*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

starfish.starfish

Thanks guys, it was just a realization check for me that I cannot challenge my boss too often, need to lie low at work since I cannot retire in a while...:o
Recently too "fiery" at work le...:eek:

Nowadays, many REITs offer >6% yield......so the capital required is around $560k if the portfolio is REIT-heavy

Let's bro starfish saves $30k per year, that will take 18-19 years...still achievable :s12:

Aim low first lor.

Dk has 1.6k per mnth. For us, still a long way to go

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

Well, you have slim chance of retiring early if you can't cut spending. The alternative is to increase your income and find investment that generate higher yield

to survive. I probably need 800 minimum. Now only 70/mnth. GG

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

This was my starting pay as a fresh grad 10yrs ago! I think you try to upgrade yourself and you should be able to get to that quite easily. But when your eventually reach there, your expenditure/lifestyle will surely increase as well. :s13:

Retireready

I like it when market red 😂. Plan to sell some of my starhill and board CDG when it rebounds abit. Telcos boarded in November Liao, cheap enough back then. Thank you for your CCT combo meal! 👍

Market red red
If deep pull back
Reits and telcos ok to board

lbs

while CCT's results look good.. i think today is going to be very bearish.

leyzzz

Telecommunications – Singapore
To Share Or Not To Share?

M1 and StarHub will be commencing studies on the sharing of network infrastructure, such as base stations and backhaul transmission. We believe the likelihood of the two companies collaborating is high, given that they share common equipment vendors, namely Huawei and Nokia.
We have upgraded M1 (Target: S$2.50) and StarHub (Target: S$3.55) to BUYs, assuming network sharing reduces mobile-related capex and 5G-related opex by 25% starting 2019. Upgrade to OVERWEIGHT.

https://research.uobkayhian.com/content_download.jsp?id=37618&h=d7ea7cb6398ac7cd568a1dcdb7cdf5e7

SeVenn

CCT cheong alone in a sea of red. Time to pick up other REITs before results?

yihao93

Hehehe.....I got a poly graduate clone working for me :o

But 40 year-old got $1.6k passive income not that spectacular lah......

AK is even more satki...:s13:
Raise stock market clone better then raise kids

Genosis

Raise stock market clone better then raise kids

This is subjective.....some people have strong maternal instincts, so they see more value in settling down and raising kids :s13::D

No right or wrong, as long as they are happy with the life choice they made can liao :s12:

goh6570

This is subjective.....some people have strong maternal instincts, so they see more value in settling down and raising kids :s13::D

No right or wrong, as long as they are happy with the life choice they made can liao :s12:

absolutely agree..
as long they are happy with the choice they make in life...:s12:

MasterLeong

'Moody's Investors Service says Singapore’s three largest banks are poised to weather further weakening in asset quality and continued downward pressure on profitability in 2017.

In addition, Moody’s believes DBS Bank, Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation and United Overseas Bank will continue to be lifted by strong government support.

"Declining asset quality and profitability for the three large Singapore banks contributed to the recent downgrades of their standalone credit assessments to a1 from aa3, but as we expect further headwinds to be manageable, we do not envisage further downgrades over the next 12-18 months," says Simon Chen, a Moody's vice president and senior analyst.

"Problem loans will increase in 2017, but new problem loan formation – primarily from the embattled oil services sector – will slow from the peak levels observed in 2016," adds Chen.

However, Moody’s notes that the deterioration in the banks' regional loan quality is likely to remain mild as the banks remain cautious on business growth amid continued macroeconomic headwinds.

Meanwhile, elevated credit costs and slower loan growth will see continued downside risks on profitability over the next few quarters, according to Moody’s.

The Singapore banks, though, are less exposed to market volatility and refinancing risks as they exhibit a low reliance on market funding, relative to highly rated global peers.

Moody's further notes that the Singapore government's support for senior creditors will remain strong despite moves towards regulatory bail-in.

Unlike regulations in the US and EU, Moody’s says the scope of bail-in is likely to be limited in Singapore.

The Monetary Authority of Singapore's current proposal to introduce a bank resolution and bail-in regime excludes all existing and prospective senior debt, customer deposits and interbank liabilities.

In addition, Moody’s says Singapore's fiscal buffers have not been affected by the downturn in growth and remain more robust than those of other Aaa-rated peers.'

Genosis

Ya.....he is on another level in terms of pure capital power:s22:

But we can still learn a few lessons from his successful investment journey... start investing as early as possible with as much capital as possible, then make use of the magic of letting your dividends compound over a long time:s12:

lewissac

From OCBC Market Pulse

CapitaLand Commercial Trust: Boost from higher stake in CapitaGreen

CCT’s 4Q16 distributable income increased 10.1% YoY mainly due to increased contributions from the Trust’s higher stake in CapitaGreen. The trust reported an estimated DPU for the quarter of 2.39 S-cents which similarly grew 10.1% YoY and as a result, FY16 DPU now cumulates to 9.08 S-cents – up 5.3% YoY. Based on CCT’s last closing price of S$1.565, this translates to a distribution yield of 5.8%. In terms of the topline, 4Q16 gross revenues and net property income increased 32.7% and 35.4% to S$89.7m and S$70.8m, respectively, again primarily due to the Trust’s increased stake in CapitaGreen (now at 100% after the completion of the stake acquisition in Aug 2016). We deem these results to be mostly within expectations and note that 2H16 DPU (CCT pays its distributable income semi-annually) is expected to be paid on 27 Feb 2017. We update our valuation models for firmer rental assumptions over FY18-19 and potential accretions gains from the GSCP redevelopment and our fair value estimate increases to S$1.53 from S$1.39.

Maintain HOLD with fair value estimate increasing to S$1.53. (Eli Lee)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.