OnePlus 15 series

ElonMuskSg

I saw on shopee got OnePlus 15 china set which can be flashed to global ROM by the shop. This kind of set other than no esim, are there any other drawbacks? Like Gemini integration etc...

KeYoKe

I saw on shopee got OnePlus 15 china set which can be flashed to global ROM by the shop. This kind of set other than no esim, are there any other drawbacks? Like Gemini integration etc...
The main downsides are
1. No local warranty. Long waiting time when send it back to repair as they will send it back to china first, flash back to china rom, and send for repair. After which then flash it for u again, and send it back to SG. Worst case scenario is self attempted repair locally via unofficial route where they attempt it to repair themself.
2. No esim support
3. Uncertainty of when the OTA will break something on the phone

ElonMuskSg

The main downsides are
1. No local warranty. Long waiting time when send it back to repair as they will send it back to china first, flash back to china rom, and send for repair. After which then flash it for u again, and send it back to SG. Worst case scenario is self attempted repair locally via unofficial route where they attempt it to repair themself.
2. No esim support
3. Uncertainty of when the OTA will break something on the phone
Is 747 a good price for china set? Or should I continue to wait... Very long never buy OnePlus phone already... Hope it's good!

KeYoKe

Is 747 a good price for china set? Or should I continue to wait... Very long never buy OnePlus phone already... Hope it's good!
I will still recommend u to go for local set. It can go as low as just below 1k for 512gb variant with 2 years local warranty support

ElonMuskSg

I will still recommend u to go for local set. It can go as low as just below 1k for 512gb variant with 2 years local warranty support
Wah serious? But when sia... My phone already green and purple line liao. Xiaomi warranty dw fix for me for free cos they say I dropped it myself LOL. Then I might as well buy new one.

KeYoKe

Wah serious? But when sia... My phone already green and purple line liao. Xiaomi warranty dw fix for me for free cos they say I dropped it myself LOL. Then I might as well buy new one.
Wait for 15th Jan sale ba. 14th Jan 8pm should be able to cart out. If can't wait then have to pay 11xx lor

Even those export set seller in shopee, u have to wait 1 week for the phone to arrive in SG ma, no meh?

KeYoKe

Not sure how many are looking at the OnePlus 15R at the moment but with the pricing, it is not very enticing especially with the trimmed off processor and cameras.

The OnePlus 13R is a great device to use in my opinion, where it comes with a last gen flagship processor (Snapdragon 8 gen 3) with a decent set of camera with at least a proper telephoto lens. I am rocking a OnePlus 13R for 10 months till OnePlus 15 is released before I sell it away.

Once again, a huge shoutout to OnePlus SG for loaning me the OnePlus 15R for review and hands on so I can share my experience here with you guys or anyone interested to purchase it.

Lets begin with the unboxing of the device:

Let's take a look at the Mint Breeze colorway:
Back of the phone:

Left side of the phone:

RIP alert slider. It will be replaced by the Plus key as expected.

Right side of the phone:

Top of the phone:

Bottom of the phone:

Front of the phone:

Almost even bezels all round, just a slightly thicker bottom bezel

KeYoKe

Minor upgrade to the fingerprint sensor:

Bye bye to optical fingerprint sensor and hello to ultrasonic fingerprint sensor with a better placement compared to OnePlus 13R.

Out of the box firmware and hello to Snapdragon 8 Gen 5:

Firmware update out of the box:

eSIM support:

KeYoKe

Have been reading multiple articles on Snapdragon 8 Gen 5 vs Snapdragon 8 Elite 5. Basically it is a trimmed down version of Snapdragon 8 Elite 5 with lesser cpu cache, weaker GPU (2 cores vs 3 cores), lesser GPU cache.

Let's start with the Geekbench 6, Antutu, Wildlife Extreme Stress test scores:

Basically, it performs similarly to a Snapdragon 8 Elite but slightly lower scores. Device heat up is still manageable and can feel it is not as warm as the Snapdragon 8 Elite 5. However, I do realize that if playing those graphic intensive games, there are some random stutters and lags which might be related to the trimmed down CPU and GPU cache.

If you are a normal user with occasion gaming, I feel it is fine as device performs smoothly. I will still recommend hard core gamers to go with a phone that is equipped with the full fledge Snapdragon 8 Elite instead for a more pleasant gaming experience.

Battery drain is good though. By the end of all these benchmarks including the 20 rounds of Wildlife Extreme Stress test, battery tank is left with 82 percent which is pretty impressive. Day to day usage battery life is good, with about 2 days of battery life with daily usage with no gaming.

L1 + L5 GPS:

KeYoKe

Not much of a photographer myself, but camera arrays are downgraded this year with the removal of a dedicated telephoto lens.

OnePlus not really well known for their camera output even during the period of time with hasselblad partnership. So I am just sharing 2 photo samples as of now:

Basically to conclude:
1. A bit of a disappointment for OnePlus to downgrade from a last gen flagship chip to a new series of chip with a trimmed down CPU and GPU cache.
2. Phone is definitely still smooth and snappy as expected from OnePlus devices for day to day usage and general gaming as well.
3. Battery life is good. Averaging about 9 to 10 hours of screen on time a single charge. If light usage, will be about 1.5 to 2 days of usage as expected from the 7400mah battery.
4. Device is light despite the huge battery, but still quite unwiedly due to the 6.83inch screen which is even larger than the OnePlus 15 screen ironically :s13:
5. Camera output is decent but not amazing. Zooming in past 10x will start to see a drop in image quality.

Sorry, nothing much to touch on as I can't really find any selling point of the 15R, and even with the price point, it is a no brainer to just go with a OnePlus 15 during Shopee/Lazada sales day.

So in short, if you are into heavy gaming, get a Snapdragon 8 Elite device, or go straight up to a OnePlus 15

tkte_85

I check on shopee now it's 1487 lol. Need to wait for the next mega sale to hit 1000 right?
ya for Oneplus, either u can get direct from their website https://oneplussg.com/ where its abit cheaper than the RRP during non promo price of $1499, the website price now is 1049-1149, just phone and cable in the box, if in more urgent need. If not, wait for shopee or lazada promos where i usually will screenshot and post pricing as it comes out.

ElonMuskSg

ya for Oneplus, either u can get direct from their website https://oneplussg.com/ where its abit cheaper than the RRP during non promo price of $1499, the website price now is 1049-1149, just phone and cable in the box, if in more urgent need. If not, wait for shopee or lazada promos where i usually will screenshot and post pricing as it comes out.
Wtf I didn't know the website so much cheaper than shopee price. Thanks for pointing it out LOL.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.