Official ZenFone 5 Thread

Salapi

this phone came late. would have gotten it than xiaomi, let people try out first.

tired liao, never ending releases.

||||||||||

intel atom chip.... this is interesting....

last time they said it's much more power saving than snapdragons.

it's a dual core with hyperthreading.

why are there so many nice phones coming out"??

8-lane

intel atom chip.... this is interesting....

last time they said it's much more power saving than snapdragons.

it's a dual core with hyperthreading.

why are there so many nice phones coming out"??

Hahaa u tempted to get it ah?

moejoseph

There's a roadshow at Best Denki Vivo this weekend. Can go and try out the phone there!

rECKleSSfElla

Roflol....we getting short end of the stick again...the rrp here of $249 is almost 100 bucks more compared to the rrp in taiwan/china...freaking ridiculous.

ImBusy

Hmmm i thought that's the case for most phone? Everytime it comes to singapore price will sure raise, XiaoMi, Samsung, Apple all the same lol

rECKleSSfElla

Hmmm i thought that's the case for most phone? Everytime it comes to singapore price will sure raise, XiaoMi, Samsung, Apple all the same lol

Redmi/Mi3 price difference only ard 10 bucks compared to china rrp. For a premium phone if price difference 50-100 bucks, maybe acceptable. But for a budget phone costing 200ish, a price difference of almost 100 bucks is unacceptable. Yes, agree we sinkie are big carrot heads, but some things i dont mind paying more.......but that much more?

five0sg

Zenfone 5

Redmi/Mi3 price difference only ard 10 bucks compared to china rrp. For a premium phone if price difference 50-100 bucks, maybe acceptable. But for a budget phone costing 200ish, a price difference of almost 100 bucks is unacceptable. Yes, agree we sinkie are big carrot heads, but some things i dont mind paying more.......but that much more?

so will you recommend getting it? im keen on this more than the redmi actually..

on a separate note, are there phones of this price range with LTE? haha..

rECKleSSfElla

For those that can understand chinese

Zenfone5 -- Engadget

Gist of the issue is that initially,the taiwan release version has lower specs and cost more compared to the china release version. The taiwanese customers kpkb and end up Asus decided to revise and make the taiwan version similar spec and price on par with the china version.

While on our sunny island, we get the lousiest specced version of the phone and yet we end up having to pay so much more. Big carrot heads indeed:s22:.

rECKleSSfElla

so will you recommend getting it? im keen on this more than the redmi actually..

on a separate note, are there phones of this price range with LTE? haha..

Personally, and i emphasize PERSONALLY i feel the pricing isnt attractive enough for me. At 250 bucks, i rather buy a made in china phone online that has fhd resolution n higher ram/rom, albeit no local warranty. There are a few nokia and sony with LTE that is around the 300-350 price range but i cant remember the particular models off my head. Below 300 not possible......

five0sg

Personally, and i emphasize PERSONALLY i feel the pricing isnt attractive enough for me. At 250 bucks, i rather buy a made in china phone online that has fhd resolution n higher ram/rom, albeit no local warranty. There are a few nokia and sony with LTE that is around the 300-350 price range but i cant remember the particular models off my head. Below 300 not possible......

haha actually you're not the only one who feels that way..i also feel that the price isn't competitive enough. the only "positive" thing, which only lasts for a few days is the preorder bonus price of 199...i hope it won't disappoint though. actually i dont mind getting nokia but WP8 isn't very attractive..still feels very infant.

rECKleSSfElla

haha actually you're not the only one who feels that way..i also feel that the price isn't competitive enough. the only "positive" thing, which only lasts for a few days is the preorder bonus price of 199...i hope it won't disappoint though. actually i dont mind getting nokia but WP8 isn't very attractive..still feels very infant.

The only thing going for me for the zen5 is the atom processor. Lenovo K900(FHD resolution, 5.5 inch, 2gb ram) uses the same processor and its benchmark are similar to those of galaxy s4. Zen5, though with lower clock speed, smaller screen, resolution, n less ram, sld still be pretty impressive in performance.

I am actually more interested in the Zen6. Wonder if Asus wld bring it here. By right, Zen6 only costs USD50 more than Zen5 but base on local marked up pricing logic, i expect it to be at least 150 bucks more if it sells here.

five0sg

the atom processor does attract quite abit..im curious to know how it pans out especially with intel starting to try to enter the mobile market a little more aggressively..

8-lane

The only thing going for me for the zen5 is the atom processor. Lenovo K900(FHD resolution, 5.5 inch, 2gb ram) uses the same processor and its benchmark are similar to those of galaxy s4. Zen5, though with lower clock speed, smaller screen, resolution, n less ram, sld still be pretty impressive in performance.

I am actually more interested in the Zen6. Wonder if Asus wld bring it here. By right, Zen6 only costs USD50 more than Zen5 but base on local marked up pricing logic, i expect it to be at least 150 bucks more if it sells here.

ZenFone 4 and 6 will arrive in sg after ZenFone 5.. which is later in May accoding to the HWZ report.

rECKleSSfElla

Asus SG's reply on their fb page when people feedback on the huge price discrepancy between sg and china/taiwan

thank you for your feedback. Do note that pricing will still vary on a per market basis. We have however, done our best to provide our valuable Singapore customers the most affordable price for the ZenFone 5. Its retail price is at S$249. However, should you register your interest (without mobile contract), you can purchase the device at a special price of S$199. Do stay tuned to our FB page for updates on registration. Thank you!

Way to go using the "per market basis" argument. The market here is small thus consumers should be charged a premium??? In short, sinkies are the biggest carrot heads in the world. Well, Asus aint getting my money then.

wlng81

Asus SG's reply on their fb page when people feedback on the huge price discrepancy between sg and china/taiwan

Way to go using the "per market basis" argument. The market here is small thus consumers should be charged a premium??? In short, sinkies are the biggest carrot heads in the world. Well, Asus aint getting my money then.

I was initially keen in it till I compared the specs and price between Singapore and China/Taiwan... :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.