:s13::s13::s13:

342C640B-E784-4F9E-9880-744D10F72FB8-6533-000002DC1BAB0C22_zpsdf89f821.jpg

the full of win hoot is this

11hf4gw.jpg

eliteFX

Silly me. U're right its only natural for the ALO PanAm to support wall AC input, cause of its built-in amp. Even though the A3 also got built-in amp as well, from my knowledge Fostex made efforts and built this more as a transportable DAC wise with the amp section an an afterthought.

But I can assure you its amp section is definitely not weak, it's not based on discrete design unlike some other higher-end boutique amps, then again for its pricing it's not meant to compete with those 800 to 1K amplifier rigs, this is only a 38K yen small DAC/amp when initially announced back in 2010, and only costs 25k yen odd right now in JP (approx. 320SGD)

When you are using a separate USB-conditioner/isolator device, you are actually already feeding dedicated clean power from separate AC mains liao, only using the USB cable input for signal feeding from yr PC/laptop. My RAL-EXTPW01 from Ratoc is not really that expensive, costed me ard 280SGD after conversion frm JP. The Buspower Pro by Aurorasound retails for abt 10,500 yen, and there are also more expensive ones such as Acoustic Revive RUI-1 which is ard 44k yen.

Rem there was a pretty long comparison thread comparing Woo Audio's WA7 vs ALO The PanAm together, seemed to recall there were some owners of the WA7 inside who owns the Aurorasound USB-isolator as well and reported significant improvements to the overall SQ. So together with what I had experienced with my Ratoc Labs USB-isolator when paired with the A3, I would say its true it will still yield an improvement. But as for how big is the improvement prolly will vary from individual to individual, afterall u're not new to this hobby yrself and each of us tends to hear stuff differently.
:o

Does the TH600 require alot of amping power by itself? As far as I can recall from my demo trys at Jaben last time, it's not leh. Planar Magnetics hps from HifiMan is a different story though, and someone alrdy mentioned before HE500 is just chicken feet for the A3 in one of those Head-fi threads liaos.

i still need to try it to convince myself to get a power conditioner. one day can go try your a8 and the ratoc? :s13:
as for the WA7 there are people in headfi who mentioned it pairs well with the fostex headphones. but its freaking 1.5k sgd locally. not to mention the recommended electro harmonics upgrade tube costs 100usd :eek:
it is easy to drive but it needs lots of power to shine. that's what i proved by stacking with the essence one. heck, even i can hear the separation of koisuru fortune cookie backtrack so clearly.. imagine how good that thing is. gotta love the muses opamps lulz

Haonan

eh? I thought your 8a sold during your lubrick's megasales period!

You first come around HWZ? You don't know what is called CSB meh? Why sho surprised, his kind of tactic is just called Rubick-ception nia.

According to his kind of posts, I find it very hard to believe he can easily quit this hobby. Maybe by the time I own all previous W-series line-up by Audio Technica he still haven't quit.
:s13::s13:

Haonan

i still need to try it to convince myself to get a power conditioner. one day can go try your a8 and the ratoc? :s13:
as for the WA7 there are people in headfi who mentioned it pairs well with the fostex headphones. but its freaking 1.5k sgd locally. not to mention the recommended electro harmonics upgrade tube costs 100usd :eek:
it is easy to drive but it needs lots of power to shine. that's what i proved by stacking with the essence one. heck, even i can hear the separation of koisuru fortune cookie backtrack so clearly.. imagine how good that thing is. gotta love the muses opamps lulz

ATH's W-series are relatively easy to drive as well due to low impedance, but they need good amplification in order to sound clean and detailed. I have noticed previously w/o the Ratoc Labs USB-isolator added to my HP-A3 chain, the imaging is not as focused, and background instruments in vocal tracks sounded more congested. With the USB-isolator added, the overall SQ is slightly more focused w/o congestion feeling, but I would say the more obvious areas are in terms of imaging/soundstage wise, not so much for bass or treble.

HP-A8 doesn't require USB-isolator device, because it uses AC mains as its main power source. This kind of device will only benefit those USB-powered DACs, such as HP-A3/A4. I can let you try my A3/Ratoc device one day with yr own headphones/iems, maybe during the upcoming ATH meet or one day at E1.

Will arrange with u again. ^ ^

Rubick

You first come around HWZ? You don't know what is called CSB meh? Why sho surprised, his kind of tactic is just called Rubick-ception nia.

According to his kind of posts, I find it very hard to believe he can easily quit this hobby. Maybe by the time I own all previous W-series line-up by Audio Technica he still haven't quit.

Pruss one. This hobby where got so easy quit. At most is down size collection lol

Haonan

Pruss one. This hobby where got so easy quit. At most is down size collection lol

See, tio boh? The truth is finally out. Why am i not surprised.

Welcome back bro. I missed yr chao hyping posts ard here to be frank.

Rubick

See, tio boh? The truth is finally out. Why am i not surprised.

Welcome back bro. I missed yr chao hyping posts ard here to be frank.

Nth good n cheap to post leh. So did u try the tubeamp already?

Haonan

Nth good n cheap to post leh. So did u try the tubeamp already?

It's good, but did not impressed me. I only tried the newer ver with lower gain, not the older one. Doesn't have background hiss much with my ATH iems unless I go over 12 o'clock in terms of the vol pot.

But I have to agree for its pricing, it's a great amp. Can fight with my TTVJ Slim definitely. But for the size/portability it cannot attract me as potential buy. I would say it's good for those who don't mind the size.

Rubick

It's good, but did not impressed me. I only tried the newer ver with lower gain, not the older one. Doesn't have background hiss much with my ATH iems unless I go over 12 o'clock in terms of the vol pot.

But I have to agree for its pricing, it's a great amp. Can fight with my TTVJ Slim definitely. But for the size/portability it cannot attract me as potential buy. I would say it's good for those who don't mind the size.

u shld try the older one.
older 1 to my ears better but with more hiss and channel imbalance need louder volume to overcome.

i prefer the shonyun 306a over the new version of tubeamp :s13::s13:

weng

u shld try the older one.
older 1 to my ears better but with more hiss and channel imbalance need louder volume to overcome.

i prefer the shonyun 306a over the new version of tubeamp :s13::s13:

i still haven't buy 306a :s13:

weng

still waiting for u to hoot leh :s13::s13:
may hoot if:

1) solve channel imbalance or
2) reduce gain

while maintaining same sig :D

but most likely not. enough portable amps liao. back to desktop :D

Rubick

may hoot if:

1) solve channel imbalance or
2) reduce gain

while maintaining same sig :D

but most likely not. enough portable amps liao. back to desktop :D

waiting for m6 to happen leh :s13::s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.