Official OnePlus 6

Apparatus

Re

Well same as other bloatware which if not controlled, it'll also suck up needless battery life but like I said, u can use ADB to remove/disable them. No need root. Go read https://www.xda-developers.com/uninstall-carrier-oem-bloatware-without-root-access/

Quote from the link

Therefore, even if you “uninstall” a system application using this method, you can still receive official OTA updates from your carrier or OEM.

Still not full proof

Apparatus

Re

Bro if you're so concerned about data privacy issues, maybe you shouldn't be using android phones. It's not just facebook that is tracking you, google's android OS is also tracking everything leh :s11:

Yes, Google is tracking but one app less tracking you is one more up the better for you. Also, you can download apps outside of Google Play Store like from F-Droid or Aptoide to avoid Google tracking you using its GCM

:D

Zetsuei

I just got my OP6 from 131Express, collect from their office. can't wait to reach home after work to setup!!

bellick

Yes, Google is tracking but one app less tracking you is one more up the better for you. Also, you can download apps outside of Google Play Store like from F-Droid or Aptoide to avoid Google tracking you using its GCM

so you prefer downloading apps from outside the google play store that may potentially come with other forms of malware? :s22:

deathst

Actually, I'm looking forward to a stock android phone and without FB pre-installed.

Other phones which do NOT have FB pre-installed are Google Pixel, Motorola, Huawei Honor series.

Google Pixel - although running on stock android I'm not too keen since it's by Google
(HTC - bought over by Google so not so keen on it as well)
Moto - owned by Lenovo, another popular chinese company with spyware issues and, also, not using latest SD processor
Huawei Honor - not using SD processor but Hisilicon Kirin processor

So, the best option now is the OnePlus 6

This is the most biased and cancer-inducing post I've seen today

Oneplus is a sub of Oppo company which is also a popular chinese company with spyware involved. Infact Oneplus has been found with a keyboard/clipboard tracker afew times and other security flaws.
Root backdoor exposed
OnePlus Once Again Caught Sending User Data to Chinese Servers

OnePlus is quietly collecting a ton of data from its smartphones

If it is worth anything, ANYPHONE But a Pixel device is alot safer than all other Android device. Mostly cause it is entirely Google software and no other OEMs software onboard. Not even Moto, Lenovo or HTC has a single touch on the software.

With you not keen on Pixel since it is Google device makes it the worst cause the exact same software runs on your Oneplus PLUS MORE.

Apparatus

Re

so you prefer downloading apps from outside the google play store that may potentially come with other forms of malware? :s22:

Apps from these 2 stores are safe. Aptoide has a green safety shield for safe apps. And your AV/AM on your phone should be able to detect any malware

Remember, even apps from Google Play Store are not immune from malware

Apparatus

Re

Oneplus is a sub of Oppo company which is also a popular chinese company with spyware involved. Infact Oneplus has been found with a keyboard/clipboard tracker afew times.

If it is worth anything, ANYPHONE But a Pixel device is alot safer than all other Android device. Mostly cause it is entirely Google software and no other OEMs software onboard. Not even Moto, Lenovo or HTC has a single touch on the software.

With you not keen on Pixel since it is Google device makes it the worst cause the exact same software runs on your Oneplus PLUS MORE.

Yes, OnePlus has its fair share of spyware/backdoor issues in the past and I'm not denying that. You can read here

https://malwaretips.com/threads/sec...ed-this-one-dumps-photos-wifi-gps-logs.77316/

https://www.wired.com/story/oneplus-phones-have-an-unfortunate-backdoor-built-in/

I believe the issues already resolved

Skyy

Quote from the link

Still not full proof

Well nothing is foolproof. U use whatsapp? If you do then your data is already with FB. Even using feature phone the telco knows your location all the time and uses data analytics to map your behavior.

Apparatus

Re

Well nothing is foolproof. U use whatsapp? If you do then your data is already with FB. Even using feature phone the telco knows your location all the time and uses data analytics to map your behavior.

Yes, even the telcos are tracking you. However, I don't use social network apps so will be tracked less. So, phones without pre-installed social network apps is what I'll be looking forward to

deathst

Apps from these 2 stores are safe. Aptoide has a green safety shield for safe apps. And your AV/AM on your phone should be able to detect any malware

Remember, even apps from Google Play Store are not immune from malware

You don't need an AV/AM, Google Play Protect has the highest and the best detection. With 400 million devices and a whopping 6 billion apps every day to weed out malicious code. They are the first lines of defense for Android devices with Google Services and so far they are doing a much better job than anyone else. It is only people like you who download elsewhere from uncertified locations with your Allow Unknown sources on that requires such software that makes the news.

So safe and spare your device from that un-needed processing and RAM. You are in an uphill battle on your own thinking the very creators of the OS are not secure and you put your faith in people outside of the originator.

Apparatus

Re

You don't need an AV/AM, Google Play Protect has the highest and the best detection. With 400 million devices and a whopping 6 billion apps every day to weed out malicious code. They are the first lines of defense for Android devices with Google Services and so far they are doing a much better job than anyone else. It is only people like you who download elsewhere from uncertified locations with your Allow Unknown sources on that requires such software that makes the news.

So safe and spare your device from that un-needed processing and RAM. You are in an uphill battle on your own thinking the very creators of the OS are not secure and you put your faith in people outside of the originator.

Google Play Protect....ha....ha....that's a joke lah. Please go and read reviews on AV/AM protection for android which includes Google Play Protect

Here's one site you can read

https://www.av-test.org/en/antivirus/mobile-devices/android/

deathst

Yes, even the telcos are tracking you. However, I don't use social network apps so will be tracked less. So, phones without pre-installed social network apps is what I'll be looking forward to

Oh don't worry.. Social media is not the thing you should be worried of in regards to tracking.

You are clearly in the wrong OS for your "Privacy"

Go ahead and check.
https://myactivity.google.com/myactivity

Remember Android is a "Free" product it service comes at the cost of your data, unlike iOS which is something you paid for entirely and has no interest in your data. (Thus why the cost is higher per device)

bellick

Not just apps bro,gotta be careful of certain websites too. Wasn't there a huge data breach on a popular local forum recently? I hope you're not a member of that forum.. hehe..

Apparatus

Re

Oh don't worry.. Social media is not the thing you should be worried of in regards to tracking.

You are clearly in the wrong OS for your "Privacy"

Go ahead and check.
https://myactivity.google.com/myactivity

Remember Android is a "Free" product it service comes at the cost of your data, unlike iOS which is something you paid for entirely and has no interest in your data. (Thus why the cost is higher per device)

No need to tell me Google is tracking me. I know that. Like I said if you have one app less tracking you means you'll be one up better

Apparatus

Re

Not just apps bro,gotta be careful of certain websites too. Wasn't there a huge data breach on a popular local forum recently? I hope you're not a member of that forum.. hehe..

You have to protect yourself when using the net lor

KeYoKe

Oneplus is a sub of Oppo company which is also a popular chinese company with spyware involved. Infact Oneplus has been found with a keyboard/clipboard tracker afew times and other security flaws.
Root backdoor exposed
OnePlus Once Again Caught Sending User Data to Chinese Servers

OnePlus is quietly collecting a ton of data from its smartphones

I beg to differ. How sure are you that Google aint collecting user information backend unless someone manage to find it out? Same question applies to iphone users, yes iOS is ecosystem, but that does not mean they are not collecting user information either :s13:

want to be safe? dont use phone at all is the best :s22:

deathst

I beg to differ. How sure are you that Google aint collecting user information backend unless someone manage to find it out? Same question applies to iphone users, yes iOS is ecosystem, but that does not mean they are not collecting user information either :s13:

want to be safe? dont use phone at all is the best :s22:

The difference is where one platform is able to identify specifically where the data is from and the other is unable to. Most of all data collected on Apple's end is using differential privacy.

This maximizes the accuracy of queries from statistical databases while minimizing the chances of identifying its records. You can try it take a look https://privacy.apple.com/

Apple stores information about you. It's mostly related to the content you're consuming or products you're buying, including apps, music and books. There isn't anything here that shows logs of my messages, specific locations, ads I've clicked or copies of my photos, which are some of the things that Google and Facebook have.

Google on the other hand..it points back straight to you.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.