[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 7

Whisper

Which part of sanduo district is shopping paradise? I see google map only have those shopping malls like sogo, shinkong and FE21.

Gixxerfied

Take note:

From 1st Sept, any transaction(Visa/Mastercard with OCBC) done locally with an overseas website, you would get charged with a 0.8% CCY Conversion Fees even thou the vendor billed you in SGD..

One more reason to cancel frank cc.. :s13:

Whisper

Take note:

From 1st Sept, any transaction(Visa/Mastercard with OCBC) done locally with an overseas website, you would get charged with a 0.8% CCY Conversion Fees even thou the vendor billed you in SGD..

Means like let's say I in sg, I shop at Lazada.my then I choose to pay in sgd. But OCBC will charge me 0.8% in addition?

Gixxerfied

Means like let's say I in sg, I shop at Lazada.my then I choose to pay in sgd. But OCBC will charge me 0.8% in addition?

Yup, that's it...

I booked my JR Pass from a authorised vendor located in France, choose to have they billed me in SGD(Which they did) and yet the CCY fees shows up, called and ask them..They told me starting from 1st Sept, this is the new rule for this kind of transaction made..

saffronsatire

Take note:

overseas website means what? says hotels.com, they have sg.hotels.com, that is considered local?

so for foreign currencies -> sgd supposedly already have 0.8% factored into the billed amount and they wanna do the same for overseas website now?

saffronsatire

Yup, that's it...

I booked my JR Pass from a authorised vendor located in France, choose to have they billed me in SGD(Which they did) and yet the CCY fees shows up, called and ask them..They told me starting from 1st Sept, this is the new rule for this kind of transaction made..

cc statement reflect a separate line?

Gixxerfied

overseas website means what? says hotels.com, they have sg.hotels.com, that is considered local?

so for foreign currencies -> sgd supposedly already have 0.8% factored into the billed amount and they wanna do the same for overseas website now?

hotels.com.sg is considered local if you ask me..Not sure of their interpretation for such..No time to test this as booked my jp hotel way before this new 0.8%...

It means if you purchase from an overseas website who bills you in their currency, the standard bank admin + visa/mastercard fees applies.

If you purchase from an overseas website with the transaction done locally, you would be hit with 0.8% even thou the website bills you straight in sgd..

Whisper

Like that book from agoda sure kena the 0.8% leh.

Does that mean it's better to pay in the overseas website default currency?

Gixxerfied

cc statement reflect a separate line?

Yup...

WAuQohx.jpg

The only other payment i make before this was for M1 telco bill..

Gixxerfied

Like that book from agoda sure kena the 0.8% leh.

Does that mean it's better to pay in the overseas website default currency?

Not sure how agoda plays out...

Gonna apply SC Singpost in awhile since already hit $500 spending for OCBC 360 Bonus interest..And also cancelling frank card at the end of next month :s13:

Whisper

Not sure how agoda plays out...

Gonna apply SC Singpost in awhile since already hit $500 spending for OCBC 360 Bonus interest..And also cancelling frank card at the end of next month :s13:

ANZ all along got this fee already then I switch to ocbc.. Seems like need to source for another card liao. :(

deepblue_82

Which part of sanduo district is shopping paradise? I see google map only have those shopping malls like sogo, shinkong and FE21.

sanduo.. i only been to wu pao chun's shop so cant help u there...

Gixxerfied

ANZ all along got this fee already then I switch to ocbc.. Seems like need to source for another card liao. :(

ANZ rejected me long long time ago but they were rather polite..Even send me a letter.. :s13:

Edit: Just applied for SCB Singpost... :D

deepblue_82

Take note:

only for OCBC?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.