[Official]Stock analysis request thread

focus1974

2823 up a lot already how about 2800??

2800 mainly people buy as an index to HK economy.. 2823 CHina A50 or 2822 CSOP mainly focus on the TOP 50 ChiNA ENTERPRISEs.. and is an index to CHina economy.

felixleong

2800 mainly people buy as an index to HK economy.. 2823 CHina A50 or 2822 CSOP mainly focus on the TOP 50 ChiNA ENTERPRISEs.. and is an index to CHina economy.

ya, i was previously long on 2800 (current pe 11) and 2828 (current pe 7) as I prefer cash based etfs as compared to 2823(synthetic)

2823 up 30% this year already, feels risky to go in now, so looking for other ETFs to long

havetheveryfun

Buy -> 0.005
Sell -> 0.006

Means the next buyer in queue wants to buy at 0.005, while the next seller only wants to sell at 0.006. So either the buyer or seller will have to wait until someone comes in, cut the queue and push the price either up or down.

If you are a buyer and willing to pay what the seller is asking for, 0.006 in this case, you can cut the queue and get the stocks immediately.

Similarly, if you are a seller and wants to just sell your stocks ASAP instead of waiting, you can sell it at 0.005 and someone will buy it immediately.

If you don't want to pay or sell for the current asking price, then you input a "bid", which is the price you are comfortable with... then wait for someone to fill that order.

Now the next question is why ppl seem to be so hard up over this $0.001? Its because some of them buy in large amounts and it can add up to a lot sometimes (few hundred dollars)

felixleong

Like now u are interesting in buying shares of magnus, u can queue to buy at 5 or buy immeditaly at 6

Same for selling, u can wait to sell at 6 or sell immediately at 5

I am really new to stock trading , there are a couple things which i am really not sure about. hope someone can enlighten here

How does the buying , selling and bidding work?

Take for example this Magnus Energy stock

Buy -> 0.005
Sell -> 0.006

if as a buyer , i would like to buy the shares , do i have to buy it at a price higher then 0.006 in order to purchase the stock? On the other side , if i as a seller would like to sell, which price do i sell it at , i read from somewhere they said as seller, u look at the buy price if u would like to sell your shares which got me really confused. Right now i training in a virtual stock market before i really commence in real trading.

lolita_5

I am really new to stock trading , there are a couple things which i am really not sure about. hope someone can enlighten here

How does the buying , selling and bidding work?

Take for example this Magnus Energy stock

Buy -> 0.005
Sell -> 0.006

if as a buyer , i would like to buy the shares , do i have to buy it at a price higher then 0.006 in order to purchase the stock? On the other side , if i as a seller would like to sell, which price do i sell it at , i read from somewhere they said as seller, u look at the buy price if u would like to sell your shares which got me really confused. Right now i training in a virtual stock market before i really commence in real trading.
in layman terms

jane, john and jim very hungry and they all want to eat chicken rice and the kopitiam got 3 chicken rice stalls

the highest amount jane will pay for a plate of chicken rice is $3, john $3.10 and jim $3.20

the 3 stalls are selling at $3.30, $3.40, $3.50 as each of them think their chicken rice is valued at that amount.

jim's $3.20 is the highest BID price currently in the chicken rice market while the stall selling at $3.30 is the lowest ASK price currently in the chicken rice market

so at any point of time, the highest BID and lowest ASK will form the bid and ask price (aka buy and sell) we see real-time. If a 4th person judy come and offer $3.25, then the BID price will change to $3.25

so jane john jim sit in front of the stalls and stare at the stall owners. nobody wants to make the first move. however, if jim tak boleh tahan and must eat something, then he'll go ahead and pay $3.30 for the chicken rice. This is known as transacted at the ASK price aka buy

It's not exactly a "buy" only since the stall did "sell" as well. Thus, we call it "transacted at the ASK price". The point here is that the buyer lost the battle, indicating that demand increased which will result in price increase (more ppl buy = price go up right?)

similarly, if the stall owner wanna faster close shop and go home, he can sell at a lower price, say at jim's BID price of $3.20. Again, it's not exactly a "sell" only since jim did "buy" as well. Thus, we call it "transacted at the BID price". (more ppl sell = price go down)

hope this clears your doubts

lolita_5

thx for answering my doubt. This help a lot!

There are one more things which i doubt which is the up and down price of the stock , The rule of the thumb in trading , is always to buy low and sell high.

Which in this case , take for example your stock has rise to a high lvl which u feel comfortable to sell , but there is always a risk that no one will buy the shares since it at a relatively high price , so ultimately in other words u can't really sell it at the peak period right?
there might be gian png ppl who wanna join the crowd but this ppl came in too late

felixleong

thx for clarifying my doubt even further but wait how do i know how many shares are actually in queue before it get to me? is there a way to know it?

yes you can see the market depth

example 50,000 - 0.005 vs 0.006 - 100,000

so if you key in buy 1,000 magnus at 0.005
you will be behind 50,000
and have to wait for those to be filled by others before yours get done

cheers

felixleong

thx for answering my doubt. This help a lot!

There are one more things which i doubt which is the up and down price of the stock , The rule of the thumb in trading , is always to buy low and sell high.

Which in this case , take for example your stock has rise to a high lvl which u feel comfortable to sell , but there is always a risk that no one will buy the shares since it at a relatively high price , so ultimately in other words u can't really sell it at the peak period right?

actually no hard and fast rule for buying or selling, really depends on your style and strategy.

if you are a value investor, you might want the price to be as low as possible, after u make a small purchase and it drops further, say 5 to 10%, you would love to buy more at a lower cost

if you are a momentum trader, you might be looking for a rush of greedy investors to keep buying up the counter, u nimble in early with a small bet to feel the market and it starts moving upwards you might feel more confident to start buying up and help support the rally. once you sense the stock is losing its momentum, you just head for the exit asap~

if you are a scalper, maybe opening just buy, watch it move up a bid and you sell to take profits already

at the end of the day, it really depends and you better know what you are doing, else you will be slaughtered by the market! lol

cheers

odie2108

Can help do some analysis
1. Starhill global
2. Metro holdings

starhill global - analysts are expecting rates to rise next year, as such, not advisable to vest in reits

Metro -
TA wise, i expect it to stay above 89 cts and go sideways if there is no large volume
FA wise not good
it has 2 main revenue sources
property development in china
property seems to be slowing down in china as seen in yanlord's share price
PROPERTY DEVELOPMENT AND INVESTMENT (from 2014 annual report)
The Group’s property arm has significant interests in almost 142,000 square metres of prime retail and office
investment properties in first-tier cities in the PRC, such as Beijing, Shanghai and Guangzhou, and almost
931,000 square metres of residential and mixed-use development properties held predominantly for sale.
It also holds significant investments in certain property businesses in the PRC.

CHINA
Shanghai :
Metro City, Metro Tower, Shanghai Shama Century Park
Beijing :
EC Mall
Guangzhou :
GIE Tower
Shengyang / Fushun / QinHuangDao / Anshan / Fuzhou /
Xiamen :
Tesco Lifespace
Jiangxi Province :
Nanchang Fashion Mark
JAPAN Tokyo :
Frontier Koishikawa
SINGAPORE
The Crest

and retail in singapore and indonesia
Retail seems to be slowing down too as seen in FJ Benjamin's and Lippo Mall Trust's (indonesia shopping mall trust) share price
RETAIL
Metro’s retail arm serves customers through a chain of four Metro department stores and nine Monsoon/
Accessorize/M.2 specialty shops in Singapore, and another nine department stores in Indonesia. The Metro
shopping brand is an established household name in the retail industry, and offers a wide range of quality
merchandise over 1.4 million square feet of downtown and suburban retail space in both Singapore and Indonesia.

INDONESIA
Jakarta, Bandung, Makassar, Surabaya and Solo
SINGAPORE
Paragon, Woodlands, Sengkang and City Square

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.