[[ Official Oct 2024 BTO ]]

8zaoyu

No, when you apply under owner-occupier for BTO, only one person is the OWNER, the other is an OCCUPIER. So when the OCCUPIER buys a private property solely in their name, they DO NOT NEED to pay ABSD, since they DO NOT OWN the BTO.

The HDB officer confirmed whatever I said at my first down payment appointment for my BTO JUST THIS YEAR. They said yes, NO ABSD for occupier. The downside is that we cannot use my (I'm the occupier) CPF for the BTO, and the grants will be halved. Household income ceiling is still $14k and takes into account BOTH incomes, but loan amount is only based on my husband's income (the owner).

Also, no it is not illegal, unlike the 99 to 1 nonsense. We literally asked the HDB officers to confirm that we won't have ABSD if I (the occupier) buys a private property in future after MOP, and we plan to hold BOTH our BTO (under husband's name) and the private property (under my name) after MOP. Reason is in case we divorce, we each have a place to stay after that, and if things work out, good for our future children then.
Good for you, not others who married under Occupier leh.
So you are Occupier Only, make sure your Husband? write a will so that in case of his demise, you can sell to collect post-sale money if HDB does not allow you to own or your Husband WILL to other Eligibles Shares.
99 to 1 nonsense was for avoiding ABSD whilst holding another property - clamped down now and law going after them.
If you want 2nd property under anyone also can - fully pay for it lo and under his/her name - lawyer$ you all pay upfront

nowaday many young couple is doing this. because BTO price is very cheap . with one income is manageable. (y) (y) (y)

It is very affordable. We applied when we were fresh graduates with jobs right out of graduation, so we went for this. Those that didn't do this either have trust issues in the relationship, applied too early for BTO (still in uni), or their spending to saving ratio isn't right.

So you are Occupier Only, make sure your Husband? write a will so that in case of his demise, you can sell to collect post-sale money if HDB does not allow you to own or your Husband WILL to other Eligibles Shares.
99 to 1 nonsense was for avoiding ABSD whilst holding another property - clamped down now and law going after them.
If you want 2nd property under anyone also can - fully pay for it lo and under his/her name - lawyer$ you all pay upfront

Yup, we will assign wills the moment we collect keys for our BTO. Others could have went for it, but must apply for owner-occupier from the start. Nowadays HDB won't allow appeal to change from both co-owners to owner-occupier.

And yes, anyone can go for second property, but the ABSD is very painful. Otherwise, most agents will recommend selling the BTO if both are owners, then each person own one small private property each.

But I love my BTO location eh, so I don't really want to sell in the future and I'll be happy to stay in it forever. At most just use my name to buy second property if got spare cash. If don't have, I also can't be bothered actually.

heathx

regarding bto signing of lease agreement:
1) how many weeks in advance will hdb notify you to come down for appointment?
2) and if you happened to have an overseas trip, can you postpone earlier/ later for that appointment?

thanks!

havetheveryfun

I think what he meant is what everyone already knows la.. just that you pointed out the risk, which some may not be willing to take.

By right 1 person can own one HDB or private without ABSD.

so if you are a couple, 1 person can buy a HDB and 1 person can buy a condo.

But the person who buy the condo cannot be listed as "owner" for the HDB. only "occupier". This means that in case of any unforseen circumstances, such as divorce, asset splitting will be a pain. So the person who does not has his name as "owner" in the HDB but yet to buy a condo, anytime may be kicked out also by the sole "owner".

Its like how 2 singles who both own a HDB each can still keep on to their HDB if somehow they got married after buying the 2 HDBs.

AlanKohCD

I think what he meant is what everyone already knows la.. just that you pointed out the risk, which some may not be willing to take.

By right 1 person can own one HDB or private without ABSD.

so if you are a couple, 1 person can buy a HDB and 1 person can buy a condo.

But the person who buy the condo cannot be listed as "owner" for the HDB. only "occupier". This means that in case of any unforseen circumstances, such as divorce, asset splitting will be a pain. So the person who does not has his name as "owner" in the HDB but yet to buy a condo, anytime may be kicked out also by the sole "owner".

Its like how 2 singles who both own a HDB each can still keep on to their HDB if somehow they got married after buying the 2 HDBs.
What do you mean by this? Married couple can still own a HDB each?

havetheveryfun

sorry i drunk can ignore my previous posting :s42:

8zaoyu

True, cannot own a HDB EACH unless the famous 2-rm flexi / resale HDBs for singles - Title deed of property is per sole/split ownerships only - can kick the other "owner" out - Legally only the owner is ONE only - go find lawyer$

Xiaomalu

waa you say BTO price very cheap... but people keep complaining very expensive hor.. COL very expensive..
Sinkie only use cheap cheap cheap like a bird when they cross the causeway, logic is as long as not free means is expensive

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.