Oneplus 7!

watzup_ken

actually used s10+ for a short while.. they are actually getting better no lag whatsoever on one UI.. and updates are prompt (matching oos) at least thats how I feel for that 2 months.. I think how they streamline their one UI makes it easier for those updates to be push out at a faster speed though still subject to each telco release as well.

I've not tried their OneUI, but Samsung is typically quite slow to roll out any new software updates as compared to the Chinese phone makers. I am just comparing the top end phones because on the lower end, it is expected that the software update is not a priority.

WhiteAnt

TouchWiz OS was a big problem then, but based on my own experiences with Samsung phones, Samsung is typically very slow to fix issues/roll out new software updates with their phones, and the hardware while nice to look at, don't last. I had 3 problematic Samsung Galaxy phones (2, 3 and 8) with something breaking within a year. None so with my iPhones, LG G4 (software update is also very slow), Huawei Mate 10 Pro, Xiaomi, Sony, etc.

Other observation is that Samsung phones tend to slow down over its lifespan, for example, updating an app on the Play Store. My Mate 10 Pro which was about as old as the Galaxy S8 completed in the installation at least 2x faster.

previously, my sis' s3 went dead after 1 year+. fast forward, her note 8 after using for 1.5yr also died unknowingly for no apparent reason or warning last month. seriously, how to trust samseng products you tell me leh :s22: all these are real stories not fr my friend's friend etc but my own sis and i even touched the phone leh.

seriously i don't think exynos chip is up to the test imo. i never in my lifetime had a phone died on me out of the blue, so i pretty much know phones are v durable to last. even my old moto g is still working after ~5years so i don't see why such a flagship note 8 (paid >$1k) cannot even last 1.5year

don't even need to talk about simi One or Two ui which is just another rebrand name of the same old touchwiz. after 6months, sure lag de... even pixel phones can't resolve this from amdk youtube reviewers. the black marque guy also said the same thing :s22:

CoZZyBoy

After reading this thread for a couple of week, I'm finally pull the trigger to purchase my first ever oneplus phone. Today I just collected my oneplus 7 pro, all I had to say is, wow the screen shoik sia, very long never had this wow factor. Order from Qoo10 via geekermart took 2 working day excluding sat/sun and everything is smooth, my only concern is that the top left screen protector did not paste properly, that trap air bubbles in it, well perhaps i may need to change to TG, if not it will trigger my OCD when looking at the screen. Meantime I will like to check with you guy, anyone able to get their TPG sim card to work with op7p? It seem like I dun have data network when using TPG sim card of is there some settings I need to do? TIA

C32B

Maybe need someone to update accessories for both 7 and 7 pro on first post ?

KeYoKe

After reading this thread for a couple of week, I'm finally pull the trigger to purchase my first ever oneplus phone. Today I just collected my oneplus 7 pro, all I had to say is, wow the screen shoik sia, very long never had this wow factor. Order from Qoo10 via geekermart took 2 working day excluding sat/sun and everything is smooth, my only concern is that the top left screen protector did not paste properly, that trap air bubbles in it, well perhaps i may need to change to TG, if not it will trigger my OCD when looking at the screen. Meantime I will like to check with you guy, anyone able to get their TPG sim card to work with op7p? It seem like I dun have data network when using TPG sim card of is there some settings I need to do? TIA

Push the bubbles out of the screen protector slowly

watzup_ken

don't even need to talk about simi One or Two ui which is just another rebrand name of the same old touchwiz. after 6months, sure lag de... even pixel phones can't resolve this from amdk youtube reviewers. the black marque guy also said the same thing :s22:

OneUI based on some reviews I read is much lighter as compared to TouchWiz. As for slowdowns, it is to be expected as we install more things that is running in the background, and as the flash memory gets more filled up. However, the rate of slowdown on Samsung phones back then is just surprising to me. After the last incident with the faulty Galaxy S8, I am happy to steer clear of the brand. Samsung's international vs US segregation also add to the decision to avoid their phones.

watzup_ken

Same thought as well. The key selling point is really the screen. However one letdown is that I can't install Netflix from Play Store on this phone.

cweihang

:eek: who/where is selling at this price with installation?
Yup come with installation.
8WsnH3Vl.jpg

WhiteAnt

OneUI based on some reviews I read is much lighter as compared to TouchWiz. As for slowdowns, it is to be expected as we install more things that is running in the background, and as the flash memory gets more filled up. However, the rate of slowdown on Samsung phones back then is just surprising to me. After the last incident with the faulty Galaxy S8, I am happy to steer clear of the brand. Samsung's international vs US segregation also add to the decision to avoid their phones.

the moment i see exynos, i will avoid straight away like a plague le

if is snapdragon, i might still give chance tbh

but the notorious samseng lag is really powerful after 6mths.... no horse run de :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.