Official ZenFone 5 Thread

johnleesims

just that the phone has been rooted.

simply flash the original rom and the app will be gone if you are uncomfortable with it.

Oh ok. I'm totally new to this rooting thing. Did some search on the net about it and it was abit overwhelming for my level. Able to advice me on how i can unroot it and flash the original rom? I.e. i hope to get back to the original ASUS software/firmware state.

Really need some guidance on this. Thanks in advance for any advices.

shapolang

Bought a Zenfone 5 (2GB) last week from Best Denki. Loving it so far. Great value for money, especially comparing it with iPhone 6. :)

A few questions:

(1) Sandisk Ultra microSDXC 64gb ($45 from SLS)

Installed this microsd card in my phone. No problems. Phone detected it and able to access this storage using phone or with computer connected to phone.

Installed the SanDisk Memory Zone app. Using this app, it cannot detect the sdcard. Error message: "No SD Card Present. OptiMem can be run only when SD card is present. Please insert an SD card. "

Anyone encountered this problem and managed to solve it?

(2) Is it necessary to format the sdcard to FAT32? According to some online reports, FAT32 gives better performance.

(3) SanDisk Ultra® Dual USB Drive 64gb

Anyone tried using this on their phone? Does it work without problems?

Thanks in advance.

savage

on the weekends, my phone battery dunno how to drained to nothing. then cannot turn on. I charge it and then turn it on, it go into bootloop... had to do factory reset. damn sian. anyone kanna before?

V

victorlht88

on the weekends, my phone battery dunno how to drained to nothing. then cannot turn on. I charge it and then turn it on, it go into bootloop... had to do factory reset. damn sian. anyone kanna before?

did you install some apps before this happened?

Any tips to stop the battery drain on Zenfone 5?

try to see if theres any apps on auto refresh and whether your phone managed to get into deep sleep at all.

zook09

by "weekends" did u mean this has happened on a few past weekends, or only on the most recent one ? :s11: :s13:
the cause for random battery drainage and reboot, will be very hard to check for.
once for me i noticed that my color notes app was trying to do an automatic backup at 3 am in the morning, and somehow drained all the battery and i discovered my phone was off in the morning ! (not Zenfone)
so check if any app is syncing/backing up, especially anything u installed just before this happened.

Any tips to stop the battery drain on Zenfone 5?

under battery usage, which app/process is taking the most battery ?
u can install Wakelock detector, to see if any process is keeping your phone awake. (might not work on Android 4.4)

sinistral

Anyone bought the LTE version and has removed the camera? I can't use camera phone at my workplace and I'm thinking of changing my iNo 2 to a phone with LTE capability.

SianzRong

Just got my Zenfone 5 LTE yesterday... Ordered at 11.30am delivered at 5.30pm
Everything seems to be running fine. Just i feel the asus keyboard is not so responsive. Especially the SPACE key. Have to really hit it hard to press space, rest of the keys ok... werid. Anyone else has this problem?

blurwulf

My zf5 up lorry liao... :( Less than 2 months I guess.
Last night played games until batt fully depleted, plugged it to charger then realized it can't wake up anymore, the phone just hanged at the startup screen... Damn sian, need to find time to pay visit to asus svr ctr and squeeze with the crowd. The last time i set foot in asus svr ctr was due to my faulty laptop (used less than 6 mths).

This gonna be my last asus product ever.:(

Funky2

Last night played games until batt fully depleted, plugged it to charger then realized it can't wake up anymore, the phone just hanged at the startup screen... Damn sian, need to find time to pay visit to asus svr ctr and squeeze with the crowd. The last time i set foot in asus svr ctr was due to my faulty laptop (used less than 6 mths).

How long did they get back to you on your laptop repair?
I previously repair a fonepad and memopad, both occasion they took ONE MONTH to do it. To me service standard is of the lowest.

savage

sounds like what happened to mine. I did a hard reset and its back to normal again.

savage

by "weekends" did u mean this has happened on a few past weekends, or only on the most recent one ? :s11: :s13:
the cause for random battery drainage and reboot, will be very hard to check for.
once for me i noticed that my color notes app was trying to do an automatic backup at 3 am in the morning, and somehow drained all the battery and i discovered my phone was off in the morning ! (not Zenfone)
so check if any app is syncing/backing up, especially anything u installed just before this happened.

under battery usage, which app/process is taking the most battery ?
u can install Wakelock detector, to see if any process is keeping your phone awake. (might not work on Android 4.4)
I dun remember what I Installed. Basically it happened over night. This is the first time it happened.
Just left it overnight on my table. And next morning its dead. Charge it and power it up. It just got stuck at the swirly at the startup screen. and stayed there looping forever...

Its back to normal now. Did a factory reset.

blurwulf

How long did they get back to you on your laptop repair?
I previously repair a fonepad and memopad, both occasion they took ONE MONTH to do it. To me service standard is of the lowest.

Can't remember liao... think it took abt 2 weeks bah...
The svr cntr was so packed... saw someone even brought in his laptop together with box like it's still new.:eek:

blurwulf

sounds like what happened to mine. I did a hard reset and its back to normal again.

Hey big thanks for the tips... hard reset didn't help so i went with the factory reset then everything's fine now.:o Problem is i nvr do backup so have to reinstall & set up everything... but at least i save my time going down to their bloody svr cntr.

Sen

humble hoot
IMGP6063_zps6e82ae2a.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.