SSI good for chit chat

investing note good for serious trading ideas sharing

both good in their own ways

I use both, I nowadays only focus on this thread and investing note

sgxcafe and blogger, i no longer use

RiceGrain

My dad has been losing quite a lot of money in sgx market.
His trading strategy is to buy s-chip and hold. Needlessly to say, its a bad trading strategy; many of his stocks has been delisted. Occasionally, he lose money in genting sp, tigerair etc.
In summary, he isnt a good investor.

However, he has 50k share in Poh Tiong Choon Logistics Ltd (P01.SI) which he bought years ago. Presuming he bought before 2010, it was priced $0.2 back then and now $1.39. It rose sharply on sep2016, which is odd.

Based on my research, the company have good fundamental, there's potential for further growth. But I think that getting blue chip is better for his style of investment.

I feel that cashing out now and invest in a stable blue chip is a wise choice, but I dont want to make a bad investment decision. Any sifu can advise on this stock?

lbs

His trading strategy is to buy s-chip and hold. Needlessly to say, its a bad trading strategy; many of his stocks has been delisted. Occasionally, he lose money in genting sp, tigerair etc.

However, he has 50k share in Poh Tiong Choon Logistics Ltd (P01.SI) which he bought years ago. Presuming he bought before 2010, it was priced $0.2 back then and now $1.39. It rose sharply on sep2016, which is odd.

Based on my research, the company have good fundamental, there's potential for further growth. But I think that getting blue chip is better for his style of investment.

I feel that cashing out now and invest in a stable blue chip is a wise choice, but I dont want to make a bad investment decision. Any sifu can advise on this stock?

what is good fundamental?
no stocks can be held forever. constant monitoring every quarter is necessary.

lbs

quick look at sgxcafe profile and yahoo finance indicate the balance sheet of this company isn't as solid as you might think, although the earnings is okay.

i will do a return on capital analysis (take net income, divided by equity + all debt) over the years. look at the cashflow over the years.... no business deserve to have its share price increase so much unless it has been neglected for years.

MasterLeong

first of the most important thing, how old is your dad? i assume he is 50 or older

therefore he is on the stage of retiring

for a retiree, strictly NO S CHIP, NO PENNY

take the sti 3000 rally as a good chance to reset his portfolio... sell all the pennies... then focus on helping him buy DIVIDEND BLUE CHIPS ONLY FOR RETIREMENT

example

CMT CCT - dividends 5-6%
SINGTEL STARHUB - dividends 4-5%
DBS OCBC - growth + some dividends 3%
CDG THAIBEV - growth + some dividends 3%

a simpler portfolio is just

50% STI ETF, 50% SSB for retirement

cheers

MasterLeong

if u age 20-30, wanna go aggressive a bit, 20-50% of portfolio in small caps like hock lian seng, ISO team its fine... higher risk higher returns

but if u semi retired or retired or going to retire, you cannot afford to put money on small caps as your want to
1) preserve capital
2) make a stable but reasonable return of say 5-10%

MasterLeong

for me I am only mid 30s but I invest like I am age 40-50
as i do not have a day job
my side income is unstable
I cannot afford to lose my 300k stock portfolio
I want dividend income to cover my monthly expenses of 1k

bobbytkc

What do you mean by good fundamentals?

This is a highly leveraged stock by the way, its growth is fueled by cheap loans. I will sell now that you have made profit.

Its fundamentals indicate it is either fairly valued or overvalued.

Enterprise Multiple:8.66
Price to book: 3.51
P/E: 21.06

The company is doing pretty good business. Its return on assets is about 10% which means the underlying business is good. But the warning sign is the following:

Current Ratio:0.48
Debt/Equity: 93.69

So when the going is good, the company is fine. But when it is bad, there is a high chance the company will not be able to pay its debts, and wipe out your gains. A current ratio less than one means that the company does not even have enough liquid assets right now to cover a single year's liabilities, so basically, when the market hits a downturn, the company is at risk on defaulting on its payments. The optimal current ratio is around 1.5, so 0.48 is considered low.

I will suggest your dad sell and keep his profits rather than take the risk.

MasterLeong

Wow the gearing is so high
As debt is as much as equity
Super red flag

On average property developers in sg have around 50% debt to equity
Bench mark is capitaland

lewissac

M1 now at 2.00. it shld go below 2 anytime soon. Should I hoot? :s7:
I see so many happening in M1 after they announce the dividend. :look:

[M]aiev

for me I am only mid 30s but I invest like I am age 40-50
as i do not have a day job
my side income is unstable
I cannot afford to lose my 300k stock portfolio
I want dividend income to cover my monthly expenses of 1k

Anything goes wrong can go Cuppage Plaza or Changi liao rah. Be prepared to bear the pain for kar ching lor

:o

MasterLeong

The current ratio so low also super big red flag
Current ratio shows the ability of company to meet debt

Half liquid assets to meet 1 full liability is bad
At minium need a current ratio of 1

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.