our current pm is weak!! he has a full squad of ministers yet cannot come out wif a 2nd dpm n labour chief?

lousylah

finally some people with sense and not NPC brainwashed by MSM :

2nd DPM is optional.

In LKY cabinets there were often no 2nd DPM.

There already is a Labour chief.

LW has not given the Labour chief a cabinet position.

Since when is it compulsory to have 2 DPMs? Most systems originated with only one deputy nia.

Only later, systems become bloated and 2nd deputy post gets opened up. Like how other places 1 city only 1 mayor, sinkieland expand until have 5 mayors

In fact, the fewer DPMs, the stronger the PM.

quote myself again for those of you little boys and girls who dont know!!

All you kukus brainwashed by decades of lightning strike!

The original point behind 2 DPMs was because a young xiao lee was at risk of relapse anytime, he might have needed to take unlimited MC/HL as and when necessary.

now we are merely back to how it was supposed to be all along!

Teyemittisi

I think his logic is to balance expectations and the team as of now. Only GKY is his trusted aide and older generation. Still judging who is more dependable between ccs, oyk.. promote either one over the other now might cause imbalances in the team

tokong

so many ppl for him to choose yet he cannot make a decision?
weak PM!!

You never think deep enough, anyhow pass judgement.

BECAUSE:

HSK (1961) and GKY (1959) are the same era (when you reach this level, you are about this age already since you require that amount of work experience).

OYK (1969) and CCS (1969) and NCM (1968) are the same era.

Dracky

Singapore doesn't need 2 DPMs. Such a small country like ours should not even need mayors or coordinating ministers.

likevegetable

I guess he doesn’t seem to trust other’s except GKY since he has work with him during Covid

Unlike in the past where there are several DPM, other than the PM
But OYK also work with him during covid leh, also not become DPM

kimying

Means NTUC has to appoint a new sec gen who is willing to be a cabinet minister since ncm doesn't want the govt post.
well then hurry up n appoint someone lah wao lao aye!!
there r lots of backlog work to be settle there leh n really cannot wait liao!!

Fightfat

Relax everyone,
It just goes to show that LW think the government can operate without a second DPM , which is not necessary a bad thing.
I hope WP can explain and exploit this issue .
Next to go - Mayors

menthol28

I guess he is leaving it empty for the 4G ministers to prove their worth

doppypoppy

CCS competing with Edwin, see who can take over Shanmugam national security role eventually and be DPM, Edwin is now shadowing Shanmugam in Home Affairs, while CCS will be in Defence, both roles are stepping stones to National Security + DPM role, TCH served in both ministries, CCS public services role is just a placeholder.

OYK is groomed to be next Tharman and potentially be DPM overseeing economic and social matters, he replaced Tharman as coordinating minister for social policies.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.