*Official* SGXcafe Thread

StockBot

Ya, my plan is slowly load up on other sectors to have a more balanced portfolio. In e meanwhile I'm Ok with overexposure to banking. Reits (especially retail) I won't touch for now cos it's really looking bleak for them. Will KIV.

if u not buying banks and reits now, then what stocks u buying now?

StockBot

madtari

I'm sitting on 75% cash. :p they r earning pathetic interest in Ocbc 360 & cimb acc. Agreed there's opportunity costs involved, but as per my profile, I've missed out on the last crisis I do not want history to repeat itself. I believe the worst has yet to come. So no hurry in loading up.

http://foreverfinancialfreedom.blogspot.sg/2016/08/aug-16-sg-transactions-portfolio-update.html

this blogger trying to time the market sia

going into 60% cash on a 400k portfolio......... will he be correct or will he fail badly???????

StockBot

I'm sitting on 75% cash. :p they r earning pathetic interest in Ocbc 360 & cimb acc. Agreed there's opportunity costs involved, but as per my profile, I've missed out on the last crisis I do not want history to repeat itself. I believe the worst has yet to come. So no hurry in loading up.

wah.... 75% cash is a lot.... haven't u learnt from the last crisis that its very very hard or near impossible to time the market. no one knows when the lows will be.... maybe it would be more wise to have a sound plan of regularly vesting your cash into stocks?

like if suddenly the next 1 month STI rallies 10% and chiong pass 3000, wouldn't u have repeated the same mistake all over again?

in 2007-08 sti fell from 3800 to 1600, a 55% decline from peak

currently the sti has fell from 3500 to 2500, a 30% decline from peak.... using logic... it does not seem that current crisis is as bad as the previous GFC

if say 50% chance STI does go lower to 2000, u get to buy cheap
but on the flip side say 50% chance STI recovers from this 30% bear and goes back to 3000+... u would had miss the boat again.......isnt it?

(do note that the 50%-50% I saying is just an example, I am not expert enough to know the probability of a further crash or a recovery, lol)

StockBot

I think he bought ireit last time below 70 cents, now he added more, maybe still in profit...

ya, he seems very bullish on ireit and so he averaged up... but i dun understand why ireit so good

I feel that europe market is quite risky, especially the currency risk... if the euro collapses... the asset values relative to sgd may become much lower

madtari

Not really true leh... the mistake I made during the last round was entering the market too early... then I did 3 rounds of averaging down but ran out of bullets... Running out of bullets could be a major scar for me which explains why I'm stocking up so much cash now. I agree we can't time the market, that's partly why I started buying some banking stock recently. Partly is also when your cash holding starts swelling, your hands become itchy. LOL.

No doubt if in the near future there's a mini bull run, I may have missed a boat but I ask myself a simple qns - Is the worst already over? My ans to my own qns is a NO. Therefore I believe the boat will come back. As long as you have the cash, the market is always there. It won't run away. Its hard for me to believe STI will shoot up and remain bullish for the next 5-7 years. And if it really does, my only consolation is that I have invested some money in the market already.

That was my plan (bet) lah... but talking is cheap. When market really crash and everything looks so bleak, I may start to become fearful and hold on tight to my money... When that happens, then really is a double whammy... lost a lot of opportunity costs, as well as missing opportunity to board the cruise liner. :s13:

wah.... 75% cash is a lot.... haven't u learnt from the last crisis that its very very hard or near impossible to time the market. no one knows when the lows will be.... maybe it would be more wise to have a sound plan of regularly vesting your cash into stocks?

like if suddenly the next 1 month STI rallies 10% and chiong pass 3000, wouldn't u have repeated the same mistake all over again?

in 2007-08 sti fell from 3800 to 1600, a 55% decline from peak

currently the sti has fell from 3500 to 2500, a 30% decline from peak.... using logic... it does not seem that current crisis is as bad as the previous GFC

if say 50% chance STI does go lower to 2000, u get to buy cheap
but on the flip side say 50% chance STI recovers from this 30% bear and goes back to 3000+... u would had miss the boat again.......isnt it?

(do note that the 50%-50% I saying is just an example, I am not expert enough to know the probability of a further crash or a recovery, lol)

StockBot

Not really true leh... the mistake I made during the last round was entering the market too early... then I did 3 rounds of averaging down but ran out of bullets... I agree we can't time the market, that's partly why I started buying some banking stock recently. Partly is also when your cash holding starts swelling, your hands become itchy. LOL.

No doubt if in the near future there's a mini bull run, I may have missed a boat but I ask myself a simple qns - Is the worst already over? My ans to my own qns is a NO. Therefore I believe the boat will come back. As long as you have the cash, the market is always there. It won't run away. Its hard for me to believe STI will shoot up and remain bullish for the next 5-7 years. And if it really does, my only consolation is that I have invested some money in the market already.

That was my plan (bet) lah... but talking is cheap. When market really crash and everything looks so bleak, I may start to become fearful and hold on tight to my money... When that happens, then really is a double whammy... lost a lot of opportunity costs, as well as missing opportunity to board the cruise liner. :s13:

I see , at the end of the day its really up to u. Since u managing your own money. From my view a 30% drop from peak surely represents an opportunity for bargain hunting.

Lastly do not forget, time in market is more important than timing the market

Cheers

madtari

Totally agreed. :)
I see , at the end of the day its really up to u. Since u managing your own money. From my view a 30% drop from peak surely represents an opportunity for bargain hunting.

Lastly do not forget, time in market is more important than timing the market

Cheers

wahkao3

I agree we can't time the market, that's partly why I started buying some banking stock recently. Partly is also when your cash holding starts swelling, your hands become itchy. LOL.

what has inability to time the market got to do with banking stock? no link at all

madtari

what has inability to time the market got to do with banking stock? no link at all
Well, the 3 local banking counter has been in my wishlist for quite some time... was originally planning to buy during crisis... but precisely bcos I can't time the market accurately, and on top of that my fingers start to get itchy as my cash account starts to swell past 6 figures, I decided to start buying when the opportunity arises. But sad to say DBS was not on my radar when it dropped to 13+...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.