Ops Manning !?

NWT1978

My first mob manning period is starting next week. Any idea what equipment must prepare to bring along?

go login to NSportal...

checked your unit packing lists...

if not asked them to call u or post u the lists...

btw now then u asked? are u sure u can get ready all the items in time?

Welcome to the yearly events of related activities... :s12:

min twice a yr sms :s12:

poorboii

call your unit to send u the kit list

i received a letter regarding my mob manning. Prior to this i do not know my unit so i assume this will be my unit. I tried calling all the hotline numbers provided in the letter but no answers at all. Is this supposed to be the norm?

PS: I called like 5 times on each number.

Ottoke

i received a letter regarding my mob manning. Prior to this i do not know my unit so i assume this will be my unit. I tried calling all the hotline numbers provided in the letter but no answers at all. Is this supposed to be the norm?

PS: I called like 5 times on each number.

You mean no one answered the call?

Did you call during office hours?

reanimator

Most of the time, the clearance happens at the CO level. The delay usually happens because your CO will need to verify the details and the legitimacy of the deferment. He/she would need to check downwards with the OCs (who will then check with the PCs, etc). This is where the bulk of delay might happen. Some units might have different SOP though.

Usually (but not always) it would be approved/rejected faster if you’ve informed your commanders before applying on the portal.

Yup i just did, just submit online a request to do so with company letter head.
Sadly they didnt respond within 14 days.. tooo more like 14 working days.
So yeah.

Boiboi321

Am I right to say that most activation for mob manning occurs on Saturdays?

When will you receive a "pre-notification" (if any at all) to look out for the activation?

mgx-alander

When will you receive a "pre-notification" (if any at all) to look out for the activation?

yes usually on sat but can also be on sun...

pre notification? be good buddies with ur commanders.. they 1st to know..

but i dun have any pre notification, not friends with commanders :s13:

pikafunk3

technically they can call you any day at any time during manning period

but very often sat or sun

and often late morning or early afternoon

by late afternoon you dont get anything then should be quite safe for the day

there is usually no 'pre-notification', that is not allowed. but chance is higher if no activation for past few years.

but to save yourself the hassle, pack your barang barang in advance. so in case activate, you can fast game report in and report out.

Calander

any hints what will be the activate code this year round? :s12:

as long as it is during your manning period, your unit's codeword may be activated.

so the answer to your hint is as long as it is during your manning period, it could be activated.

do be reminded that any leaked information is subjected to the Official Secret Act (OSA). and the activation of any particular codewords are by mindef themselves.

do also note on the recent OSA issues, in which SCDF has filed a police report over their NSFs on the photographs taken on the bionex and rover incident.

last reminder, all codewords are actually confidential.

so pls respect the system and don't think of having any easy way out. dont blame on mindef in taking any actions against u if u failed to comply.

guitarunited

Got any expert can help me out?

I ord 5 years ago never got called back to ICT.

I recently received a mob manning amber alert. In ns portal I’m told my unit is hq 1sib. My mob Manning period starts today but I still don’t know what to bring, where to report or any code name etc. I called ns sg they say they also don’t have the contact of my unit.

1) can someone explain what is amber alert mob manning?
2) is it true I will be notified by the IC a few days before activation?
3) what is the chances of getting called up?
4) will I be notified of the item list days before the activation or is it on the day?
5) does this mean my ict will start soon?

Calander

Got any expert can help me out?

I ord 5 years ago never got called back to ICT.

I recently received a mob manning amber alert. In ns portal I’m told my unit is hq 1sib. My mob Manning period starts today but I still don’t know what to bring, where to report or any code name etc. I called ns sg they say they also don’t have the contact of my unit.

1) can someone explain what is amber alert mob manning?
2) is it true I will be notified by the IC a few days before activation?
3) what is the chances of getting called up?
4) will I be notified of the item list days before the activation or is it on the day?
5) does this mean my ict will start soon?

it is weird to hear that only today you are asking all these questions given that today is the START of your manning. Whereby the manning notification was already issued 6months before plus with your acknowledgement.

1 - whether amber or not, u still is required to standby with your gears ready
2 - No. activation is only decided by mindef on the actual day itself, probably those key personnels would be notifed N-2. So unless u are one of the key personnel (which u are clearly not given on the information u have), u will only get the activation notice via phone or television/radio broadcast.
3 - chances 50-50... this is the same for all manning
4 - u should had already contacted your unit via NS hotline to obtain the kit list including codeword(s), as u are expected to be ready upon activation
5 - clearly, the answer is NO.

ashketchum

Reviving this thread.

Anyone knows if bestman at a wedding can be a valid excuse for not being able to show up during mob manning exercise?

Just got news from my PS that my unit intending to activate during my mob manning period.. But I am the bestman for a good friends wedding lunch... Feel fcking sian sia, damn bs

chehjin

Reviving this thread.

Anyone knows if bestman at a wedding can be a valid excuse for not being able to show up during mob manning exercise?

Just got news from my PS that my unit intending to activate during my mob manning period.. But I am the bestman for a good friends wedding lunch... Feel fcking sian sia, damn bs

no. Unless own wedding. Where ur PS get the news? activation comes from way up high. Higher then CO.

life_is_crazy

Sometimes there could be false signals.

Like last year on the 1st Friday of my mob manning we received whatsapp messages on mob centre info and instructions and we all thought the next day will kenna but nothing happened in the end.

Anyway this year is my last mob manning and 1 more IPPT before I ROD.

flowerpalms

Reviving this thread.

firstly, is it just a manning period or confirm will activate? why not check with ur OC/PC?

Next, if it is manning period, you can go ahead be bestman. but if suay suay kanna activated, are you prepared to leave the wedding lunch halfway when you get the call?

Lastly, bestman at a wedding is not a valid excuse for not showing up during mob manning

papercar

Going for last ICT in Aug, But I receive notification that there will be Mob Manning period in Dec 2024.
I understand that I will only officially MR in Apr 2025, so still eligible for Mob Manning.
Anyone got experience like this? Or anyone got activated for mob manning even after you have done your last ICT?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.