in addition to ETF.

I am new to reits, I would like to ask what are the blow-up type of risks in holding reits long-term. Seem like from the start of this year, reits are still very stable. And some reits' DPU are consistent over the years.

Quote,
"Diversification is protection against ignorance. It makes very little sense for those who know what they're doing."

- The Oracle of Omaha Himself

It probably means DW didnt analyse the fundamentals enough to be tricked into buying Sembcorp although l personally would have concluded it was junk based solely on their high gearing level, and Silverlake based solely on their high earning multiple.

sandwicher

Hey DW, just to let you know you're one of the first few inspirations which pushed me into the world of investing. I'd believe things will ride out eventually. Don't give up hope!

Invest on! You've been an inspiration to many of us here too I'd reckon.

Thank you for everything!!
We missed you.

OngHuatHuat

I answer your this question here, why I chose not to invest in reits:

1. Short lease remaining on certain properties in reit.
2. If interest rate increases, pay out will be reduced.
3. Undesired properties may present in certain reit portfolio.

So must be very selective if you choose to invest in reits.

I am new to reits, I would like to ask what are the blow-up type of risks in holding reits long-term. Seem like from the start of this year, reits are still very stable. And some reits' DPU are consistent over the years.

lalalalalala

Recession mainly, no one rent due to low volume..

Others are disasters/fires etc on your reit.

Sent from OnePlus A0001 using GAGT

sandwicher

Quote,
"Diversification is protection against ignorance. It makes very little sense for those who know what they're doing."

- The Oracle of Omaha Himself

It probably means DW didnt analyse the fundamentals enough to be tricked into buying Sembcorp although l personally would have concluded it was junk based solely on their high gearing level, and Silverlake based solely on their high earning multiple.

Sembcorp had high gearing levels? When he bought sembcorp it wasn't. Only the recent events resulted in so

Darkzi0n

Wah really arh. U r one of my great source of inspiration years ago. Even now, I'm trying to follow ur footstep by saving diligently and building up my portfolio.

coloumbiaGames

Sembcorp had high gearing levels? When he bought sembcorp it wasn't. Only the recent events resulted in so

Sometimes a person luck plays a part I guess.

yihao93

If Sars come again u see reits plunge like no one biz

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.