*Official* SGXcafe Thread

StockBot

i think so

if see his chart hor

2001 to 2008 his value only near 100k level

then 2009 the value shoot up like siao, maybe due to lump sum injectin?

- inheritance
- sale of business

or any thing else u guys can think off?

actually my portfolio is also like that...... 4 years back 2012 my portfolio near 80-100k only........ I stopped playing online poker and moved all my poker funds and inject all into stocks then have today this kinda size

my portfolio value say 300k but cost is near 230k like that, only 70k is my gains over the 9 years

last point to add, saving and keep adding money to your nest egg is the key to growth... if depend purely on returns only... a 10k portfolio can grow to nowhere

Genosis

one thing i dont like is how 'perfect' the portfolio is. Not salty or anything, but I don't really believe investing is a bed of roses where u hit all the correct stocks.

It is nice and realistic to see wad were the losers along the way...

Maybe he cut loss on his losers oredi......

StockBot

one thing i dont like is how 'perfect' the portfolio is. Not salty or anything, but I don't really believe investing is a bed of roses where u hit all the correct stocks.

It is nice and realistic to see wad were the losers along the way...

ya lor... looks too perfect... but if give benefit of doubt

I think he likely only kept his winners and sold off all his losers

i feel that sgxcafe those with shared portfolio, due to the social media pressure to present a "nice and green portfolio" they tend to cut/delete/sell red losers and show winner stocks only

StockBot

https://www.sgxcafe.com/user/profile?username=tenstocks

the thing good is that he shows the past returns/xirr

which the XIRR is 16%......... which more or less double confirms that likely he had sold his losers and kept his winners ....... how u guys think?

also 15 years in the market, he had 4 losing years~ XIRR 15%+

for me 9 years in the market, i had 3 losing years... XIRR is 10%+

investing is really not easy sia
..... newbies come here and expect to make money every year LOL

xersion

Portfolio

Beta = 0.74, VaR = 11.07%
Expected Shortfall = 23.25%

SGD
Cost = 16,767.17, Current Value = 15,554.065
Day Change = -19.406 (-0.12%)
P&L = -1,213.11 (-7.24%)
P&L + Dividends = -1,100.41 (-6.56%)
P&L + Dividends + Closed = +1,244.33 (+7.42%)

Sent from OPPO X9079 using GAGT

StockBot

Day Change = +1,716.26 (+0.60%)
P&L = -500.18 (-0.18%)
P&L + Dividends = +6,357.29 (+2.24%)

no more starhub my P&L become red liao LOL

lbs

which the XIRR is 16%......... which more or less double confirms that likely he had sold his losers and kept his winners ....... how u guys think?

there is every possibility that he can be a pretty good stock picker as well... you can't use your track record as a benchmark against somebody else ...

StockBot

there is every possibility that he can be a pretty good stock picker as well... you can't use your track record as a benchmark against somebody else ...

lol my portfolio too lousy already, i dun dare to compare with him sia LOL

lbs

lol my portfolio too lousy already, i dun dare to compare with him sia LOL

your strategy is to buy stocks with realistic (now that you got rid of starhub) dividend yields... most of your stocks are blue chips, with not much growth.. hence your returns won't be that high.

versus someone who has some luck with companies like ISOTeam, Innovalues, TTJ, etc, i think it is possible that their returns might outweigh you. :o

if i have capital like yours, i would have invest the same as you did, but i don't...

StockBot

your strategy is to buy stocks with realistic (now that you got rid of starhub) dividend yields... most of your stocks are blue chips, with not much growth.. hence your returns won't be that high.

versus someone who has some luck with companies like ISOTeam, Innovalues, TTJ, etc, i think it is possible that their returns might outweigh you. :o

if i have capital like yours, i would have invest the same as you did, but i don't...

Different ppl different style, character and investment objectives ma
My target is 10% xirr or better over the long term of say 20-30 years
I dont compare my returns with others de
But i compare it with the sti etf, i hope to beat the index by over 200 basis points or higher hehehe

Maeda_Toshiie

My own way of thinking:

1. <= 50k will take an aggressive whacking of select counters (little diversification). Aggressive to take risks to build up capital. Also an approach for younger people with more working years.

2. 50k - 200k more diversification, with mostly blue chips. Capital preservation becomes a concern.

3. >200k will segment portfolio into a portion aggressive, a portion stable. The blue chips and dividend stocks (maybe even ES3) to serve as the fall back position.

*Not at stage 3 (yet).

starfish.starfish

My own way of thinking:

1. <= 50k will take an aggressive whacking of select counters (little diversification). Aggressive to take risks to build up capital. Also an approach for younger people with more working years.

2. 50k - 200k more diversification, with mostly blue chips. Capital preservation becomes a concern.

3. >200k will segment portfolio into a portion aggressive, a portion stable. The blue chips and dividend stocks (maybe even ES3) to serve as the fall back position.

*Not at stage 3 (yet).

Good analysis :)
No step 4 or step 5?

TheIntelligentInvestor

You are probably right. But I think that is a good hallmark of a good investor, to sell the losers and ride on the winners. As I mentioned before that we won't know how accurate are the portfolio in sgxcafe. My takeaway is that his picks are companies with moats. Anyhow, his picks are holding very well against the swiber storm. If i am not wrong, on last friday when sti dropped 50 points, he has a small positive return and today it is 2%.

OngHuatHuat

I was at stage 3 around 4 years back.
Then I sold everything to buy my first property in Singapore.

MEtK5Cu.jpg

Good analysis :)
No step 4 or step 5?

Average

Day Change = (+0.60%)
P&L = (-3.01%)
P&L + Dividends = (-0.95%)
P&L + Dividends + Closed = (-0.86%)

TheIntelligentInvestor

I am probably in this group. I have good mix of blue chips as the base, some solid mid-cap and even small "cigar-butt" stock, e.g. TTJ, Nam Lee. I have a list of blue chips I would like to own but they can only be picked up during distress time.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.