Asphodeli
the cash feature I a bit lazy to use LOL
boss u quit facebook liao ar? tried to msg u but can't work
the cash feature I a bit lazy to use LOL
boss u quit facebook liao ar? tried to msg u but can't work![]()
sorry, i kanna attack by stalker so that account no use already

Sometimes I wonder why you always tio attacked.![]()
NUS or ntu put in a lot of effort to attract Singaporeans to do research by giving generous sponsorship thought the whole phd tenure.
Too bad research needs passion and a lot of this passion is killed off during final year project period. And you cannot simply put in people who cannot score well in fyp to do research Coz it requires both passion and talent.
@average
how i wish we can continue the discussion on fyp... i have no idea wat is fyp's standard. If throughout the project got alot of obstacles, like results not as expected etc, how ah? will the profs think u wasted 1yr doing a proj that yields no valuable finding?
me doing fyp next yr...
how i wish we can continue the discussion on fyp... i have no idea wat is fyp's standard. If throughout the project got alot of obstacles, like results not as expected etc, how ah? will the profs think u wasted 1yr doing a proj that yields no valuable finding?
me doing fyp next yr...
Sadly I feel research in Sg not much future. It's true that you must be passionate, and to be honest it is quite exciting to be involved in cool new areas that no one has tried or seen before. but the prospects and oppotunities very small. there are only so many research organisation (NTU,NUS, ASTAR, DSO) and this means that positions are limited, must be damn kilat if you wnat to go far.. prospects are also quite unstable. We are lucky that govt pump in alot of money for research, but if one day no money, no grants, then you got no job.better to broaden your skillset by going out to industry, then if you got masters u got sufficient breadth and depth of skills to be valuable.
Some of you are only partly right that NTU/NUS will not hire their own PhD. they can hire you as resarcher, but very hard to become prof unless you are damn good. This is very common in all universities to prevent inbreeding, not only NUS/NTU. inbreeding is frowned upon in scientific community and will drag down the reputation of the university. That's why Singapore lose some talented people to overseas universities and end up doing stupid stuff at DSO/AStar/ST which is a shame, but that is a consequence of our small size.
FYP is "sacrificable" compared to a research masters of PhD. The former is not expect to give particularly novel results or substantial work, while the latter two requires sufficient amount of novel work to actually pass (by right, but by left some people weasel pass it...).
For my FYP, I wasn't under a graduate student, but answered directly to the professor. He was the most responsible (and nicest) professor I met in the department. For that FYP I tio jackpot.
Talk to those who have done it for recommendations on who is the best. Don't simply do it based on topic alone.
Hey guys, I think the topic there is very interesting, I would compile the post here and move it into a new thread in money mind soon. Let me know if anyone has opinions against it.
The topic is about the NUH/NUS studies, the experience and the $$ involved with the relevant post.![]()
Nothing to do with money mind as well.
But yes pls shift it.

I old liao
not studying anymore
all into stock market already LOL
huat ah $$$$$$$$$$$