Official Xperia Z Thread

pilotsnoopy

Any news on availability of Xperia Z Dock???

tot i read someone said some stores selling...

but i went Bugis Sony said next week...asked for white say no white only black...paid 'deposit' of $38...there better be a good case coming can slot into dock direct.

dreamz13

Whaa liao my Z more atas...

During the start up splash... there is this weird bright pixel under the grey screen...

But after the phone is booted up, I go into picture and check all the colour no issue lei! This colour check includes different shades of grey...

I play movie also no problem...

Any sexpert advise?
read a few pages ahead that if you got bright pixel, there's some display setting that you must disable or the software will autocorrect n u won't see the bright pixel.

N3wXTyp3

read a few pages ahead that if you got bright pixel, there's some display setting that you must disable or the software will autocorrect n u won't see the bright pixel.

OMG... really tio. Whaa liao need to sent in to Sony???

N3wXTyp3

hmmmm.
another lenon set like mine?
haiz.....

You sending in yours?

I believe I am having more issues than normal.

Really need to go See a doctor... sianz tomorrow shall made the trip.

looooy

chose this phone in the end cause only 50 dollar more ex than optimus g. BUT I CANT DOWNLOAD CANDY CRUSH!

kenchi

another bad qc flagship from sony again
history repeat it self from xperia S
and now Xz

i recall someone say they try ask bishan but CSO say no stock
so play taiji

goodluck to u all got a lemon set

carlover76

chose this phone in the end cause only 50 dollar more ex than optimus g. BUT I CANT DOWNLOAD CANDY CRUSH!

Probably I post a link on the apps thread for those who want to download candy crush and install on your Xperia Z.

cutiedoggy92

Not sure is only to me or what. My volume is really softer than my friends SXZ....

o_O yeah I keep having network disconnections which on my previous phone, I have no such issues.

The network thing I was having that issue too, found a fix. In settings go to more.. Then mobile nnetwork. Under network mode, if yours like mine no 4g then select WCDMA. Previously I go select lte then I think the phone searching for lte so every time lose connection for awhile.. Now after Isswitch okay le

bbcccc

Not sure is only to me or what. My volume is really softer than my friends SXZ....

o_O yeah I keep having network disconnections which on my previous phone, I have no such issues.

You sending in yours?

I believe I am having more issues than normal.

Really need to go See a doctor... sianz tomorrow shall made the trip.

oready sent in...
used 2 days nia and the set cant power on...
damn sian....

carlover76

The network thing I was having that issue too, found a fix. In settings go to more.. Then mobile nnetwork. Under network mode, if yours like mine no 4g then select WCDMA. Previously I go select lte then I think the phone searching for lte so every time lose connection for awhile.. Now after Isswitch okay le

Yes, for those without 4G network. Please set to WCDMA/GSM instead of the LTE/WCDMA/GSM, it will save more battery and network reception should be better.

IceShelterX

I used wcdma only at office as no 4g at Newton area. And the web loading much faster than note 2.

kopi22

Just got my purple Z... wah lan eh how come use so long at the back of the Z the phone like can cook my fingers ****~~~~

Use the phone under running water?? Now phones also need water cooling technology liaoz.... :o:o

anirudhks

OK so firstly sorry for the long post ..

Just wanted to share a bunch of things with all for all those complaining
that they wasted 800+$ for this fone and complaining its a crappy phone , washed out color , crappy battery
sound clarity is worse ,

how many of you agree Sammy or LG have a great design ? its same curves in all the phones touchwiz is not that
great to start with does not allow any support to theme your phone , no option to beautiful widgets like SONY
I know many out there including me have longed to have the album , walkman , movies , Bravia engine insatll on
our sammy phone , I have note 2 note 1 S2 and One XL I have always wanted to have these apps why? cause they make your phone look
sexy n in style . build quality have you ever dared to drop your phone in water ?or a simple wooden floor? if yes you
know what happend with the screen in the first place . i have had a X10 for long time now and have dropped a billion time without any casing and not one scratch . SONY really puts the best materials in the build quality which is very durable
than any other manufacturers , I have so many people use shattered iphones screen cracked. never seen a sony phone

for all that compare the phones sammy or any other manufacturer cannot come close to the precision engineering of sound
technology with SONY , SONY STYLE has been the iconic thing for ages where SONY is the one who always sets the trend
they have been in this business for ages than Samsung untill the galaxy series kicked in , who can forget those walkman
phones and the Kseries cybershot with megabass technology on phones they pioneered it .

The screen yes Sammy have AMOLED which are rich and vibrant in color but zoom in on pics it starts to grain , the amoleds
have a great history of burn in issues along with the life of the OLEDs , they have problems with deep blacks and whites
untill note1 they used pentile technology ,I dont think anyone would use phone in wierd angles of 180degree of 90 Degree
its always head on or a bit tilted keeping on the dock or desk , and in that matter the display is brilliant .

Why did you buy a sony in the first place ? why? cz the look sexy and awsome it catches the eyes in the first look
unlike anyother plasticky body phones
none of the technology has been copied inthe phone , for that matter if you see the S4 specs leaked nothing great
just another 300MAH more in battery , and 8 core processor which in any condition would run only 4 cores
rest all features like eye scrolling , smart stay and all those are software features which can be built into any android
phone ,

with little organization of the apps and screen settings you can get a decent full day's juice out of the XZ , let it be any phone we all carry a portbale charger always so you can charge it anywhere let it be note 2 or apple in due course
third parties will come up with solution to juice up the phone with external fitting or housing to get more power .

so summary all those complaining that you wasted 800$ dont crib else you wont enjoy the beautiful piece of art crafted
by the Legends in style business SONY .

I am not a SONY Fan boy or a SAmMY hater , just a neutral man seeing so many posts compaints and analysing

moi_dar

I have to second that.

I was using the S3 prior to SZ. Beside the initial LED notification & not able to locate current position issues (most likely firmware) which I have been able to iron out, I am pretty much a very happy owner!

The following are my observation:

Advantages of SZ over S3
1) Phone is very smooth and NO lag at all but S3 still stutters at times
2) Internet loads faster than on S3
3) Screen is beautiful as the colour is not over saturated
4) Feels more premium than S3
5) Pictures taken are shaper and clear especially in dim places
6) Slightly longer standby mode than S3

Advantages of S3 over SZ
1) Camera loads faster
2) Better reception for wifi
3) Lighter
4) Has got video call (over 3G) but not SZ

Overall, I still prefer my SZ to my S3 and I think with a firmware upgrade later, it would be better than S3.

daniel_83

dont compare to s3 which launched ~8months ago (Jun 2012)

compare to HTC One and S4 ba

Chevalier

sadly, whenever sony releases a new product, there will always be some hiccup..

heck....most companies nowadays, whenever they release a new product there will be some hiccups.

comparing such phones between android is like apples and oranges.........android itself is still not faultless and when companies put their own spin on things with their custom launchers and bloatware, they open themselves to more bugs.

however to me, a geek at heart and a tinkerer by nature, this is the "fun" of android, being able to fix a problem, able to customise the phone till my hearts content, making it mine, unique and mine.

tech has come a long way and tech will always improve.....you tried the phone before you bought it. i believe nobody is so "duh" that they wont try out a phone before purchasing.

look at the iphone, stable software and everything is there when you need it.....but it stops there....batt is pathetic, screen is small....iOS so sandboxed that ppl like me dont get it because we will get bored eventually.

please dont read this as a rant, just sharing my two cents worth.

anirudhks

Yes completely agree . more over all phones usually are curves ... we all love curves dont we? :D but on living things than the non living things :p , and not to forget guess you all can try and then agree , try a beats headphone or the new Iphone 5 earpod earphones with your XZ with the clear bass set to full and few small tweaks to the equalizer ... its eargasm music you will just LOVE IT trust me and try :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.