can wifi based plugs work with Alexa?
i have 2 wifi enabled plugs which i use an app to turn on and off

shacboi

can wifi based plugs work with Alexa?
i have 2 wifi enabled plugs which i use an app to turn on and off

Go check out alexa skills... See if the brand of ur wifi plug is there. Need to enable the skill in alexa for it to work.

shacboi

some unknown brand i bought from taobao

the unknown brand is no brand at all or some weird name brand, haha.. tink u realli need to try allocate it in Alexa Skills, see can find or not, if not... mayb need trial-n-error, download maybe random smart plug skills, such as xiaomi skill and try "? :s22:

d3fc0n

any electrician to intro for pulling neutral wire for bto?

shacboi

I tink more lik tiongs dun lik alexa. Haha.. They got their own xiao ai dong xue.. ha

Most likely not compatible with Alexa
Alexa no like Tiongs
Best match is still the Belkin Wemo

shacboi

TP-Link smart plugs

But Belkin Wemo almost not available in SG. In the end I bought TP link.

been lookin ard, i think tp-link brand is quite good, see alot of IFTTT compatible with tp-link, so wun go wrong. :s22:

shacboi

ok thanks...

yea, i oso think cannot with alexa.

i think try buy something that they publicize can work with Alexa/Google-assistant, that's the level-up selling point for the smart plugs besides can be controlled by app.

xenocide

ya i bought 2 of those plugs. cos that time still does not have Echo Dot in mind
hahaha looking forward will take note if i need the device to be "voice activated"

shacboi

ya i bought 2 of those plugs. cos that time still does not have Echo Dot in mind
hahaha looking forward will take note if i need the device to be "voice activated"

i see, yea, if wanna upgrade with alexa then need to plan abit liao.

i oso nvr play wit alexa, onli experimenting with my rm pro earlier on. till a frd intro alexa, but lucky rm pro can work(with tweaks) with alexa in the first place. :s13:

xenocide

i see, yea, if wanna upgrade with alexa then need to plan abit liao.

i oso nvr play wit alexa, onli experimenting with my rm pro earlier on. till a frd intro alexa, but lucky rm pro can work(with tweaks) with alexa in the first place. :s13:

yeah thats how you got me excited about Alexa also
ahahaha else i'm still experimenting with RM Pro and probably gone to getting a Raspberry Pi to bridge with HomeKit in iOS

But Raspbian is too cheem for me to understand at the moment as it involves coding.

i wan something more plug n play straight forward.
(Thats what technology should be mah right? haha)

shacboi

yeah thats how you got me excited about Alexa also
ahahaha else i'm still experimenting with RM Pro and probably gone to getting a Raspberry Pi to bridge with HomeKit in iOS

But Raspbian is too cheem for me to understand at the moment as it involves coding.

i wan something more plug n play straight forward.
(Thats what technology should be mah right? haha)

hahaa, oh so we same-same... i oso not so technical to go into rasberry pi all these la, oso too chim to me.

i dun mind the trial-n-error with existing apps and plugs though. yea :s13:

youcantstopme

dwan

Actually you already answered it yourself.

Correction, smart plug works. The problem is the device itself.
Your fan has IR remote? If so, can consider IR blaster to turn it on.

home automation pros. i got a burning question i have to ask.

if i get a smart plug like this

http://www.belkin.com/us/F7C029-Belkin/p/P-F7C029;jsessionid=3B28361FD54FE7297C483233E4338576/

and i time it to switch on my fan at 7pm.

however my fan needs to manually press a button to switch it on.

does that mean the smart plug wont work.

and am i correct to say that the smart plug will only work for devices that do not require a manual press to switch on.

shacboi

however my fan needs to manually press a button to switch it on.

does that mean the smart plug wont work.

and am i correct to say that the smart plug will only work for devices that do not require a manual press to switch on.

the fan manual button can be pressed and leave it on kind? the old type ? or just digital....

if those mechnical button u jus leave it on, command ur smart plug n then it works when on.

but if urs is on power, den the digital switch need to select, cannot rembr the last setting, den i tink no choice liao, unless u have remote for it, mayb can integrate wit rm pro or sumthing. :s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.