orientaldailymalaysia - 国家元首出席俄胜利日 邀普京访马

CaptchaCheebeh

Can see we regret ah
Very fast rush to sanction ruskyland, say its the right thing to do
Then when other country break international law, act blur live longer
All the moral talk about right or wrong by our politicians ish just to scam sheeples like us.

Once you understand that power is all that matters, and that our country's destiny is to be a good obedient pet dog for whoever is in charge, everything will make sense liao...

If we disobey our masters, can expect to kanna random "accidental" explosions in our Tuas oil refinery, or can expect SG to kanna some sort of color revolution.

helloicanseeu

Oh well dumb americans voted him
lots of people reasoned that he's going to give them some sort of finanical kickback if he is in the white house,
some old people think that he will help them keep their jobs, when their bosses are seriously considering shifting the entire company to china.

he doesnt like to follow established rules and always seeks to circumvent them, that's why they thought he was the man ... turns out he's just a simple liar.

Mechafanboy

More kinetic sanctions on Russia pls. Raze their oil infrastructure to the ground.

F3Rm1nat0r

Hmm, Singapore has made their position known since the onset of the war till now. In fact, I’d be worried if the goal posts have been shifted simply because our neighbour has chosen to do the opposite.
We’ve maintained a consistent policy and that’s a rule based international order. Russia simply has no business to interfere in the foreign policies of a sovereign country.
On one hand, some members take every chance to lambaste the Malaysians who earn a living here. On the other hand, some members seem worried that we are not tagging along the tail of the Malaysians. Duh.
1f644.png

I find this more worrying.
I guess they made an exception for Israeli invasion of Lebanon then.

Kunkka

SG listens to USA big brother, we just do whatever we are told lah.
As of March 2026, Singapore's Foreign Minister Vivian Balakrishnan has not explicitly condemned the US for attacks on Iran, but has condemned "continued attacks against countries in the region" and expressed disappointment at the breakdown of talks, calling the hostilities "unnecessary" and "not helpful

F3Rm1nat0r

As of March 2026, Singapore's Foreign Minister Vivian Balakrishnan has not explicitly condemned the US for attacks on Iran, but has condemned "continued attacks against countries in the region" and expressed disappointment at the breakdown of talks, calling the hostilities "unnecessary" and "not helpful

giphy.gif

Whimsica

Interesting to see people talk about sanctions without even knowing what were sanctioned.

Meanwhile russian oil are still flowing in.

Meanwhile we are not running out of petrol or natural gas.

Meanwhile jhks are still commuting daily here to work.

Meanwhile Pahang and Terengganu this week jio LHL there to ask for investments.

kreja

Nothing to regret. Singapore not stupid enough to behave like Chihuahua, go act aggressive against world #1 superpower. This kind of thing only world #2 dare to do.

pclow59

Why need to regret??? Only below people will suffer with High petrol cost, top still getting top salaries though they postpone the increment review

Synchron

On paper we say got sanction. But behind the scene there are many proxies

Jude Raphael

Every major power interferes in the foreign policies of other sovereign nations lah. America does it all the time by funding political opponents in other countries, instigating uprisings, or even flat out invasions. Now China is also trying to influence SEA, and in recent years SG gahmen has been warning us against election interference by the Chinese.

Russia doing it is just part of the game.

The thing is, USA is still big boss, so small ikan bilis nations like us should guai guai listen to them.
Yup, I agree with you that the bigger powers have the tendency to exert “soft powers” thru various approaches. Culture influence is one. The Koreans probably excel in that sense.

Therefore, it is important for us to be aware at least, and make an informed judgement regarding such direct/indirect approaches and the aims that these bigger powers hope to achieve. I feel that we are a small country and if we allow ourselves to be swayed easily without considering both sides of the coin, we would be blind sided and lose faith in our own foreign policies.

Like you said, we are a small country and our people are advised to make their own educated judgements and not simply be blinded by the propaganda set out by one country against another. If you have watched CCTV news and the interviews with their "experts", you would know what I mean.

I feel that while we retain our pride in the strength of our currency, the education standards and the progress of our small, little nation after the Separation in 1965, some of us simply lose faith easily and feel that we would be losing out if we did not tag along with our bigger neighbours. Have we all forgotten that our immediate neighbours are also the biggest national security threats?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.