*Official* SGXcafe Thread

Perisher

I think generally what people do is they sell on separate interval.

Example you got 10k shares of CCT then u sell partial of it and get some profit.

Other than that, the best time to sell is when you need the money. There are other reasons i suppose. (E.g. fundamental change, etc)

Depend on your "goal" actually.

other is more suitable there. ;)

madtari

Nah, my # of sell trade can count using 1 hand. :s13:
I've been buying n holding forever for quite some time since 2008. Been averaging down till no bullet n stopped buying actively. For 2010 till 2015 my # of buy trade can also count using 1 hand. Lol.... good thing is I've switched to a new job n over e years luck is with me n I've gotten a few promotions with good bonus therefore I managed to store up my money for war chest.

seems u sold down ur portfolio a lot

GGsg168

Nah, my # of sell trade can count using 1 hand. :s13:
I've been buying n holding forever for quite some time since 2008. Been averaging down till no bullet n stopped buying actively. For 2010 till 2015 my # of buy trade can also count using 1 hand. Lol.... good thing is I've switched to a new job n over e years luck is with me n I've gotten a few promotions with good bonus therefore I managed to store up my money for war chest.

jsk. :s8::s12::s22:

madtari

Jin satki? I not ah tiong leh... don't need to type Chinese for me. Haha...

Anyway I almost wanted to give up on shares cos after so many years my P&L is a pathetic single digit %... but after I discover sgx cafe, I input my trades n realised actually I've been collecting quite a fair bit of dividends over e years! Just that each time it's only $10's to a couple of $100's so I didn't really think much of it. That gives me back my courage to continue to buy n keep dividend stocks thus this Feb I started buying again... ;)

真杀气!

加十个淡逼你

NewInvestor

Anyway I almost wanted to give up on shares cos after so many years my P&L is a pathetic single digit %... but after I discover sgx cafe, I input my trades n realised actually I've been collecting quite a fair bit of dividends over e years! Just that each time it's only $10's to a couple of $100's so I didn't really think much of it. That gives me back my courage to continue to buy n keep dividend stocks thus this Feb I started buying again... ;)

Feb buying! Should be sitting on good gains now!

Genosis

Seems like Dk dun sell his shares. Closed so little amt nia!

How to have that conviction!

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

Ermmm......bcos I am impatient/desperate to throw letter? :s13:

If I keep taking profits everytime got capital gains, then difficult to grow my divvy income stream......but I do cut loss

My overall strategy is to keep adding dividend-paying companies with sustainable earnings and cash flow to support a decent dividend yield.....;)

Genosis

You are my idol! I hope I can ramp up my portfolio fast when the opportunity comes and can start collecting dividends over the next few years! I'm hoarding cash now and trying to time the market to get a good entry point and high dividend yield (despite the saying time in market is better than timing the market). :s13:

Cost = 34,692.88, Current Value = 37,674.9
Day Change = +202.15 (+0.54%)
P&L = +2,982.02 (+8.60%)
P&L + Dividends = +11,038.89 (+31.82%)
P&L + Dividends + Closed = +13,129.93 (+37.85%)

Thanks!

U are doing fine too......no harm adopting a 'semi-timing' style as long as u managed to deploy some funds along the way....I am doing this too :s13:

But dun become trapped in a vicious cycle where u keep shifting goalpost over many years without investing a single cent......I am sure there are people out there who missed the rally from 2008 till 2014, this group of people always find something to psycho themselves not to be vested:s22:

Layers

Ya.....seldom sell

When I do sell, it is usually to cut loss or that counter does not fit my long-term conviction

For example, this year I cut loss on M1 and Cache.....then I took profit on ARA and FCL :D
Need your advice for noobish me.

Read books hor is to buy low, etc etc.

Not much talk about taking profits.

Isn't it better for example cct or cmt to sell at high n buy back later??? Is there a gd reason to hold? If price tank down due to crash. Not wasted profits?

Genosis

Need your advice for noobish me.

Read books hor is to buy low, etc etc.

Not much talk about taking profits.

Isn't it better for example cct or cmt to sell at high n buy back later??? Is there a gd reason to hold? If price tank down due to crash. Not wasted profits?

I am pretty sure there are people who practice 'dividend arbitrage' strategy where he buys before result announcement......then wait for the CD effect to happen.....lastly take profit before XD

Sometimes, the profits can be more than the divvy announced.....

But I have a few concerns about this strategy

1. Sometimes, the price might not rise more than CD if the result is below expectations. Examples, SCI and KC recently announced poor results and lower divvy.
2. Most REITs distribute 4 times a year......if a person has 10 reits and he practice this strategy, then he will execute 40 trades a year! Brokerage fees gao gao! :eek:

noobinvestor

thanks dk for the insight. i need to handcuff my itchy hands... tend to take profit once share prices increase even though i usually want to buy for income...

shared

What is your current cash holdings?

Layers

I am pretty sure there are people who practice 'dividend arbitrage' strategy where he buys before result announcement......then wait for the CD effect to happen.....lastly take profit before XD

Sometimes, the profits can be more than the divvy announced.....

But I have a few concerns about this strategy

1. Sometimes, the price might not rise more than CD if the result is below expectations. Examples, SCI and KC recently announced poor results and lower divvy.
2. Most REITs distribute 4 times a year......if a person has 10 reits and he practice this strategy, then he will execute 40 trades a year! Brokerage fees gao gao! :eek:
Cos I bought cct cheap below 0.8pb. Tot can sell and gain when reach nav then buy back when drop b to same levek.That's my initial noobish strategy

Then how ho wonder of nv go back to same price how. Buy back at 0.9pb? Then my initial capital gain will be halved. And miss out on divy?

Headache me

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.