*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

foursea

Noob qn..where to find out the dates of XD?

Also, when will the following information be disclosed: date of distribution, distribution amount

TIA!

date of xd need to wait for annoucement. So on the amount.
For past record, many source. Online brokerage, handphone apps, sgxcafe (which many SSI warriors using)

lbs

what makes buying CDG attractive at 2.45 vs 2.5? you guys dump your whole life savings into CDG? :s11:

Perisher

High income is still very important.

One of the company which I audited....the CFO earning 20k per month. Then 6 months bonus....that month he can change a brand new car. :s22:

Hannor, but you know some of this big earner are also big spender, when they tio retrench or hospitalise or what, then their world came crashing down as they are not able to adapt to a lower standard of life.

lewissac

Bobian, results coming out also and today already red, maybe last chance idk though :(

And just keep for long term so my hand not itchy to go dark side.

CMT one should be ok ba if pricey abit. As long as dont over-valued alot. For a blue-chip, buy this for dividend is shiok shiok liao. :)

lbs

Bobian, results coming out also and today already red, maybe last chance idk though :(

And just keep for long term so my hand not itchy to go dark side.

even the simplest of all valuation, which is by book value, will already tell you that 1.98 is not cheap.

although long term wise, i doubt you will lose money, but you may want to reflect on one's impatience. I definitely have on multiple occasions... taking a position, averaging down, etc.

patience is really a virtue.

iiGoldfish

Well, thing is I dont have enough capital to make buying bank stocks more efficiently, can only afford 200/300 units and if I wanna sell is hope that they can only go much higher since commission fees are a pain in the ass. And I am kind of looking more towards holding for dividends too, no idea if banks will be better in this situation. I am also rather new so will like to get some advice too. I do feel that I am learning much more here! :)

iiGoldfish

even the simplest of all valuation, which is by book value, will already tell you that 1.98 is not cheap.

although long term wise, i doubt you will lose money, but you may want to reflect on one's impatience. I definitely have on multiple occasions... taking a position, averaging down, etc.

I understand your POV but I think the book value at which I bought is still reasonable enough, I am not intending to FIFO but more of holding long term. But yeah I guess I will have to control my impatience, and I rather make my money work a little than to sit still and wait for riskier counters or not do anything and just collect miserable interest.

SeVenn

Time in the market > timing the market.

1.98 is not cheap, but not horribly overpriced either. But then again, that depends on whether you see STI 2500, 3000 or 3500 as the norm.

Better than those forever sitting at the sidelines waiting for 1x book, then shift to 0.9x book, then shift to 0.8x book etc.

limjq44

Well, thing is I dont have enough capital to make buying bank stocks more efficiently, can only afford 200/300 units and if I wanna sell is hope that they can only go much higher since commission fees are a pain in the ass. And I am kind of looking more towards holding for dividends too, no idea if banks will be better in this situation. I am also rather new so will like to get some advice too. I do feel that I am learning much more here! :)

I got DBS previously but let it go already, even though now shoot up like no tomorrow, I'll wait till trump sits in and see what happens. If it's meant to go up, I'll enter again :) Yes, I do not have large capital like you too, I bought 300 units of DBS that time but sold all, little profit better than no profit. Meant to earn this much means meant to earn this much. If you are looking towards div, I think you'll need high capital too to earn fast.. just my 2 bahts haha

lewissac

I understand your POV but I think the book value at which I bought is still reasonable enough, I am not intending to FIFO but more of holding long term. But yeah I guess I will have to control my impatience, and I rather make my money work a little than to sit still and wait for riskier counters or not do anything and just collect miserable interest.

No worry, there's still undervalued/potential company waiting to be picked; though higher risk.

lbs

Time in the market > timing the market.

1.98 is not cheap, but not horribly overpriced either. But then again, that depends on whether you see STI 2500, 3000 or 3500 as the norm.

Better than those forever sitting at the sidelines waiting for 1x book, then shift to 0.9x book, then shift to 0.8x book etc.
this is not timing the market

this is acting on your valuation, in other words, self discipline. Heck... a lot of people here don't even have a valuation in mind, no target price to buy/sell etc.

but yea.. 1.98 won't hurt you in the long run..

iiGoldfish

I got play a bit of penny before this but realised it wasnt't meant for me. And when DBS <15 for a while I sat on sidelines, now smell smoke. So that was one thing I learnt too. But as mentioned the other undervalued companies are risky but I will slowly do some research on them.

Still remembered ML shout REITs but I stuck with Jumbo..

SeVenn

this is not timing the market

this is acting on your valuation, in other words, self discipline. Heck... a lot of people here don't even have a valuation in mind, no target price to buy/sell etc.

but yea.. 1.98 won't hurt you in the long run..

CMT book value is 1.87. How confident are you that it will drop back there within the next 3 months, 6 months or even a year?

You can have as nice a TP to enter as you want. Whether or not the market ever goes there is another question. Someone who missed the boat by aiming 0.8x book will now be forced to take it at a higher valuation or not invest at all.

There are lower quality assets trading below book value, but are those the kind of assets you want to own? That is a question each investor has to answer for himself.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.