Open Bank Account in China

Boiaukin

Serious question, anyone here know other than physically going to China, any idea how we can open a bank account in China from Singapore.

You all think too much, as I am a frequent online shopper, the rate will be better if I transfer the money from local bank to China bank, then pay through alipay, etc 😂

Thank you very much!

Level42

You can’t open a bank account in China if you don’t have a residential address there. Long ago, it was possible, but not just before Covid. Unless things have changed again after Covid.

Someone told me it might be possible in a third tier city.

mynickname

No legitimate reason dun do it. Money go into china easy. Come out macchiam extract tooth. Will need fujian help

given

They can freeze your account and money anytime without reason. They do that not just to big fat accounts. You have 10k sgd inside few months later they will find all sort of reasons to freeze it. Last time bring China products back to sell, then thought open account there easier to transact, one day kena freeze say doing random checks, have to go there personally to show proofs, documents, verify identity etc , then all documents in chinese, then waited a few months again to unfreeze. From then on straight away withdraw all money and ask shipping company help to pay on behalf.

If you just want to buy things, find ppl to pay on behalf, usually 1% or less fee

Ashton

Few years ago still can go to the smaller banks or smaller cities to open an account with just your passport.

Now cannot liao, no local employment contract and local address no need to talk.

SecretAgent

even if you managed to open an account there. you can't interbank transfer to that account there yourself. I have a boc accounts there. all the while cannot do this

orwell76

My passport expire liao, 建行 bank acc tio freeze need to go Hangzhou to reactivate

GhostZM

I would advise dun bother doing this unless u dun mind losing whatever u deposit into the bank account in China..

The money u might save from the exchange rates won't be worth it.

CheerS!!!;)

BlackWing1977

They can freeze your account and money anytime without reason. They do that not just to big fat accounts. You have 10k sgd inside few months later they will find all sort of reasons to freeze it. Last time bring China products back to sell, then thought open account there easier to transact, one day kena freeze say doing random checks, have to go there personally to show proofs, documents, verify identity etc , then all documents in chinese, then waited a few months again to unfreeze. From then on straight away withdraw all money and ask shipping company help to pay on behalf.

If you just want to buy things, find ppl to pay on behalf, usually 1% or less fee
This... if using Alipay can pay 3rd party to deposit money into the account... become 余额 then pay on site like 1688.com...

li9ht5peed

the best method is to use a chinese relative or chinese sibling or close chinese friend's wechat pay account. it's one of the advantages of having atb gfs whom u can entrust large amounts of money

compuser

u can't, u need sms and a local number to process.
China is super strict, alot of people only know they restrict money that goes out, they also have strict limits on money going into personal account.

What i do for payment is use chang charn to gimme the best rates.
Send to my agent in China, i give them take 1% for the trouble

It's totally worth it because the rates offered is even better than the exchange rate.
Today the rate is 5.456.
Google the rate it's 5.38, the banks gives even lesser

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.