[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 8

fireworks79

Climbing elephant mountain as well?
elephant hill dun need to much gear.....normal jacket will do unless, the day u climbing, the temp very low. elephant hill only 183m above sea lvl.
wear a mask if u scared lip will crack or for more protection against ur face

fireworks79

Yeah was thinking of staying at songshuelou for one night and hike the east side on check in day. Next morning catch sunrise at the peak before breakfast then checkout and take bus back to Taichung
dun b fool b the east peak of hehuan shan......climb this peak is dam xiong:(

fireworks79

fireworks79

Nice, thanks for the recommendation! Something worth the trip all the way the ain't it
actually I watch the sunrise b4....so watch or no watch ...not much diff
but calkel say since wake up liao so might well go....so just go lo:s13:
but any timing b4 u saw the sun.....is very cold:s22:

fireworks79

Lagi worse if it's during winter and its cold and windy and relatively high altitude
winter + snow is very worst.....
cos this is tw 1 and only snow ski resort in the past
along the way up, will see a old n broke house....it use to cable ppl n supplies up to the mountain in the past.
after the hse, carry on ur xiong climbing till u reach the platform(not the end)...carry on climbing until u can see this
am8h3q.jpg

i.c.e.d.c.u.p.p.a

winter + snow is very worst.....
cos this is tw 1 and only snow ski resort in the past
along the way up, will see a old n broke house....it use to cable ppl n supplies up to the mountain in the past.
after the hse, carry on ur xiong climbing till u reach the platform(not the end)...carry on climbing until u can see this
am8h3q.jpg
Nice! Hopefully it's not going to be snowing anytime soon. Surprisingly though it's quite popular, it's not that touristy yet, of am I wrong?

Most will choose to go the nearby cinjiing farm instead

twosix

I tried dian shui lou as recommended in another thread, its nice but quite pricey. Then one super foodie taxi driver say dont go dian shui lou, got another shop better wor. Then recommended a whole list of shops to try and all sounds super cheap. Feel like i spend too much on overpriced stuff liao...

Try this. cheaper than DTF and very good. the crab roe xlb is no horse run. 杭州小籠湯包.

fireworks79

Nice! Hopefully it's not going to be snowing anytime soon. Surprisingly though it's quite popular, it's not that touristy yet, of am I wrong?

Most will choose to go the nearby cinjiing farm instead
when snow....I dun know
but most mountain climbing is not so touristy cos all climb halfway give up liao

although it look easy but is damm xiong...I oso almost give up:(
tell u a little story....while climbing up(although some part got staircase(look easy to climb) some part is rock n stone....encounter some Taiwanese(not very old but cfm belong to those retired ppl.. they told me another 15min only, very fast will reach.....n I took almost 30min to reach the platform n climb another 15min++ to reach the top

but the view is something u would get to see everyday
all I can say is worth the climbing

after climbing the mountain....u will find tat cingjing is really no kick(although is can get really cold during winter)

hydeyoshi

I'm in Taipei now.. it's raining and seems like the rain won't stop.. and I seldom see any dustbin ard too..

Sent from Xiaomi MI A1 using GAGT

twosix

I'm in Taipei now.. it's raining and seems like the rain won't stop.. and I seldom see any dustbin ard too..

if it rains, which is common in dec, go underground!

taiwan has strict recycling laws. they know where and when to throw rubbish, thus not a lot of bins on the streets. find a shopping mall for bins.

i.c.e.d.c.u.p.p.a

when snow....I dun know
but most mountain climbing is not so touristy cos all climb halfway give up liao

although it look easy but is damm xiong...I oso almost give up:(
tell u a little story....while climbing up(although some part got staircase(look easy to climb) some part is rock n stone....encounter some Taiwanese(not very old but cfm belong to those retired ppl.. they told me another 15min only, very fast will reach.....n I took almost 30min to reach the platform n climb another 15min++ to reach the top

but the view is something u would get to see everyday
all I can say is worth the climbing

after climbing the mountain....u will find tat cingjing is really no kick(although is can get really cold during winter)
Woah nice. Means you reach the top from the lodge in about an hour plus plus? Sounds like climbing in HK (though without the altitude and cold factor as strong).

Did you climb other mountains also (like seasoned hike)? Yushan etc

Tsoukalos

if it rains, which is common in dec, go underground!

taiwan has strict recycling laws. they know where and when to throw rubbish, thus not a lot of bins on the streets. find a shopping mall for bins.
Noticed 夜市also another hard place to find bins...like only 1 or 2 centralized places...

Sent from 西方极乐世界 using GAGT

fireworks79

Woah nice. Means you reach the top from the lodge in about an hour plus plus? Sounds like climbing in HK (though without the altitude and cold factor as strong).

Did you climb other mountains also (like seasoned hike)? Yushan etc

abt the timing lo.cos along the way,take photo n rest n complaining to calkel..
So far only climb this n the 合歡尖山 (after sunrise) n Tpe xiangshan

fireworks79

go others area.sometimes the rain only rain certain areas.
My last trip in oct,yilan rain,taoyuan sunshine.
Danshui to shilin,rain.xmd to huaxi nm no rain

deepblue_82

I climb Xiang Shan for the first time... So many ppl man... When I reached the 6 stone place just in time for sunset... It was pretty cold.. But when I climb cijin for the lighthouse it was freaking hot..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.