[Official] iPhone 7 (Plus) Discussions

athenodorus

Yup. The adaptor has a dac built in. Hopefully, there will be third party adaptors with better dac soon. Good for those audiophiles who have always wanted to use their own dac and amp.

Good for people who don't need high end audio also. Apple can keep the price of iPhone low and those who want better quality audio can pick and choose what dac they want.

so the stock adapter doesn't have better dac? and if so, is there already a better adapter available?

i don't have golden ears, to me, i used the stock adapter + my personal earphones and the music sounded not bad.

-nzy90

so the stock adapter doesn't have better dac? and if so, is there already a better adapter available?

i don't have golden ears, to me, i used the stock adapter + my personal earphones and the music sounded not bad.
The dac on the adaptor is different from the one in the phone powering the speakers. Don't know whether it's better or worse.

I think those who benefit from a better dac would be this people using high end headphones. For normal headphones or the stock earphones, I don't think the difference in DACs would be that noticeable.

-nzy90

i get e point of iris scanner for doors or gates but on a phone after unlocking with iris u still need to use ur fingers to interact with e device right? unless u can use ur eyes to interact with e device? i'm just trying to think of a logical use case...
People who work in an area where they always wear gloves it have their hands wet? My fishmonger uses note 7 and he uses the iris scanner. People whose fingers just cannot be detected by fingerprint scanners. My wife's fingers cannot work with most fingerprint scanners. On my note 7 or iPhone 7+, she always needs to try like 4-5 times then can unlock.

szeli

People who work in an area where they always wear gloves it have their hands wet? My fishmonger uses note 7 and he uses the iris scanner.

ok hands r wet. but after unlock he still needs to take off e gloves to use e phone right? unless his gloves r capacitive or he only wants to unlock e phone but not to use it :s22:

People whose fingers just cannot be detected by fingerprint scanners. My wife's fingers cannot work with most fingerprint scanners. On my note 7 or iPhone 7+, she always needs to try like 4-5 times then can unlock.

cannot be detected is an easy problem to fix. most of e time its cos e fingers r too dry. i used to have that issue too. time to load up on that moisturizer, or change e products used to wash yr hands...

athenodorus

The dac on the adaptor is different from the one in the phone powering the speakers. Don't know whether it's better or worse.

I think those who benefit from a better dac would be this people using high end headphones. For normal headphones or the stock earphones, I don't think the difference in DACs would be that noticeable.

i see. hope more info can be furnished to support the comments on poorer sound quality via the adapter made by some users.

glad that i didn't notice any drop in the sound quality when using my personal earphone.

-nzy90

ok hands r wet. but after unlock he still needs to take off e gloves to use e phone right? unless his gloves r capacitive or he only wants to unlock e phone but not to use it :s22:

cannot be detected is an easy problem to fix. most of e time its cos e fingers r too dry. i used to have that issue too. time to load up on that moisturizer, or change e products used to wash yr hands...
Wet hands use spen. The spen works even when screen is wet.

Try before already. Her fingers just can't work with the finger print scanners. Even ICA ones also fail. Lol.

-nzy90

i see. hope more info can be furnished to support the comments on poorer sound quality via the adapter made by some users.

glad that i didn't notice any drop in the sound quality when using my personal earphone.
For me, I notice the SQ using my CIEMs with adaptor on my 7+ is worse than from my 6s+.

tjrsasea

cannot be detected is a easy problem to fix. most of e time its cos e fingers r too dry. i used to have that issue too. time to load up on that moisturizer, or change e products used to wash yr hands...

One word. Security. Iris scanner is way more secure than fingerprints. Samsung is upping its security game so people in govt sectors/security personnel can use it. Makes samsung pay/accessing intelligence more secure. You leave fingerprints around but you dont leave iris prints around. May not always apply to end users but it works and always good to have.

Btw, people say android features are useless. How bout fast charging eh? I can just charge 30 mins and the battery percentage can increase 45-55%. Charge iphones 30 mins battery percentage only rise abit lol. 😂

tjrsasea

Sometimes I feel damn sian lol.. come iphone thread help you guys with questions and shared about my unbiased views about both the android side as well as ios side cos people ask about it.. In the end kena bashed by some ignorant people.

Things are so much more peaceful on the android threads.. if people ask about ios stuff and I answer them most people will usually contribute their opinions and not anyhow bash people lol.. even if I say ios is way more optimised than android cos its the truth. Here I say truth still got bashed hais.. Idk man.. sorry to say but some people really isheeps much?

szeli

Sometimes I feel damn sian lol.. come iphone thread help you guys with questions and shared about my unbiased views about both the android side as well as ios side cos people ask about it.. In the end kena bashed by some ignorant people.

Things are so much more peaceful on the android threads.. if people ask about ios stuff and I answer them most people will usually contribute their opinions and not anyhow bash people lol.. even if I say ios is way more optimised than android cos its the truth. Here I say truth still got bashed hais.. Idk man.. sorry to say but some people really isheeps much?

who is bashing u here? :s22:

dawntime

The iris scanner implementation is a joke...

android users and their "we-have-it-first" jibes are so stale nowadays. take note 7 for a start, being there first may burn u.

anyway when is super mario on iOS coming out huh?

athenodorus

pls lor. peaceful over at android threads? u trying to deceive who? if someone were to go there and praised about iphone and how good it is, u see how they react.

either side also same one la. there will always be ppl defending for their preferred system.

oh if u think u got bashed, that's probably because u failed to acknowledge each system's flaws. u can keep praising iris scanner is useful, better security bla bla bla, but u also need to acknowledge the implementation is not so practical (home button+swipe den scan?). when u do that, that's what is called unbiased view.

dawntime

He got it!

i get e point of iris scanner for doors or gates but on a phone after unlocking with iris u still need to use ur fingers to interact with e device right? unless u can use ur eyes to interact with e device? i'm just trying to think of a logical use case...

dawntime

Try unlocking your phone with your fingerprint on a cloth.

One word. Security. Iris scanner is way more secure than fingerprints. Samsung is upping its security game so people in govt sectors/security personnel can use it. Makes samsung pay/accessing intelligence more secure. You leave fingerprints around but you dont leave iris prints around. May not always apply to end users but it works and always good to have.

Btw, people say android features are useless. How bout fast charging eh? I can just charge 30 mins and the battery percentage can increase 45-55%. Charge iphones 30 mins battery percentage only rise abit lol. 😂

dawntime

Posted before already. On iPhone I foresee it utilizing Raise to Wake and just look into the scanner. Swipe ah Samsung swipe. This is what differentiates iOS and android... it's not about the feature's presence, more of how the feature is implemented. I cannot emphasize this enough.

athenodorus

Posted before already. On iPhone I foresee it utilizing Raise to Wake and just look into the scanner. Swipe ah Samsung swipe. This is what differentiates iOS and android... it's not about the feature's presence, more of how the feature is implemented. I cannot emphasize this enough.

that's right. raise to wake+ iris scan makes more practical sense.

-nzy90

Raise to wake with the iris scanner is good. Using it now.

I have both android and iPhone. Both sides do things differently. Android side, many features but some not implemented well. But the good thing is, you can usually find an app to do whaf you want. Just like the raise to wake with the iris scanner. Not available by default but you can get it if you want.

iOS on the other hand, everything works well out of the box. But if you want anything additional, or different, not as customisable as android. The good thing about iOS is that it just works and no tweaking required. But if you want to tweak, also cannot.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.