*Official* SGXcafe Thread

StockBot

Well, the 3 local banking counter has been in my wishlist for quite some time... was originally planning to buy during crisis... but precisely bcos I can't time the market accurately, and on top of that my fingers start to get itchy as my cash account starts to swell past 6 figures, I decided to start buying when the opportunity arises. But sad to say DBS was not on my radar when it dropped to 13+...

DBS nav per share 16.50 like that

even now at $15 is like 10% discount to nav

$13+ is 20% discount to nav

DBS historically over the last decade trades on average 1.2-1.3 times nav

among banks, now dbs lowest pb riao

http://www.sharesinv.com/prices/index-sti/indicators

Maeda_Toshiie

The banks are dragged down by their loans. Hard for them to recover until O&G and property markets recover first.

StockBot

Genosis

http://foreverfinancialfreedom.blogspot.sg/2016/08/aug-16-sg-transactions-portfolio-update.html

this blogger trying to time the market sia

going into 60% cash on a 400k portfolio......... will he be correct or will he fail badly???????

60% allocation in cash will not cause him to 'fail badly'......how to fail when u are cash-rich :s22: quite safe!

but the issue is that he just have to accept lower than average returns lor :o

Besides, I think his wife is not working and he has another baby on the way soon.....natural for him to be more prudent as a responsible father=:p

Maeda_Toshiie

SMM maybe u can consider average down, increase position from 10% to 15%

but hyflux... i would strongly advise against adding anymore, as their balance sheet is very stretch and they are not blue chip nor garmen backed

Hyflux was bought at the peak of the hype about water. I've sort of written it off for now. The dividends have been decreasing over the years and the amount of bad noises around them is increasing.

I am currently watching the SCM price and oil prices. I am going to add some more SCM. One risky move is to make a short term play with the (probable) price rebound when winter hits in Dec.

I sold off a few counters b/w 2011-2014, which plus dividend covers the current red, but I hope that the SCM losses can be mitigated with itself rather than other counters. I'm not worried about the other counters.

Genosis

ya, he seems very bullish on ireit and so he averaged up... but i dun understand why ireit so good

I feel that europe market is quite risky, especially the currency risk... if the euro collapses... the asset values relative to sgd may become much lower

Ya.....quite a few headwinds in Europe....Brexit, terrorism, weakening Euro

But I supposed the negative rates and continual loose monetary policies from Uncle Draghi are good for REITs.....

StockBot

60% allocation in cash will not cause him to 'fail badly'......how to fail when u are cash-rich :s22: quite safe!

but the issue is that he just have to accept lower than average returns lor :o

Besides, I think his wife is not working and he has another baby on the way soon.....natural for him to be more prudent as a responsible father=:p

ohhh ya hor, very good points there

yeah got wife and kids, best he not go all in, must be prudent for sure

papa can go hungry and jiak maggie mee
but cannot let kids go hungry

Genosis

ohhh ya hor, very good points there

yeah got wife and kids, best he not go all in, must be prudent for sure

papa can go hungry and jiak maggie mee
but cannot let kids go hungry

All my friends/colleagues who are parents always tell me that parenthood changes a person's mind-set and mentality......I guess it's true after all :s13:

StockBot

All my friends/colleagues who are parents always tell me that parenthood changes a person's mind-set and mentality......I guess it's true after all :s13:

when u got xiao geno and xiao sis, u will know liao~ LOL

kids become highest value asset~ LOL

foo9883

SMM maybe u can consider average down, increase position from 10% to 15%

but hyflux... i would strongly advise against adding anymore, as their balance sheet is very stretch and they are not blue chip nor garmen backed

StockBot bro confident in SMM?

StockBot

StockBot bro confident in SMM?

I vested indirectly via sci
Sci is more value cause 20% discount to book
Smm is at one times book, priced higher due to some ppl gamble on it being taken private which i do not think so

StockBot

https://www.sgxcafe.com/friend/viewissue?issue_id=104

Issue #104

Show No. of Public Portfolios Holding Particular Stock
example I read a piece of news like "Founding family of Sim Lian offers $1.08 per share to take company private" or SMRT getting offered to be taking private

so I search Sim Lian on sgxcafe
https://www.sgxcafe.com/stock/summary/S05/sim+lian+group+limited

from this page I think maybe it would be useful if I can see how many public portfolio holding this counter

Created on 9 Aug 2016 16:50:12
By felixleong
Edit Issue

StockBot

https://www.sgxcafe.com/friend/viewissue?issue_id=104

Issue #104

Show No. of Public Portfolios Holding Particular Stock
example I read a piece of news like "Founding family of Sim Lian offers $1.08 per share to take company private" or SMRT getting offered to be taking private

so I search Sim Lian on sgxcafe
https://www.sgxcafe.com/stock/summary/S05/sim+lian+group+limited

from this page I think maybe it would be useful if I can see how many public portfolio holding this counter

Created on 9 Aug 2016 16:50:12
By felixleong
Edit Issue

feel free to feedback or comment, cheers

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.